We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place, great food and great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Wylie's

Wylie's
Ranked #4 of 10 Coffee & Tea in Warwick
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Seating, Waitstaff
Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great place, great food and great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

Very friendly traditional tea room with a great atmosphere and excellent food.
Memorable, Impressive, Nice, Great, Excellent.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    24
    7
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi
Level Contributor
80 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Tucked away secret”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Wylies is a secret location behind the hardware shop in the centre of Warwick. It sells traditional British favourites including lemon drizzle cake, Victoria sponge and coffee cake, all set in a sweet little set of rooms that hark back to Victorian Britain. Cake stands, a fire place, pretty crockery and a charming little victorian sweet shop should have the castle tourists flocking in but doesn't because it is so well hidden.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank cromerty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Worth the search.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

Knowing that we were going to spend the day in Warwick a friend challenged us to find this little tea shop which he and his wife had stumbled across by accident. He raved about it but then again he is easily pleased! All we could find was an ironmongers shop which was closed but then a lady with a pushchair moved and we spotted the advertising board and a sign to go down an alley by the side of said ironmongers.
We entered a quaint little tea room straight out of yesteryear with a old fashioned sweet shop off it. I sat down expecting the menu to be very simple but again I was surprised by the range they produced and was seduced by the sight of an array of wonderful cakes.
We had a pot of tea, a large slice of walnut and coffee cafe and my wife had a sultana scone with cream and strawberry jam. She makes strawberry jam and is rarely impressed by tea shop jam but is now standing over me making sure I do it justice. The scone was warm and delicious but I felt I had made the better choice with the excellent cake.
I would thoroughly recommend this experience but find it yourself!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank roger_jenkins1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely disgraceful”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

We went to the tea rooms with a 10 week old baby in a pushchair, we were asked in a very negative manner to leave. Shocked is one way to describe our reaction especially considering the place was empty! Also does this not fall under the discrimination act? Needless to say we will not be visiting again!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Mtimbo86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Best afternoon tea and cake”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Very nice olde-worlde place to have a cake and cup of tea. We have been twice now and its great if u want some good honest home made food that tastes excellent.

Helpful?
Thank Gareth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wylie's also viewed

Warwick, Warwickshire
Warwick, Warwickshire
 
Warwick, Warwickshire
Warwick, Warwickshire
 
Warwick, Warwickshire
 

Been to Wylie's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing