We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little Gem in Warwick”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Old Fourpenny Shop Hotel
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Warwick
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Had a lovely stay here for the weekend. Rooms very unique in courtyard made a lovely atmosphere.
Breakfast was excellent and did set us up for the day. Staff were friendly and helpful. Only gripe is the car park entrance but a small price for a bit of history and location.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simmonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (376)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

247 - 253 of 376 reviews

Reviewed 19 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed here recently for two nights while visiting Warwick. This place is lovely to stay, the staff were friendly, the breakfast was varied and very nice, we were given one of the third floor rooms, the room was spacious and clean and had everything you would need. The hotel is situated about five minute walk from the town centre and fifteen minute walk from the station (if arriving by train). We couldn't fault this hotel and would definitely stay again.

Stayed: November 2013
Thank Kellybee80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

stayed at the fourpenny in the outside courtyard rooms, very clean and oldie wordy- but great for out party of 6 in 3 room- they put us next to each other which was well appreciated..
the bar id cosy and has real ales and even champers by the glass..
went into warrack and had a meal in geovarnis italian, that was ok - but they dont do pizza, but the food was nice and staff very attentive.. great town atmosphere and great bars and pubs.. went to warrack catle on sunday and great place to vist and so worth the money- brill day there. the hotel is in a great place 10 mins from town centre and the breakfast is brill. great service and nice hot food.. we will be back to warrack and we will be staying at the old fourpenny... xxxxx

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nibbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

If you want a warm welcome in a pub that serves real ales and fine wines with no music blaring then this is the place for you. I have never stayed as a local but have heard great reviews from people who have. A lovely traditional pub and the best atmosphere in Warwick. If you visit the races or the castle then stay here.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
Thank jacchm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights on a short break holiday - time away from the kids! We stayed in room 9 in the courtyard of the hotel, and it was lovely. The rooms are lovely and clean, the bedding smelled wonderful and everything was really fresh and nice. The cooked breakfast was amazing and the lady who served could not have been more helpful. We had 2 minor issues whilst we were there - the shower head didn't work and the heating was off on our return on the 2nd night, but both issues were dealt with within minutes - the staff are amazingly helpful. I would highly recommend this hotel, 3 minute walk into Warwick and 10 mins by car to Leamington Spa and Stratford. Perfect! Thanks to everyone, we will be back!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crbidle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Having previously stayed at some of the faceless guest houses whilst working in Warwick for a few weeks, it was brilliant to discover the Old Fourpenny Shop.
What a pleasure it was to have a fresh breakfast, served by somebody who is bothered rather than having some inedible mess thrown at me by somebody who plainly could not care less.
The rooms are reasonably sized, well appointed and clean - very good value for money, particularly if you compare the rates against their competitors.
The bar is quirky in shape but has a good atmosphere. If anything it tends to be busier in the early evening when the locals seem to use it. The selection of ales is unusual, nicely varied and most importantly well kept.
Special mention must go to Sean and his team who could not be more friendly or helpful.
Unfortunately there always has to be "a but". In this case it is the entrance to the carpark - if there is no room to swing into the narrow archway you risk damaged wheelarches or wing mirrors.
However, I would definitely recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Choose the annex if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happygoluckyUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Stayed for 3 nights. Very cosy room with en suite. Friendly staff and excellent breakfasts. Handy to walk into town and castle. Free parking nice bar to have a drink in. We had a very comfortable and enjoyable stay. Good value for money.

Room Tip: Our room was in the main building - assume the chalet rooms were as good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teachinglady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Warwick hotels
0.7 mi away
Castle Limes Hotel
Castle Limes Hotel
#2 of 12 in Warwick
638 reviews
0.3 mi away
Warwick Arms Hotel
Warwick Arms Hotel
#10 of 12 in Warwick
494 reviews
5.2 mi away
Wroxall Abbey Hotel & Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Tudor House
The Tudor House
#9 of 12 in Warwick
275 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Warwick - Stratford Upon Avon
2.4 mi away
The Warwickshire
The Warwickshire
#8 of 12 in Warwick
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Fourpenny Shop Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Fourpenny Shop Hotel

Address: 27-29 Crompton Street, Warwick CV34 6HJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Warwick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Warwick
#3 Romantic Hotel in Warwick
Price Range: £74 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Fourpenny Shop is a small owner operated hotel just minutes from the heart of Warwick and all its attractions; Warwick Races, Warwick Castle and Saint Mary’s Church to name a few. All of our rooms are en-suite, with Freeview, Wi-Fi, Real Coffee and Tea making facilities. Below the Hotel you will find our newly refurbished and newly named pub, The Silver Groat. Here you will be able to choose from a wide selection of real ales, craft lagers, ciders and fine wines, whilst feasting upon dishes from our ever-changing menu of dishes created using locally sourced and seasonal ingredients. We are five minutes from J15 of the M40 making Stratford upon Avon, Birmingham, The NEC and Warwick University all easily accessible.. We have a small residents’ car park to the rear of the Hotel. If this is full, there is a reasonably priced public car park a few minutes away on Linen Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Old Fourpenny Shop Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Fourpenny Shop Hotel
Old Fourpenny Shop Warwick
The Old Fourpenny Shop Hotel Warwick, Warwickshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing