We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great little place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Old Fourpenny Shop Hotel
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Warwick
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Just got home yesterday from staying here, we had one of the annexe rooms which was spacious and comfortable. The archway to the car park is narrow, but no problem to an average sized car and a driver who takes it slowly. the Breakfast was hot and tasty and of a decent size and quality ingredients. 5 minutes walk to the town centre. so it is in a very good spot, if anyone is visiting Warwick for the races you won't get a better spot, the racecourse is literally over the road.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colleen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (356)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

224 - 230 of 356 reviews

Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

What a cosy, friendly place to stay!
Lovely and warm on a cold November afternoon...our room was huge, with tea and coffee, loads of scrummy biscuits.
Beds so comfortable, the bar was great and the breakfast was divine with the biggest pot of tea ever!!!
We would definitely, definitely stay here again!
Thank you!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SHEENA1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Though it calls itself a hotel it is really a Bed and Breakfast – although a good one.
In an unprepossessing part of town in an unlikely side street. However it is only genuine 10 minute walk to the centre and the castle. Quite expensive for waht it is.
The rooms are clean and decent and generally quiet. However there was a folk music evening one evening which, though not excessively loud, was still intrusive until midnight. Our room (3) was a decent size and had a small desk as well as a sofa.
Note that some of the rooms are motel style in an annex beside the car park. The car park is free - others have commented on the narrow entrance.
The staff are very friendly and helpful.
Wifi free and worked well.
Breakfast was a typical B&B with no real coffee and basic cereals. No yoghurt provided but they went out and bought some when we asked for it. Large cooked breakfast.

Room Tip: Some rooms are in the main building and may be directly above the bar. Others are in the motel style...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Theale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We booked online & stayed here for one night as we were attending an evening event at Warwick Castle. It took us only 10 minutes to walk to Warwick Castle & the town. The hotel is on a residential road & our first visual impression, was that it looked a little unusual where it was situated. However, the hotel itself looks very appealing. It looks quaint from the outside & even more quaint inside. The entrance from the road is definitely a daunting experience as it is really quite narrow. We had a warm welcome but they hadn't got our room booking entered down. This didn't create a problem as there were rooms available so it only took them a minute to allocate a room to us. Based on this, I would maybe suggest that if you book online, give them a quick ring before hand, just to check your booking. Overall though, we did recieve a warm & friendly welcome. The room we had was a good size, very clean with loads of space for clothes & bits & bobs. The bathroom was also extremely clean, with plenty of shelving for your bits & bobs. Beds & pillows very clean, fresh & comfortable. Ample stock of tea & coffee etc for the tea making facility. Breakfast was extremely good, with pleasant & quick service. We cannot fault this hotel, we would definitely stay again & are confident enough to recommend it to others

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beverly n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Had a lovely stay here for the weekend. Rooms very unique in courtyard made a lovely atmosphere.
Breakfast was excellent and did set us up for the day. Staff were friendly and helpful. Only gripe is the car park entrance but a small price for a bit of history and location.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simmonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed here recently for two nights while visiting Warwick. This place is lovely to stay, the staff were friendly, the breakfast was varied and very nice, we were given one of the third floor rooms, the room was spacious and clean and had everything you would need. The hotel is situated about five minute walk from the town centre and fifteen minute walk from the station (if arriving by train). We couldn't fault this hotel and would definitely stay again.

Stayed: November 2013
Thank Kellybee80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

stayed at the fourpenny in the outside courtyard rooms, very clean and oldie wordy- but great for out party of 6 in 3 room- they put us next to each other which was well appreciated..
the bar id cosy and has real ales and even champers by the glass..
went into warrack and had a meal in geovarnis italian, that was ok - but they dont do pizza, but the food was nice and staff very attentive.. great town atmosphere and great bars and pubs.. went to warrack catle on sunday and great place to vist and so worth the money- brill day there. the hotel is in a great place 10 mins from town centre and the breakfast is brill. great service and nice hot food.. we will be back to warrack and we will be staying at the old fourpenny... xxxxx

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nibbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Warwick hotels
0.7 mi away
Castle Limes Hotel
Castle Limes Hotel
#2 of 12 in Warwick
615 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Tudor House
The Tudor House
#9 of 12 in Warwick
268 reviews
0.3 mi away
Warwick Arms Hotel
Warwick Arms Hotel
#10 of 12 in Warwick
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hilton Warwick / Stratford-upon-Avon
5.2 mi away
Wroxall Abbey Hotel & Estate
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Warwick - Stratford Upon Avon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Fourpenny Shop Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Fourpenny Shop Hotel

Address: 27-29 Crompton Street, Warwick CV34 6HJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Warwick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Warwick
#3 Business Hotel in Warwick
#4 Family Hotel in Warwick
Price Range: £83 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Fourpenny Shop is a small owner operated hotel just minutes from the heart of Warwick and all its attractions; Warwick Races, Warwick Castle and Saint Mary’s Church to name a few. All of our rooms are en-suite, with Freeview, Wi-Fi, Real Coffee and Tea making facilities. Below the Hotel you will find our newly refurbished and newly named pub, The Silver Groat. Here you will be able to choose from a wide selection of real ales, craft lagers, ciders and fine wines, whilst feasting upon dishes from our ever-changing menu of dishes created using locally sourced and seasonal ingredients. We are five minutes from J15 of the M40 making Stratford upon Avon, Birmingham, The NEC and Warwick University all easily accessible.. We have a small residents’ car park to the rear of the Hotel. If this is full, there is a reasonably priced public car park a few minutes away on Linen Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Old Fourpenny Shop Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Fourpenny Shop Hotel
Old Fourpenny Shop Warwick
The Old Fourpenny Shop Hotel Warwick, Warwickshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing