We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great find”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Old Fourpenny Shop Hotel
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Warwick
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A great find”
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Having previously stayed at some of the faceless guest houses whilst working in Warwick for a few weeks, it was brilliant to discover the Old Fourpenny Shop.
What a pleasure it was to have a fresh breakfast, served by somebody who is bothered rather than having some inedible mess thrown at me by somebody who plainly could not care less.
The rooms are reasonably sized, well appointed and clean - very good value for money, particularly if you compare the rates against their competitors.
The bar is quirky in shape but has a good atmosphere. If anything it tends to be busier in the early evening when the locals seem to use it. The selection of ales is unusual, nicely varied and most importantly well kept.
Special mention must go to Sean and his team who could not be more friendly or helpful.
Unfortunately there always has to be "a but". In this case it is the entrance to the carpark - if there is no room to swing into the narrow archway you risk damaged wheelarches or wing mirrors.
However, I would definitely recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Choose the annex if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happygoluckyUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    120
    29
    7
    4
See reviews for
62
138
18
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Sussex
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Stayed for 3 nights. Very cosy room with en suite. Friendly staff and excellent breakfasts. Handy to walk into town and castle. Free parking nice bar to have a drink in. We had a very comfortable and enjoyable stay. Good value for money.

Room Tip: Our room was in the main building - assume the chalet rooms were as good
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teachinglady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

My brother and I stayed here to meet up with some friends on their narrowboat on the Grand Union canal. We arrived at lunchtime and were warmly welcomed by the host. The bar at the front of the hotel is a fabulously, traditional English pub and we enjoyed our ploughman's lunch. Both our rooms were scrupulously clean. My bed was very comfortable, nice linen. My brother was happy with his room at the back of the hotel, in the annexe. The breakfast was really good, a wide selection served by a very friendly member of staff. All round a great find, and only a minute or two walk. from Warwick Castle. If we ever find ourselves in Warwick again, I would happily stay here again.

Room Tip: Room 1 is a small but comfortable single room in the pub itself, with a shower, no bath, but cosy. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hornchurch
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We stayed here for one night to visit Warwick Castle. The hotel is in a very quiet location. The room was basic and clean. We were able to walk to the castle and explore around the town. The lady who served breakfast was very polite and friendly. Nicely cooked and substantial with a variety.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank june H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colchester
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 18 October 2013

our party of four rented a ouble room and a family room. The hotel is small, but it i wam, very clean and quite cosy.The beds are comfortable, tea and coffee making facilities are provided. Television in each room, showers were hot.
The staff were very helpful without being in your face. The cooked breakfast was good, speedily served to our tables in the dining area. we would use this hotel again as it is well located and value for money.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluebellsforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We stayed here only 1 night to mainly tour Warwick Castle. Clean motel style family room with car parking and we were able to leave the car on check out day and walk to the castle (5 mins) saving on car parking fees. Take care with the narrow car entrance through an arch. Shower pressure was low. Breakfast was great with a very friendly and attentive lady serving. Only issue was wifi didn't work in our room and with 2 teens this was an issue- wifi was fine in the breakfast room.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucksport, ME
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed for three nights of our two week driving vacation and really enjoyed the Four Penny. They immediately make you feel welcome and provide a clean, comfortable and well appointed room. Because they are on a side street, the location is also quiet. Breakfast is very good and served by a wonderful lady who really makes you feel special and an honored guest in her kitchen. We look forward to booking again on our next trip. The Four Penny is what every traveler wants in this market- a clean, comfortable room at a fair price,... and a friendly pub downstairs.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank veronaisland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Warwick hotels
0.7 mi away
Castle Limes Hotel
Castle Limes Hotel
#2 of 12 in Warwick
573 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Tudor House
The Tudor House
#8 of 12 in Warwick
257 reviews
0.3 mi away
Warwick Arms Hotel
Warwick Arms Hotel
#10 of 12 in Warwick
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hilton Warwick / Stratford-upon-Avon
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Warwick - Stratford Upon Avon
5.5 mi away
Honiley Court Hotel
Honiley Court Hotel
#11 of 12 in Warwick
765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Fourpenny Shop Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Fourpenny Shop Hotel

Property: The Old Fourpenny Shop Hotel
Address: 27-29 Crompton Street, Warwick CV34 6HJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Warwick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Warwick
#3 Romantic Hotel in Warwick
#4 Family Hotel in Warwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Fourpenny Shop is a small owner operated hotel just minutes from the heart of Warwick and all its attractions; Warwick Races, Warwick Castle and Saint Mary’s Church to name a few. All of our rooms are en-suite, with Freeview, Wi-Fi, Real Coffee and Tea making facilities.  Below the Hotel you will find our newly refurbished and newly named pub, The Silver Groat. Here you will be able to choose from a wide selection of real ales, craft lagers, ciders and fine wines, whilst feasting upon dishes from our ever-changing menu of dishes created using locally sourced and seasonal ingredients. We are five minutes from J15 of the M40 making Stratford upon Avon, Birmingham, The NEC and Warwick University all easily accessible.. We have a small residents’ car park to the rear of the Hotel. If this is full, there is a reasonably priced public car park a few minutes away on Linen Street.  ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, Odigeo and HRS so you can book your The Old Fourpenny Shop Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Fourpenny Shop Hotel
Old Fourpenny Shop Warwick
The Old Fourpenny Shop Hotel Warwick, Warwickshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing