We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick Drink after the Castle”

The New Bowling Green
Ranked #76 of 131 Restaurants in Warwick
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The New Bowling Green is a beautiful 15th Century Tudor building just a minutes walk from the centre of Warwick. Warwick Castle and Warwick train station are also only 2 minutes walk away.Enjoy great food, real ales and fabulous hospitality. With log fires, slate floors and traditional wooden beams there is an relaxed atmosphere and friendly service is always assured. Recline by the open fire with a glass of your favourite tipple in Winter or during the Summer months soak up the sun in our glorious, walled rear garden - the best beer garden in Warwick - and dine al fresco. Please note that St Nicholas Park car park has direct access into our rear garden.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Quick Drink after the Castle”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Extremely quiet but nice clear pub. The owner was new and very friendly a nice hour spent. Didn't try the food will do next time.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank baylis2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    33
    8
    6
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nuneaton
1 review
“Amazing experience”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

After hunting the whole of warwick town centre for somewhere to eat me and my friend eventually found new bowling green which is just round the corner from the big park, we were welcomed by a great team of staff and had a really great night. The burger menu was great with a unique variety of meat, personlly I realky enjoyed my kangaroo burger and what impressed me even more was that the quality of presentaty was also amazing. This is a top pub/restaurant and I would love to go back there.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank melora101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Just OK”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Regularly end up here with colleagues. The menu has changed to become burger focused - that's great but a little repetitive for lunch. Ended up having a fish finger sandwich off the kids menu last time. Does seem to have gone very quiet in terms of atmosphere the last two visits. Friendly staff though.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SamanthaLR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food, drink, and atmosphere. ”
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

My wife and I visited Warwick today and happened on a folk festival at this nice local pub. The friendly bar manager convinced us that the burgers were worth trying and he was absolutely right. We relaxed in the beer garden and enjoyed the music and our meal. Highly recommended, especially on a sunny day for the beer garden.

Helpful?
Thank GreyHart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Worth a trip for burgers and bubbles!”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Visited a couple of Saturdays ago, not really much more you can ask of a pub. Outdoor, wall hung plasma, Football, sunshine and the best range of burgers i've seen.

From speciality meats to good old fashioned beef, they are all there, with some great extras to add a bit of a kick if required.

Service was excellent and friendly, and considering how busy the pub was, very quick. Hadn't been in for a few years, but will certainly be going back more regularly now.

Washed everything down with a couple of bottles of fizz to complete a great night.

Place is a little gem. Cheers!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wiseguise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The New Bowling Green also viewed

Warwick, Warwickshire
Warwick, Warwickshire
 
Warwick, Warwickshire
 
Warwick, Warwickshire
Warwick, Warwickshire
 

Been to The New Bowling Green? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing