We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old authentic Tudor house in a good location with average rooms”
Review of The Tudor House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Tudor House
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Warwick
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Old authentic Tudor house in a good location with average rooms”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Stayed with my partner for one night in this original Tudor building - we walked from Warwick Station, which took around twenty minutes and was straightforward. The building has lots of original features and is in a good location but the decor is tired and shabby, ie. one bedside light was not working, the bathroom window did not close properly and some items of furniture were ripped, faded or tatty in parts. The bed was a very small double. The room was small and dark but it is very old, so fair enough - though I do think painting various other items black, like the radiator cover and all the doors, was a mistake.. It makes the whole room darker than it needs to be. Having said all this, it was a reasonable price, had what you need from a room and it was clean and the sheets and towels smelled fresh.

Breakfast: The cooked breakfast was served by a young lad and a very helpful lady, and was okay.

Did not eat here as the bar was always empty when we passed. The staff we met were great and very helpful.

Room Tip: All rooms are small with original beams and sloping ceilings!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank summer-berries84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    84
    41
    24
    21
See reviews for
49
125
10
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Central PA
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

Booked few rooms, I was surprised at how large they were. Lucy checked us in while also managing the bar, did a great job. Food was excellent, and the pub was full of character.
We had an early morning departure, so they made breakfast the night before and let us take it to the rooms. Check out was easy, they said just drop the key.

Wiring in the room was interesting, and some large gaps around bathroom windows in room 3 could lead to a chilly stay in cool weather; walls very thin, so must keep voices low. Uneven floors, odd corridors, the place is full of character. Felt very safe here.
The pub regulars like to talk up the haunted stories to see if the tourists buy into it, but that's all part of the charm. Really enjoyed our stay here. Parking a little limited, but can't help that. Would return.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Hogandoc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We booked into the hotel over a month before our stay date, we arrived to be told that the room we booked had been 'trashed' by a hen party the night before. We were however offered an alternative room in the sister hotel. We went along to this hotel and it was terrible, would not even leave my dog there, people were spitting on the floor as they played pool. We returned to The Tudor House, the assistant rang the manager who refused to talk to us and left the poor assistant to manager the situation. Very poor customer service and no apology!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nicola R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 5 May 2014

I stayed 3 nights with my wife this inn has so much character and things to look at the food was great and the people who worked there were so nice will def 100% be going back thanks so much mr & mrs Snowling from ipswich star

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hayanusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

We visited The Tudor House 26th-27th April for a romantic break after being together for 19 years. We arrived an hour earlier than our check-in time and from the outset, Lucy (the lovely, sweet barmaid) made us feel so welcome. She said we could leave all our stuff in the room even tho it wasn't ready. The pub itself is full of character and charm and a delight, if like me, you love all things Tudor!! When we got into our room (Catherine Howard room no. 10) it was beautiful. A four poster bed and quirky touches and large bath with a seat in the generous sized bathroom. The floors and doors creaked but that only added to the quirkiness and charm of the place that has been an inn since 1472!! The town centre is a five minute walk and is full of lovely quaint Tudor houses and shops. We had lunch in The Roebuck which was lovely and had dinner in the Rose and Crown pub in the market square which was amazing. The lady who served our breakfast this morning was lovely and really cheerful and chatty. I would recommend this hotel to anyone and the perfect location to a trip to Warwick Castle. Will definitely be staying here again!!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Karennp24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We had considered staying here but weren't sure after reading reviews. In the end we went elsewhere but made a point of coming here for a meal after our day in Warwick. The place was quiet, but there was a good menu and we ended up having three courses. Every course was really nice and you could see it was all hand prepared. The waitress was lovely and couldn't have been any more helpful and I disagree with a previous review that says it was overpriced - the food is regular price for such an establishment, and I think the quality of the food more than merited the price. The room is brilliant, a gorgeous wooden building, three suits of armour stood up on the balcony watching you eat, it was worth coming for the atmosphere of the place. I can't speak for the accommodation but certainly having a meal was a clean, peaceful and enjoyable experience. It is well located, but I think some honesty with the parking would help, if the place were full there wouldn't be enough.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meltdiceburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Spent 2 nights recently and was not put off by some of the negative reviews.
Its quirky indeed and has the potential to be brilliant. However, the place needs cleaning and it seems to be existing just due to its iconic structure and years of history.
Surely you still need to try though.
Our room had a catflap for a door - well not quite, but room 3 had a rather low door. The door top was below my shoulder and I'm just over 6ft.
The route to our room was reminenscent of Its a Knockout, and if planning permission were now sought for a similar building the HSE wouldn't allow it.
It's noisy at night with all extractor fans driven by a noisy contraption out in the rear courtyard. Even the ghosts have left.
The pillows were like a bin-bag filled with dishcloths, although I now take my own on such trips
Breakfast was okay, but we did eat there one evening and it was just overpriced average pub-grub.
It was well located and offered free parking to about 4 cars directly in front of the hotel. Overall it was bit like the curry I had in the town centre - it looked fine, but didn't really deliver

Room Tip: Some rooms are better than others. At the front you get road noise and a loose manhole cover that wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheBigFish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Warwick hotels
0.7 mi away
Castle Limes Hotel
Castle Limes Hotel
#2 of 12 in Warwick
599 reviews
0.3 mi away
Warwick Arms Hotel
Warwick Arms Hotel
#10 of 12 in Warwick
464 reviews
5.3 mi away
Wroxall Abbey Hotel & Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hilton Warwick / Stratford-upon-Avon
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Warwick - Stratford Upon Avon
2.5 mi away
The Warwickshire
The Warwickshire
#9 of 12 in Warwick
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tudor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tudor House

Property: The Tudor House
Address: 90-92 West Street, Warwick CV34 6AW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Warwick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Warwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Tudor House 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Tudor House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tudor House Hotel Warwick
Tudor Hotel Warwick
The Tudor House Warwick, Warwickshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing