We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Typical Wetherspoons.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Thomas Lloyd

The Thomas Lloyd
Ranked #56 of 129 Restaurants in Warwick
Price range: US$4 - US$15
Cuisines: Indian, Bar, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Kids, Groups, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: A pub and a great dining experience, One of the JD Wetherspoon companys growing portfolio of hotels and dining pubs. A pretty, dining pub situated in the heart of Warwickshire, only a stones throw from Warwick Castle and other great Warwick attractions.
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Typical Wetherspoons.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

Stopped in for a reasonably late breakfast of Eggs Benedict and a filter coffee. Food did not take long to arrive and was perfectly acceptable and good value for the £4 something but we did need to have toast afterwards and this was,again, acceptable. Bit of a barn of a place and typically the loos were up stairs but this seems mandatory for this chain.
One moan would be the re-fillable filter coffee but it was only lukewarm, even when recently refilled, which was a pity but at these prices you cannot expect everything can you?

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank roger_jenkins1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    75
    62
    38
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A useful watering hole”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

Good value for money, centrally located in the town with reasonale food. Its only letdown was the fact the ladies toilets were up two flights of stairs. Overall, the restaurant was average.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CB1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aussiesseetheworld
Level Contributor
75 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Cheap and cheerful... but....”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

It's Wetherspoons pub, so the drinks are cheap and the meals relatively predictable...but on the night we visited, the staffing of the outdoor area was insufficient to manage the demand. A couple of tables contained rowdy drinkers who had clearly had too much and whose drunken behaviour began to interfere with the enjoyment of others. Tables were left uncleared and the friendly service we've had in other Wetherspoons pubs around the UK was not evident. Locals later recommended another local pub called The Racecourse which we found to be much better

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank aussiesseetheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Dirty Plates”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Weatherspoons is never going to be a glamorous dinning experience, but i regularly eat in these pubs as they are generally cheap with good basic food. I went into The Thomas Lloyd for breakfast and when my order arrived, started to eat, but after having moved some of the food around, cut it up & even ate some, i noticed the plate was actually filthy, it still had baked bean & egg residue on it from a previous customer, i then asked my partner to check his plate & he had dried on food on his too, so went to tell the bar staff. The most disappointing thing was not being served on dirty plates, which really puts you off your food as you then start to wonder what else is dirty, but that the lady behind the bar didn't just apologies and offer to get us fresh meals, but came over to the table and wanted proof our plates were dirty! that is not how you offer customer service. So in pointing out all the dried on food, she took the plates away and got fresh ordered. i didn't really have an appetite by this point, as i was so disgusted

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank arabianfantasy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great food, good location.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Great location, great selection of drinks, varied menu all well priced exactly what you would expect from Wetherspoons. Pub itself was great, very welcoming and family friendly. Children's menu was good and they loved the colouring sheets and pencils, adults menu was varied and the curry night option which went down a treat. Overall a great visit.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bevbrownie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Thomas Lloyd also viewed

Leamington Spa, Warwickshire
Warwick, Warwickshire
 
Warwick, Warwickshire
Leamington Spa, Warwickshire
 
Warwick, Warwickshire
Warwick, Warwickshire
 

Been to The Thomas Lloyd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing