We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and pub - very good value.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Old Fourpenny Shop Hotel
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Warwick
Certificate of Excellence
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great hotel and pub - very good value.”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Stayed with our three children and the owners were happy to accommodate all 5 of us in a family room - lovely breakfast and the bar serves a nice range of real ales. NOt much more you need to say really - it's a 10 minute walk from Warwick Castle and the various other restaurants and pubs in the town. All round really pleased we found this place.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davebbwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    120
    29
    7
    4
See reviews for
62
138
18
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Struggling to find a hotel on a bank holiday in Stratford upon Avon, I found by chance, one last double room, at The Old Fourpenny Shop Hotel in Warwick. The room we had was very nice, nothing amazing, but everything we needed. The hotel is very well situated for walking around the town and of course has the castle, many attractive old buildings etc. We slept well in a comfy bed with good pillows and no outside noise. We chose to have breakfast at 9.00 and did the full English thing, with fried egg, bacon and sausage, black pudding, tomatoes and mushrooms, hash brown and toast. It came very quickly on a perfectly heated plate, served by and excellent little elderly lady who was totally on the ball with her service. The food and large coffee could not be faulted. It cost us £80 and we would certainly recommend it to anyone in the area.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maldon
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

I was due to attend the Series 11 Land rover annual get together at a camp site around 5 miles away but our 48 year Dormobile Land Rover had carburettor problems the day before so started phoning round to see if there were any Hotels or B&B's with availability that weekend.

Didn't have much luck until I ran across this Hotel's web site and booked their single room on line.

Turned up just before 11am the next morning to a pleasant welcome having driven through the very very tight entrance to the car park. Dropped off my bag in the single en-suite bedroom which was fine and very clean disappeared off to the get together.

Returning that evening the car park was full, so parked in the street outside which has restricted parking for 2hrs during the day but no restrictions from 8pm overnight. Sampled the good draught beer in the pub part of the hotel, saw the pub menu which looked good but they only do meals during the day so was given instructions by the bar maid about the local eateries. Residents have a fob to open the doors if returning late but Sean said the pub is open till 12.15am anyway.

Returned earlier than that, bed was comfortable, Room 1 has a side window onto gardens and little traffic noise so left it am open during the night and had a good nights sleep. Breakfast next morning was as described in earlier reviews, excellent and the beamed dining room a very pleasant place to enjoy it.

2nd night a repeat of the first and for £50 a night for very comfortable, friendly and clean single room + breakfast seemed a great price compared to the local available alternatives.

Room Tip: Only tried Room 1, a single room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maldonmud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llanelli, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
192 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Had a pleasant stay here on a b&b basis.
The room was very clean and the shower and bath both had great water pressure.
There was a lovely tea and coffee selection.
Plenty of parking. It was also quiet as the pub is down a side street from the main road and does not open late. The drinks in the pub were well priced as was the room for the area. This place had a good central location within easy walking distance to the castle. A good breakfast was served.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Claire R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

This is a traditional pub with some rooms in the main building & some outside in a separate annex. We stayed in the main building. The room was spacious & decorated traditionally. There were tea & coffee making facilities and a bathroom with a bath.

The water pressure in the shower was an issue - it was literally like a dripping tap. So, having a quick shower was not an option. Also, the pub is on a main road so there was a lot of noise during the night.

The breakfast was chaotic....we were asked when checking in to pick a time slot that we'd go for breakfast so that they could ensure the breakfast room didn't get too busy at any time. We went down at the arranged time and there were about 3 other tables too. We waited for our order to be taken which took a while & people who arrived after us were served before us. We waited about 25 minutes to get coffee. The only option is a full English so we opted for that. It was ok but again took a long time to arrive & the waitresses seemed stressed. We overheard other guests commenting on how long things were taking to arrive. It took us an hour to have breakfast due to the waiting!

When we left the room to check out a pile of cleaning had been left right outside our room.

I felt the room was overpriced but fine for what we needed - we were in Warwick seeing family so literally just needed somewhere to sleep. If you were planning a break away & wanted somewhere special to stay, you probably need to look elsewhere

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank HanW6881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 August 2014

My husband and I recently spent two nights at this hotel, at the end of July 2014, we were welcomed very warmly and escorted to our room. It was an extremely spacious room, more like a suite really, the cleanliness was excellent and also the facilities in the room. We had not been to this part of the country before so the advice offered by the staff was very welcome and first rate. The breakfast was extremely well prepared and served and nothing was too much trouble to the staff. We would not hesitate to go back there and have already recommended it to friends and family. The stay was paid for by my former employers as a retirement gift and there was no problem over using the voucher to pay for the room, etc.
Thank you staff for making it such an enjoyable experience.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room actually in the hotel, but the ones in the side annex looked equally comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lilian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Accrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

First the staff was friendly. The room was very clean and the breakfast was good . Unfortunately, the room I was allocate was small didn't have a window and like the rest of the place needed a good makeover . Overall good value for money but I wouldn't rush back.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank timbo49sail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Warwick hotels
0.7 mi away
Castle Limes Hotel
Castle Limes Hotel
#2 of 12 in Warwick
575 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Tudor House
The Tudor House
#8 of 12 in Warwick
257 reviews
0.3 mi away
Warwick Arms Hotel
Warwick Arms Hotel
#9 of 12 in Warwick
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hilton Warwick / Stratford-upon-Avon
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Warwick - Stratford Upon Avon
5.5 mi away
Honiley Court Hotel
Honiley Court Hotel
#11 of 12 in Warwick
765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Fourpenny Shop Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Fourpenny Shop Hotel

Property: The Old Fourpenny Shop Hotel
Address: 27-29 Crompton Street, Warwick CV34 6HJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Warwick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Warwick
#3 Business Hotel in Warwick
#4 Family Hotel in Warwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Fourpenny Shop is a small owner operated hotel just minutes from the heart of Warwick and all its attractions; Warwick Races, Warwick Castle and Saint Mary’s Church to name a few. All of our rooms are en-suite, with Freeview, Wi-Fi, Real Coffee and Tea making facilities.  Below the Hotel you will find our newly refurbished and newly named pub, The Silver Groat. Here you will be able to choose from a wide selection of real ales, craft lagers, ciders and fine wines, whilst feasting upon dishes from our ever-changing menu of dishes created using locally sourced and seasonal ingredients. We are five minutes from J15 of the M40 making Stratford upon Avon, Birmingham, The NEC and Warwick University all easily accessible.. We have a small residents’ car park to the rear of the Hotel. If this is full, there is a reasonably priced public car park a few minutes away on Linen Street.  ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Priceline and HRS so you can book your The Old Fourpenny Shop Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Fourpenny Shop Hotel
Old Fourpenny Shop Warwick
The Old Fourpenny Shop Hotel Warwick, Warwickshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing