We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back in time”

Thomas Oken Tea Rooms
Ranked #1 of 8 Coffee & Tea in Warwick
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: A quintessential English tea rooms in a beautiful tudor house set against the wall of Warwick Castle
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Back in time”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

This is an old fashioned style tea room but with a great range of different teas and coffees. We met up friends and all had excellent drinks -- one mango tea and three coffees of different type.
All well served in a relaxing atmosphere. We did not eat there but food menu had a good range and seemed popular.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

691 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    474
    168
    31
    9
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Addition to the 'Warwick Experience'”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

I grew up in Warwick only knowing this building as a Doll Museum. I returned recently and was hugely impressed. Attempting to give my girlfriend a true taste of Warwick, (visiting the castle etc.) this tea rooms was one of the highlights.

The staff were friendly and encapsulated the warm and cosy atmosphere. The prices are reasonable considering the size of the portions, we had a huge slice of victoria sponge and a simply enormous scone with copious amounts of cream and jam. It was great fun serving proper leaf tea in befitting china as well.

The location is perfect, set away from the main road, but very close to the castle. The building itself is charming with an interesting history that the staff were more than happy to discuss.

I would strongly recommend visiting, with the biggest positive being that the whole experience incapsulates what Warwick, to me, is all about.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Daniel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“tasty simple lunch served with cheery smiles”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

All the staff were warm, friendly and cheerful. Convenient for tourist sites. We had a beef sandwich and pot of tea which sounds so ordinary but it was memorable - home baked bread & tender beef served with small pots of delicious relish and horseradish. The tea was made with leaves so we could pour it for our own preference for a strong cuppa. The toilet facilities - one dimly lit outside toilet - perhaps was one slight negative but happily for us there was no queue at the time we were there.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank llew96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Leamington Spa
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely surprise! ”
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Excellent tea room in Castle Lane
Recommend the English Tea with the giant Scone. Will go back for sure!

Helpful?
Thank Johnnyparasmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely place for a breakfast stop before visiting the castle”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Stopped here for breakfast before a trip to the castle. Arrived just as they were opening and received a very warm welcome from the smiley waitress. Nothing was too much trouble and the breakfast was very tasty, including a nice pot of Earl Grey tea made with real leaves, smoked salmon and eggs and lovely thick buttery toast. A nice ambience and a lovely smell of baking scones. The kids liked the comfy sofas upstairs. Not so keen on the outside loo, but it is a very old building...

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank S L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Thomas Oken Tea Rooms also viewed

Warwick, Warwickshire
Warwick, Warwickshire
 
Warwick, Warwickshire
Warwick, Warwickshire
 
Warwick, Warwickshire
 

Been to Thomas Oken Tea Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing