We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A stunning, magnificent looking manor but extremely disappointing inside.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wroxall Abbey Hotel & Estate
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Warwick
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A stunning, magnificent looking manor but extremely disappointing inside.”
Reviewed 18 August 2013 via mobile

Me and my partner drove past this manor and decided to stay there for a romantic night away. Rooms looked stunning on there website and when we spoke to someone on the phone they said £90 for the night which we thought was good. However when we arrived to book a room we were told it was £130! The receptionist was extremely understanding when we explained what we had been told and gave us the room at the price we were told on the phone. When we went up to the room we were both extremely disappointed! No way would we pay £90 let alone £130 for the quality of room given to us. It was a clean looking room but very dated with mis matching furniture and in serious need of some updating and tlc, the same can be said for the leisure faciltities. We decided based on what we saw not to stay for the night and checked out because of the huge disappointment of inside. The manor house is in a stunning location and looks magnificent from the outside, the perfect looking wedding venue and romantic getaway but someone needs to spend some serious money on the inside to get it up to the four star quality it claims to have. A place with real potential an great staff, that just needs some tlc.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moostifer_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

656 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    244
    194
    114
    61
    43
See reviews for
103
287
11
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

The place has the air of a minor public school and indeed this was what it was in a former life.
There was nothing major wrong - asked for an early check in but this was not available, asked for spa treatments in advance which was harder than at other places.
Tennis courts are ok but black tarmac.
Overall I felt it was a good experience but I have stayed at better places for the same money.
On the plus side the building is spectacular and the gardens / parkland provided great views.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spanysim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

This "hotel" is really a special event venue with rooms.
Staff try to be helpful but are not given the tools to do a good job. We had to replace door keys 9 times during a 4 day stay as they zeroed out.
My parents, in their 90s had to sleep in 86 degrees because none of the staff were able to change ac setiings.
Tvs in bars were promised for my elderly dad to watch sports, but not even the manager could make them work
Cappuchino machine was broken
Tired rooms and equipment.
Wifi does not even work in their own office!
Could be fabulous but needs a huge amount of money to be invested.
Would not stay here again

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Biga o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

How this hotel has attained and retained a 4 star rating is beyond me. Yes, the setting is beautiful, and the staff were all vey polite but that is where it ended . The whole place is tired and in my opinion needs urgent attention to attract repeat business. Our room (number 7 Wroxall Court) was small, but not a major issue as we didn't intend spending that much time in there. The ''wardrobe'' was totally out of keeping with the surroundings - it looked cobbled together out of MDF of different colours, with doors misaligned and a huge sharp splinter sticking out at the bottom ! Bed was very uncomfortable. In the bathroom, there were missing tiles in the shower where you could see through to the ''mesh'' , and there must have been a leak somewhere over a long period of time as the wooden skirting board next to the shower was rotted away and had turned black. Towel rail was rusty. After dinner, we went to the bar for a drink - not a member of staff in sight. It wasn't late - only about 10.15pm, so had to go on a hunt for someone. Whilst we were on that hunt, another guest who had entered the bar before us used the phone on the bar to call for a member of staff and was informed ''we're busy'' !! We also received a random phone call at 2am from room service asking if we had ordered burgers, chips and Budweiser - we hadn't ! We discovered from other guests that they too had received a similar call at around the same time. This hotel has so much potential , and the wow factor that you feel approaching the main building just dissipates as you enter and move through.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AJ2309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

As said in many of the reviews the hotel is beautiful and situated in a spectacular location, what really made my visit to Wroxall was the Spa. The ladies who attended to me (Sarah and Laura) worked very hard and did a marvellous job. A particularly nice touch that I really appreciated was them serving me drinks and lunch as well as providing me with a fantastic spa experience. This is something unique to Wroxall and I wish other spas would take note. Thank you for a wonderful experience, I will definitely be back next time I'm in Warwickshire.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FatherOShaughnessy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Myself and my friend stayed using the wowcher deal hoping for a relaxing spa break including meals. However upon our arrival it because apparent that our meals on both the Friday and Saturday would be on "party tables" at a set time and no choice as to what food you would be eating. This should have been made clearer. The food on the first night was average, however the second night it was much tastier. Our room was lovely, clean spacious and air con which was much welcomed giving the heat we've been having! There were no staff in the spa this weekend (if you can even call it a spa- the pool is tiny and in a conservatory so was boiling in the heat) so we went to a nearby beauty salon called Adara - highly recommended! Staff lovely, treatments fantastic and only a short drive from the hotel. Staff at the hotel were polite and helpful, grounds fantastic. Faultless apart from the spa. Not much to do during the day apart from venture to the shops in Solihull. Altogether a very nice hotel. Plenty of lovely country pubs nearby too for a cheaper lunch than the hotel!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kayleighlb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Wroxhall Abbey with friends on a wowcher deal last weekend. This included a 3 course dinner on the Friday night and a five course dinner on the Saturday night. Our rooms were very spacious which overlook the fields at the rear of the abbey. The bed was really comfortable with plenty of pillows and there was also air conditioning in the room which we needed to use as it was very hot this weekend. The air conditioning stayed on even when we left the room which was great as when we returned the room was nice and cool. We used the pool and jacuzzi on the Saturday night which we all enjoyed. We really loved walking around the Abbey and the church which we got the key for from reception.
The meals on both the Friday and Saturday night were really nice however I think the breakfast could be improved by having better quality bread and the cooked breakfast could have been a little hotter. We did like that you helped yourself to the cooked breakfast though. Overall we would recommend this hotel to friends and we would like to return in the future.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Wayne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Warwick
8.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#7 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,914 reviews
9.8 mi away
Billesley Manor Hotel
Billesley Manor Hotel
#13 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,092 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hilton Warwick / Stratford-upon-Avon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
The Warwickshire
The Warwickshire
#9 of 12 in Warwick
85 reviews
1.5 mi away
Honiley Court Hotel
Honiley Court Hotel
#11 of 12 in Warwick
775 reviews
5.4 mi away
Castle Limes Hotel
Castle Limes Hotel
#2 of 12 in Warwick
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wroxall Abbey Hotel & Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wroxall Abbey Hotel & Estate

Property: Wroxall Abbey Hotel & Estate
Address: Birmingham Road | Wroxall, Warwick CV35 7NB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Warwick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Warwick
#4 Business Hotel in Warwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Wroxall Abbey Hotel & Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in 27 acres of open parkland, Wroxall Abbey Hotel & Estate occupies a unique setting amidst the peace and tranquility of the Warwickshire countryside. Situated just 10 miles from the NEC and Birmingham International Airport, Wroxall Abbey's close proximity to the M42, M40 and M6 make it an ideal location for conferences, meetings and events. Once the country seat of Sir Christopher Wren, Wroxall Abbey boasts a magnificent collection of listed buildings and private grounds, which make it an idyllic setting for weddings and other special occasions. Following a programme of sympathetic restorations, Wroxall Abbey offers today's discerning guest a country house estate with unrivalled leisure, business and function facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your Wroxall Abbey Hotel & Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wroxall Abbey Estate Warwick
Wroxall Abbey Estate Hotel Warwick
Wroxall Abbey Hotel & Estate Warwick, Warwickshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing