We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Building lovely, rooms very disappointing”
Review of The Tudor House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Tudor House
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Warwick
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Building lovely, rooms very disappointing”
Reviewed 11 August 2013

I stayed here whilst attending a wedding at the Castle, the location is perfect, right next to the castle and walking distance to the town center. The building itself it great and the staff were lovely however the room I stayed in was very disappointing.

When I went to check in the room was not ready even though I arrived after check in, usually I wouldn't mind but I had to get ready for a wedding so was in a bit of a rush, I didn't get to check in until near 3pm and was not offered a complementary drink or anything whilst I waited down in the bar.

The room was a twin, there was no toilet in the room, it was just outside. There was however a shower which was literally in the middle of the room and had a see through glass door, I can only assumed that if you are not comfortable enough to share a bed with someone you're not going to be comfortable enough to shower in front of them! The decor is old and the bed very uncomfortable, the shower dripped all night and it was noisy when the other room used the toilet.

The hotel has the potential to be great especially given the history and location, it just needs a facelift and some attention to detail. Breakfast was lovely.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nicky1319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    80
    41
    24
    21
See reviews for
48
122
10
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
East Molesey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

The building was absolutely fabulous, seeped in history with many interesting things to look at including armour and very small doors to access some of the bedrooms. We loved our four poster bed with pretty bedding (but the mattress was terribly uncomfortable). The staff and locals were very friendly and made us feel most welcome. We had a very good breakfast both days. It was a short walk to town centre so perfect position for us.

The areas for improvement in our opinion would be: The mattress on our four poster bed was really uncomfortable - you could feel the springs and it needs replacing - we had to sleep on the quilt the second night for more comfort. The bathroom was not as clean as it could have been with black mould on the tile grout and in the corners. There was an excessively large TV in the bar which was on constantly and there was poor management of real ales, we returned 3 different pints over 2 days. The road could be noisy at certain part of the day with the window open.

However, overall we had a great stay and absolutely loved Warwick - it is a great place.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back would be quieter - Our room was number 8 and the mattress was very uncomfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BusterBandFiona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 July 2013

We have just returned from a weekend in The Tudor House. The hotel was lovely, quite quirky with sloping floors and creaky floorboards, not surprising in a 600 year old building. The staff were very helpful, and friendly, we were made to feel very welcome. It's situated next to the castle and only a 5 minute walk to the town centre. Our 4 poster bed was exceptionally comfortable. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nonny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Didn't stay here but ate with friends! Perfect location, right next to the castle so easy to access and not far from town! It had a lovely atmosphere and even though there was only one member of staff working, (Jess) service was quick, efficient and flawless!

Will return here again, and if people aren't local to Warwick I would definitely recommend staying here, such an authentic and warwick -esque place!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachehhbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
1 review
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We were a group of 12 ladies, staying here on a hen weekend, we all had a fab time. Hotel is wonderful, we all loved the decor, very clean. Food was excellent, bar meals, Sunday lunch and our breakfast in the morning. The manager was fantastic (sweatie) and her bar staff are a credit to her, they all go to so much, to make sure our stay was great, you ticked all the boxes. We would all love to return, and will most deferentially stay at the Tudor House Hotel when we visit Warwick again. Once again many thanks to all the staff xx

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
preston
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

This pub with rooms has plenty of olde worlde charm e.g. the mock knights in the bar area. But there's no point selling history if you can't get a good night's sleep. Our mattress in room 5 was lumpy, old and just uncomfortable. On a warm early June evening we had a choice between hot, stuffy room and street noise when we opened the window. We settled for street noise and there was plenty of it. I had specified 'quiet room ' when booking. All round a bad's night sleep. This hotel needs to take care of basics. Won't return unfortunately.

Room Tip: Take a room away from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank robatleyland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal Cumbria
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013

We booked this Hotel as a last minute when going to collect our car. After arriving late ( we did call in advance to let them know ) we were greeted by a lovely and very friendly lady who gave us a choice of rooms. This Hotel is full of uneven floorboards, sloping ceilings and original beams all in keeping with this 14th century Inn. WE had read on here that this place could do with a lick of paint blah blah but to us it was perfect, exactly as it should be being as old as this building is. The staff were very polite and helpful and the breakfast was just the right amount,

We will definately stay here again

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Warwick hotels
0.1 mi away
The Old Fourpenny Shop Hotel
0.7 mi away
Castle Limes Hotel
Castle Limes Hotel
#2 of 12 in Warwick
575 reviews
0.3 mi away
Warwick Arms Hotel
Warwick Arms Hotel
#9 of 12 in Warwick
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hilton Warwick / Stratford-upon-Avon
5.3 mi away
Wroxall Abbey Hotel & Estate
5.6 mi away
Honiley Court Hotel
Honiley Court Hotel
#11 of 12 in Warwick
765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tudor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tudor House

Property: The Tudor House
Address: 90-92 West Street, Warwick CV34 6AW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Warwick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Warwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Tudor House 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Tudor House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tudor House Hotel Warwick
Tudor Hotel Warwick
The Tudor House Warwick, Warwickshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing