We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous Wedding” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wroxall Abbey Hotel & Estate

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Wroxall Abbey Hotel & Estate
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Warwick
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous Wedding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013 via mobile

Very welcoming on arrival. Room lovely very clean. A little surprised no robes you had to request them!! Hair dryer very out dated. Spa sadly very under used so looked tired a little unloved. Didn't like some of the breakfast layout again for the price it was very much help yourself and i didn't like the jam and marmalade in a big bowel from a hygiene point of view I would have preferred my own little pot.
Would I stay there again? Yes I would. Grounds are beautiful.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Propakatangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    230
    177
    96
    55
    35
See reviews for
97
253
10
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

Nice location although nothing in walking distance. Had a nice stay with a clean room and very nice food. Although it was clear cut backs have been made and not everything was how I would expect the staff were very polite and efficient. One young man stood out to me as he would do that little bit extra to ensure our stay was a success. I found out his name was Kyle so all my praise has to go to him along with another young man who's name I didn't know. Only stayed for 2 nights but would definitely stay longer next time !!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ts1230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

fantastic couple of days in a beautiful property. the room was huge with a great bed but decor a little tired, it didn't detract from our stay but not a 4* room.
the restaurant is great just a bit expensive, there are a lot of fantastic pubs in this area which makes the prices too high.
we had a Morgan for a day which was superb, the owner was very accommodating and passionate about the cars and his hotel.
would return without a doubt but hope the owners spend a little on revamping the rooms,

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

you need to choose your room carefully here because they vary in quality immensely. the hotel itself is impressive, our room sadly, although it was in the mansion itself, was a major let down and we did asked to be moved. we had been upgraded to a superior room upon arrival, in the manson and these rooms are £199.99. very expensive i think. for this, we had a room right next door to the lift, room 64 i think ? it was so small with an ensuite probably built in the late 80s, this was disgusting as the radiator had calcified and resembled a piece of metal covered in barnacles. our towels had been placed on top of this yucky stuff. the room was so small and the decor was badly in need of a makeover but the best part of this room was the aircon switch cover. it had obviously got broken at some point and somebody had decided to hold the cover on with chewing gum. and this room was a superior room costing £200 a night !!! disgusting really and it really spoilt our stay here. made a complaint to the duty manager who was herself quite disgusted with what she saw and so apologetic but that doesnt excuse the fact that this room was sub-standard and being sold as a superior top quality bedroom at top dollar. She did however, move us to the oriental room which was at the other end of the scale. it was a huge suite, lovely room which at the princeley sum of £400, needed to be something special. the restaurant was lovely and the waiters were so attentive and well presented. you couldnt fault anything about these guys. the food was beautiful and the wine list was extensive. very nice indeed. the pool is so worth a visit, with a sauna and jacuzzi. we had this to ourselves. there is a lovely terrace to sit out on with views overlooking the lake. overall, a very impressive place but such a let down with the room. mixed feeling on this one. definately overpriced and nothing special. sorry

Room Tip: rooms on the terrace side are far more better situated but pick carefully
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank loubuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmmaBWAE, General Manager at Wroxall Abbey Hotel & Estate, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at Wroxall. I apologise that the accommodation fell short of your expectations. After investigating the points further, I would like to respond to them in turn.
Wroxall has a collection of 72 bedrooms ranging from single rooms to Master Suites and Bi Level lofts. We believe the room you stayed in was 49 (not 64) which is a Mansion Superior.
On inspection the Maintenance team have found that the towel rail needs attention in this room and this is now on the plan of refurbishment to be replaced.
The cover for the air conditioning control panel had become loose and the Maintenance team had used a white tack to secure this until a more permanent solution was available. It was not chewing gum, however I apologise that this was not rectified prior to your stay.
I am pleased that you enjoyed the rest of your experience at Wroxall and the service received from our staff was good. I hope that the issues in your room do not overshadow this or deter you from returning to the Estate in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke on Trent, England
Level Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

We stayed at Wroxall Abbey Estate for two nights at the end of August for a wedding with my parents in law.
The thing that Wroxall excels in is the building and grounds which are absolutely stunning. It is quiet and peaceful except on the nights of weddings. We found the staff to be helpful and the food we had throughout our stay was very good indeed.
We stayed in one of the suite rooms at the back of the building overlooking the patio at one side and the grounds at the back. The room cost £165 per night which for us was a lot of money to pay, but we were expecting luxury and as it was a special wedding we went for it. The room was very big and as well as a four poster bed, had a sofa with chairs and coffee table, a small dining table with chairs and a wardrobe and units with a desk and mirror. Although there was a lot of furniture in the room, we only had half a wardrobe to put our clothes in. The other half stank terribly of moth balls and I wouldn’t have dared leave clothes in there for any length of time. There was only one very small cupboard to put underwear in. This was a disappointment and the room was furnished with a tired mix of furniture that had seen better days. The carpet though was plush and soft and a treat to walk on in bare feet. The bed was very comfortable though soft and as one other reviewer mentioned, the quilt didn’t seem big enough, though that didn’t bother us as the room was so warm.
We found the size of the room to be fantastic as we had a hairdresser come and family were popping in and out all morning. The Ensuite bathroom was clean and the shower very powerful. There was a Jacuzzi style bath though we didn’t use it.
The one issue I had was with general cleanliness. The edges of the carpet were thick with dust and when I picked up a cushion clouds of dust came off it and made me cough. The areas well used like the bathroom and bed were clean enough, the rest wasn’t and I’m not a fussy person. Someone with asthma may have an issue with this room.
So the lack of useable clothes storage and the lack of cleanliness were big downers for us and I would say that we expected higher standards given the price and how nice the building was in general.
The wedding itself was very good and I could recommend this venue. The staff worked like a well-oiled machine and the transformation of the main room from breakfast room in the morning to ceremony room to reception meal room was seamless. The food was good (though the trend for crunchy vegetables was not to my taste). There was a lovely patio area which we used for drinks etc and grounds to walk in and provide interesting backdrops for the photos.
Our couple married in the main house though they could have chosen the chapel close by (very short walking distance). In the evening the party was held in the marquee which was huge. The noise from the music is loud. On the Friday evening there was another wedding on but the music in the main house stopped at 11pm. Our couple had exclusive use of the venue so the music didn’t make any difference. My husband couldn’t sleep and got up at 3am. Phil, the night watchman made him a cup of tea which was appreciated.
Breakfast is a buffet of hot and cold food. We really enjoyed the breakfasts which were very nicely cooked and presented.
Areas of the house are restricted if there is a wedding on and if I had visited for a weekend and could not use them I think I would have been upset by that. It depends on whether visitors would have been made aware of that before booking. Internet was not available to us and very few of the guests could get a mobile phone signal which was a nuisance but no more than that. Drinks are very expensive, £6 for a small glass of white wine.
All in all, a mixture of very good points and not so good. Would I stay again? Probably not. I’m sure that for the price paid there are better places available and we are currently waiting for a refund as we were overcharged on our bill. The building and the grounds are stunning and the staff very helpful, but some money needs to be spent on updating some of the rooms for this to be reasonable value for money.

Room Tip: There are lifts to the first and second floors. The back of the house has lovely views. I can only c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blueaerodynamique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmmaBWAE, General Manager at Wroxall Abbey Hotel & Estate, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Thank you for your review, I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the wedding was a successful and enjoyable occasion.
Thank you for your constructive comments regarding Housekeeping, I will pass these on to the team.
Whilst we take on board your comments regarding drinks prices we feel we offer a wide range of competitively priced refreshments with a glass of house wine starting from £4.00.
Please accept my apologies for the queries on your bill which have now been rectified. We look forward to giving you a special welcome should you return to the Estate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

Having seen some of the recent bad reviews on this hotel here , we checked in with a little trepidation...we should not have worried, the staff were attentive throughout the stay and although the room we had needed a little updating was perfectly adequate, clean, comfortable and plenty of room, exactly what was required. The leisure facilities were a bonus which again were clean and well stocked with equipment. The food at both the wedding and breakfast were excellent and we have eaten in many hotels across Europe and this was in the good class comparatively.
The room rates were also very good and our friends who married at the Abbey had an excellent day in a great venue

Room Tip: Ask for aroom overlooking the gardens as some have small windows and overlook roofs and out building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmmaBWAE, General Manager at Wroxall Abbey Hotel & Estate, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Thank you for reviewing Wroxall Abbey Estate. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that your friends wedding day was successful and enjoyable. We hope to welcome you back to the Estate in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bristol
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

Booked overight stay with my daughter to enjoy the spa facilities. The room was adequate but not worth the full price charged. We had a reduced charge, because of our groupon vouchers. Stated luxurious, but I would not call it that. The bathroom had mould around the rim and the mirrors were flithy and there was some kind of leak under the wash hand basin in bathroom. Hair dryer in bathroom was useless and the quilt was not big enough for King size bed. Advertised as internet available, this was not working. The Spa was slightly outdated. The accommodation was ok, but not as expected regarding luxurious. Enjoyed my stay and the use of Jacuzzi and Sauna.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gonzale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmmaBWAE, General Manager at Wroxall Abbey Hotel & Estate, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our venue. It is with disappointment that we find your stay was not everything you hoped it would be and on this occasion that aspects of your room did not meet your expectations. The fixed hairdryers are encased to meet the electrical safety standard in bathrooms, and are of good hotel quality but additional independent Hairdryers are available on request. Guests generally find our offering good value for money and many take advantage of the offers we run with third party websites. Unfortunately due to a technical problem the WiFi in the Mansion went offline during your stay, however free WiFi was available for guest use in the Court. Also Wroxall offer a guest computer and workstation in the Mansion with open Broadband access to the Internet. We are pleased that you enjoyed you Spa experience and hope that the issues regarding your bedroom and WiFi will not deter you from staying with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Warwick
8.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#7 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,759 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Warwickshire
The Warwickshire
#11 of 13 in Warwick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
5.3 mi away
Castle Limes Hotel
Castle Limes Hotel
#2 of 13 in Warwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Billesley Manor Hotel
Billesley Manor Hotel
#13 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,951 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hilton Warwick / Stratford-upon-Avon
14.6 mi away
Ettington Park Hotel
Ettington Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Alderminster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wroxall Abbey Hotel & Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wroxall Abbey Hotel & Estate

Property: Wroxall Abbey Hotel & Estate
Address: Birmingham Road | Wroxall, Warwick CV35 7NB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Warwick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Warwick
#4 Business Hotel in Warwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Wroxall Abbey Hotel & Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in 27 acres of open parkland, Wroxall Abbey Hotel & Estate occupies a unique setting amidst the peace and tranquility of the Warwickshire countryside. Situated just 10 miles from the NEC and Birmingham International Airport, Wroxall Abbey's close proximity to the M42, M40 and M6 make it an ideal location for conferences, meetings and events. Once the country seat of Sir Christopher Wren, Wroxall Abbey boasts a magnificent collection of listed buildings and private grounds, which make it an idyllic setting for weddings and other special occasions. Following a programme of sympathetic restorations, Wroxall Abbey offers today's discerning guest a country house estate with unrivalled leisure, business and function facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotel.de and Agoda so you can book your Wroxall Abbey Hotel & Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wroxall Abbey Estate Warwick
Wroxall Abbey Estate Hotel Warwick
Wroxall Abbey Hotel & Estate Warwick, Warwickshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing