We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Real Ale Pub in Warwick - with bedrooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Old Fourpenny Shop Hotel
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Warwick
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Best Real Ale Pub in Warwick - with bedrooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

I have never stayed here, BUT it is my favourate local for a beer.

Not a boring chain hotel but quirky independent, close to the town centre.

Normally 4 real ales from small breweries are on tap

Consistently gets a high ratings from CAMRA.

Sean the Landlord is very friendly and they do good vale pub food at lunchtimes.

Sometimes on a Thursday evening impromptu folk music gets played in the bar

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TillerSlave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    117
    29
    7
    4
See reviews for
60
136
17
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City
Level Contributor
105 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

As a pub it was brilliant , they are passionate about beer --good quality and quest ales , the service was good and the atmosphere just what you shoul expect in a pub but rarely find .
The bonus is good sized rooms , clean and reasonably priced . Memorable was the breakfasts and the friendly staff. If you are touring in central England this is an experience of what economical hospitality shoud be . Negative --only the fact the do not do evening meals but not a problem as there are many restaurants in walking distance of all levels .

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vagabondMexicoCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2011

if you want a quiet stay and to relax this place is up your street,the breakfast was good and the staff friendly ,there was no entertainment the 2 knights we stayed and the bar was quiet,
we found the price at the bar expensive so was forced to drink at the local weatherspoons,
beside the bar prices would recommend this hotel to friends and family....

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gazza21_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2011

Stayed there for 2 nights and the room was really comfortable and clean (room 3). Breakfast was fantastic and you can get whatever you choose from a wide selection. Staff really polite and helpful. The location was excellent for the town centre and the castle. Would definitely return.

Room Tip: Any rooms is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MoandKen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2011

We stayed here for a couple of nights, our room was located in the block outside of the pub which was nice. The room was really big, it was clean and tidy and we couldn't fault it.

The staff were great, we arrived a little early but were able to access our room.

Great range of real ale served at the bar. The location is good, its a couple of minutes to the centre and very close to the castle and racecourse.

Would deffinately stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank West_Yorkshire_Dales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristiansand, Norway
Level Contributor
73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

Stayed there twice in June - first 1 night mid week on my own mid week, and then again on Saturday night with the family (while visiting England for a wedding on a Friday).

All the rooms we had were very comfortable and very clean (all in the main building) and both the owner and staff were exceptionally helpful and friendly. The breakfasts are excellent and the only possible minus is no food service in the evenings - but there is excellent "pub" food available just 5 minutes down the road at the "Racehorse" and a wide range of restaurants within a 10 minute walk. In addition to breakfast, there is a good menu available at lunch time.

And finally, the real English Pub - the first floor of the main building - no live music, no pool table, no smell of chicken and chips - just a great choice of real ale (and lager) which you can sit and enjoy, and talk without having to shout at each other - beautiful!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John-A-49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2011

The staff are friendly and the rooms are basic but clean. The pub serves really good real ale but the outstanding feature was the breakfast. It was the best full english breakfast I have had in a long time.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank uglibetti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Warwick hotels
0.7 mi away
Castle Limes Hotel
Castle Limes Hotel
#2 of 12 in Warwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
0.3 mi away
Warwick Arms Hotel
Warwick Arms Hotel
#9 of 12 in Warwick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Tudor House
The Tudor House
#8 of 12 in Warwick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Warwick Hotel
1.4 mi away
Hilton Warwick / Stratford-upon-Avon
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Warwick - Stratford Upon Avon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Fourpenny Shop Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Fourpenny Shop Hotel

Property: The Old Fourpenny Shop Hotel
Address: 27-29 Crompton Street, Warwick CV34 6HJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Warwick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Warwick
#3 Business Hotel in Warwick
#4 Family Hotel in Warwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Fourpenny Shop is a small owner operated hotel just minutes from the heart of Warwick and all its attractions; Warwick Races, Warwick Castle and Saint Mary’s Church to name a few. All of our rooms are en-suite, with Freeview, Wi-Fi, Real Coffee and Tea making facilities.  Below the Hotel you will find our newly refurbished and newly named pub, The Silver Groat. Here you will be able to choose from a wide selection of real ales, craft lagers, ciders and fine wines, whilst feasting upon dishes from our ever-changing menu of dishes created using locally sourced and seasonal ingredients. We are five minutes from J15 of the M40 making Stratford upon Avon, Birmingham, The NEC and Warwick University all easily accessible.. We have a small residents’ car park to the rear of the Hotel. If this is full, there is a reasonably priced public car park a few minutes away on Linen Street.  ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, HRS and Odigeo so you can book your The Old Fourpenny Shop Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Fourpenny Shop Hotel
Old Fourpenny Shop Warwick
The Old Fourpenny Shop Hotel Warwick, Warwickshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing