We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location in a traditional pub”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Old Fourpenny Shop Hotel
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Warwick
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good location in a traditional pub”
Reviewed 16 May 2011

The rooms were good size for a small B&B. The location was good: 10-15 minute walk from Warwick train station and 2 minutes from the town centre. Breakfast was nice, full English and toast made fresh upon arrival. Cereals, tea, coffee and fruit juices available. All staff were friendly and their pub attached to the hotel was good option for a drink before bed! Overall our stay was pleasant, however, there was a couple of let downs (for this I have marked average). Our shower didn't work properly and there was a slight odd smell in our bathroom.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beenthere74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    118
    29
    7
    4
See reviews for
60
137
17
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
saddleworth
Level Contributor
123 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2011

A good place to stay;close to the centre,private free parking,good standard motel-style rooms,excellent breakfast.Good value.
What's not to like!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jhallyday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2011

Excellent, lovely, homely. Beds very comfortable not at all lumpy. Lots of pillows, Quality, crisp, pure white cotton sheets, very fresh. Towels, flannels, white and fluffy. Pleasant shower gels, individual hand soaps and hair shampoo and conditioners provided. Variety of Nescafe coffee sachets and PG Tips indivdual tea bags along with top quality individually wrapped biscuits in the room. My daughter has long hair and had no problems with the shower. Full english breakfast first class quality food..no skimping here.. kept us going till tea time.
All staff very welcoming, friendly, helpful. We certainly recommend and will visit again.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Petrina3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
91 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2010

We had a family room at this hotel. It was very comfortable - not luxurious, but we weren't after that. The beds were firm but comfy, good pillows, very clean and a big bathroom. It was also quiet, and an easy walk to Warwick Castle. The room rate included a full cooked breakfast - all in all it was very good value. GBP90 for four people including breakfast (in Oct 2010).

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kristenw1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryde
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 4 October 2010

Stayed at the old fourpenny for 5 nights, breakfast great, Full English too big even for me. 6 hand pumps 5 always in use, in total had 9 different ales in five days. All spot on, and the landlord was away when we stayed. Staff friendly and really helpful, if you have no reason to visit Warwick then make one up and don't miss this little gem of a Hotel/Pub

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RickYounie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 September 2010

Myself and 2 friends stayed for one night the weekend of 11-12th Sept 2010, we were visiting Warwick as had done many trips to the castle over the years with our young children however had never explored any further so deceided this would be a lovely way of spending a girly weekend. The hotel is located off the main high street but only a 5-10 minute stroll to town centre. We had one of the converted stable rooms at the rear of the hotel which meant it was very quiet. The room was cosy, clean and perfect as an overnight base. We had the family room which consisted of a double bed and 2 singles which is unusual as family rooms usually have bunks which wouldn't have practical for us. We paid £90 which we divided equally between the 3 and we got a full english breakfast for that as well, also there were no issues with us leaving the car there both days even after we had officially checked out which meant we didn't have to pay any car parking fees while we explored. The breakfast was delisous and the staff very friendly and helpful providing ideas and directions to local places of interest. We would definately stay here again! The only negative was the shower the pressure was very poor, i didn't even attempt to wash my long hair as it would have taken ages we also struggle with the temperature varying between too hot or too cold however this did not spoil our stay in the slightest!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MummyJackal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 May 2010

As a business traveler I stayed in this hotel a view times in different seasons and in different rooms. In general I would not recommend this hotel to business/leisure travelers. I also plan not to go back to this hotel anymore.

Advantages:
- Good English breakfast
- Rooms are authentic English style
- There is a bar in the hotel
- Free parking

Disadvantages:
- Heating system is primary centrally controlled. There were times when i entered the room in winter the heating system was turned off centrally and you had to wait before the rooms could be warmed. There were times at night when i woke up freezing and noticed they had turn off the heating again. Wonder if they do this to save on the energy bill?
- Bad price-quality ratio. Too expensive for the quality provided
- There is free wireless internet access, but it only works in the bar. The range is not wide enough to provide you with wireless internet in the room.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beaglebenji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Warwick hotels
0.7 mi away
Castle Limes Hotel
Castle Limes Hotel
#2 of 12 in Warwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
0.3 mi away
Warwick Arms Hotel
Warwick Arms Hotel
#9 of 12 in Warwick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Tudor House
The Tudor House
#8 of 12 in Warwick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Warwick Hotel
1.4 mi away
Hilton Warwick / Stratford-upon-Avon
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Warwick - Stratford Upon Avon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Fourpenny Shop Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Fourpenny Shop Hotel

Property: The Old Fourpenny Shop Hotel
Address: 27-29 Crompton Street, Warwick CV34 6HJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Warwick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Warwick
#3 Romantic Hotel in Warwick
#4 Family Hotel in Warwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Fourpenny Shop is a small owner operated hotel just minutes from the heart of Warwick and all its attractions; Warwick Races, Warwick Castle and Saint Mary’s Church to name a few. All of our rooms are en-suite, with Freeview, Wi-Fi, Real Coffee and Tea making facilities.  Below the Hotel you will find our newly refurbished and newly named pub, The Silver Groat. Here you will be able to choose from a wide selection of real ales, craft lagers, ciders and fine wines, whilst feasting upon dishes from our ever-changing menu of dishes created using locally sourced and seasonal ingredients. We are five minutes from J15 of the M40 making Stratford upon Avon, Birmingham, The NEC and Warwick University all easily accessible.. We have a small residents’ car park to the rear of the Hotel. If this is full, there is a reasonably priced public car park a few minutes away on Linen Street.  ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, Odigeo and HRS so you can book your The Old Fourpenny Shop Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Fourpenny Shop Hotel
Old Fourpenny Shop Warwick
The Old Fourpenny Shop Hotel Warwick, Warwickshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing