We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice little hotel tucked out the way”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Old Fourpenny Shop Hotel
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Warwick
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 July 2011

if you want a quiet stay and to relax this place is up your street,the breakfast was good and the staff friendly ,there was no entertainment the 2 knights we stayed and the bar was quiet,
we found the price at the bar expensive so was forced to drink at the local weatherspoons,
beside the bar prices would recommend this hotel to friends and family....

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gazza21_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (382)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

342 - 348 of 382 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2011

Stayed there for 2 nights and the room was really comfortable and clean (room 3). Breakfast was fantastic and you can get whatever you choose from a wide selection. Staff really polite and helpful. The location was excellent for the town centre and the castle. Would definitely return.

Room Tip: Any rooms is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MoandKen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2011

We stayed here for a couple of nights, our room was located in the block outside of the pub which was nice. The room was really big, it was clean and tidy and we couldn't fault it.

The staff were great, we arrived a little early but were able to access our room.

Great range of real ale served at the bar. The location is good, its a couple of minutes to the centre and very close to the castle and racecourse.

Would deffinately stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank West_Yorkshire_Dales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

Stayed there twice in June - first 1 night mid week on my own mid week, and then again on Saturday night with the family (while visiting England for a wedding on a Friday).

All the rooms we had were very comfortable and very clean (all in the main building) and both the owner and staff were exceptionally helpful and friendly. The breakfasts are excellent and the only possible minus is no food service in the evenings - but there is excellent "pub" food available just 5 minutes down the road at the "Racehorse" and a wide range of restaurants within a 10 minute walk. In addition to breakfast, there is a good menu available at lunch time.

And finally, the real English Pub - the first floor of the main building - no live music, no pool table, no smell of chicken and chips - just a great choice of real ale (and lager) which you can sit and enjoy, and talk without having to shout at each other - beautiful!!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John-A-49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2011

The staff are friendly and the rooms are basic but clean. The pub serves really good real ale but the outstanding feature was the breakfast. It was the best full english breakfast I have had in a long time.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank uglibetti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2011

Stayed for two nights, only a 5 minute walk from Warwick Castle (which is a must). On arrival was greeted warmly and even though we were three hours early for booking in were allowed in our room to to take our bike gear off and freshen up. Our room was clean and tidy with ample supplies of tea and coffee. The huge bathroom was a bonus, with a large bath and shower what more could you want!. Hubby sampled a few pints of the excellent choice of ales, whilst i had a few glasses of wine, another bonus only having to walk upstairs to bed!

The breakfast was cooked surperbly, nothing was too much trouble, either a full english on offer or chose what you want, plenty of tea and coffee and the staff were very polite.

Have kept this hotel in our satnav and will definetly return, will also post your site on our Honda Goldwing website. Thank you for a lovely stay, see you again

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kerrygold48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2011

The rooms were good size for a small B&B. The location was good: 10-15 minute walk from Warwick train station and 2 minutes from the town centre. Breakfast was nice, full English and toast made fresh upon arrival. Cereals, tea, coffee and fruit juices available. All staff were friendly and their pub attached to the hotel was good option for a drink before bed! Overall our stay was pleasant, however, there was a couple of let downs (for this I have marked average). Our shower didn't work properly and there was a slight odd smell in our bathroom.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beenthere74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Warwick hotels
0.7 mi away
Castle Limes Hotel
Castle Limes Hotel
#2 of 11 in Warwick
642 reviews
0.3 mi away
Warwick Arms Hotel
Warwick Arms Hotel
#9 of 11 in Warwick
499 reviews
5.2 mi away
Wroxall Abbey Hotel & Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Tudor House
The Tudor House
#10 of 11 in Warwick
277 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Warwick - Stratford Upon Avon
1.4 mi away
Hilton Warwick / Stratford-upon-Avon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Fourpenny Shop Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Fourpenny Shop Hotel

Address: 27-29 Crompton Street, Warwick CV34 6HJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Warwick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Warwick
#3 Business Hotel in Warwick
Price Range: £74 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Fourpenny Shop is a small owner operated hotel just minutes from the heart of Warwick and all its attractions; Warwick Races, Warwick Castle and Saint Mary’s Church to name a few. All of our rooms are en-suite, with Freeview, Wi-Fi, Real Coffee and Tea making facilities. Below the Hotel you will find our newly refurbished and newly named pub, The Silver Groat. Here you will be able to choose from a wide selection of real ales, craft lagers, ciders and fine wines, whilst feasting upon dishes from our ever-changing menu of dishes created using locally sourced and seasonal ingredients. We are five minutes from J15 of the M40 making Stratford upon Avon, Birmingham, The NEC and Warwick University all easily accessible.. We have a small residents’ car park to the rear of the Hotel. If this is full, there is a reasonably priced public car park a few minutes away on Linen Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Old Fourpenny Shop Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Fourpenny Shop Hotel
Old Fourpenny Shop Warwick
The Old Fourpenny Shop Hotel Warwick, Warwickshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing