We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very interesting”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Charlecote Park

Charlecote Park
Ranked #3 of 45 things to do in Warwick
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Charlecote Park has been home to the Lucy family since the 12th century. Their stories are told throughout the house by their portraits, the objects they collected from around the world and the design influence they had on the house and parkland. See how Mary Elizabeth Lucy remodeled the house in Victorian times. The gardens include a formal parterre, woodland walk and the wider parkland (inspired by 'Capability' Brown), which offer walks with picturesque views across the River Avon. A herd of fallow deer has been in the park since Tudor times.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
313 reviews
97 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Very interesting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

We went here today as we are in the national trust. The grounds are lovely especially the buttercup meadow which is in full bloom at the moment. The cafe is ok, nothing special but the scones are nice. The garden centre by the car park is well stocked and fair prices.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank SueTimmis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

955 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    506
    358
    72
    15
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wirral, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great venue”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

Visited Charlecote Park for the first time & was very impressed. Lovely to stroll along the river & drink in the beautiful countryside whilst watching the kayaks & canoes . Pretty grounds & gardens and charming old buildings with exhibitions to wander. Deer & sheep can be seen if you are lucky. Entry cost was very reasonable as was the small cafe & all the staff we spoke to were very pleasant. A great day out we would definitely return, highly recommended.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rav4England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fascinating house and grounds”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

The house is a mine of wonderful features and paintings. There is a working kitchen with period-dressed staff cooking on a wood-fired range. The staff are very well-informed about exhibits and willing to share their knowledge with interested visitors.

There is also a herd of fallow deer which could onlybe seen at a distance due to their being about to give birth, at other times there is almost unlimited access to the grounds which are extensive and the formal gardens are well worth a visit.

We ate in the Orangery and we considered their food to be good and tasty. Staff were helpful in providing a gluten-free sandwich.

We visited the garden centre (next to the car park) on exit. The range of plants on sale is extensive but somewhat pricey.

This attraction is well worth a visit, allow plenty of time to see all the attractions.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank timetraveller294
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Most stunning buildings and grounds”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

I have been here twice, both of these days have been gloriously sunny. Lovely buildings and I believe there is also a small guest cottage too! Bought some daffodils from the plant shop at the entrance but both times I have been there has always been a very long queue for the (relatively) expensive café.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Hannah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoddesdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
293 reviews
109 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 344 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Lovely day out. Great walks, lovely herd of deer. Great house. The Orangery restaurant fab food. Spotted that they did gluten free toll with the soup. So I asked if they could do me a gluten free bacon roll they checked with the chef and said yes. Which I was really happy with. Jacket potatoes where good, Shepard pie went down a treat as did the apple and fruits of the forest crumble and custard. Definitely will go back.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Spursgirl13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Charlecote Park also viewed

Warwick, Warwickshire
Warwick, Warwickshire
 
Warwick, Warwickshire
 

Been to Charlecote Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing