We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rlaxing” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wroxall Abbey Hotel & Estate

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wroxall Abbey Hotel & Estate
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Warwick
Witney, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Rlaxing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

Friendly fantastic food relaxing just love going there to unwind been several times and look forward to going again soon. It is set in lovely grounds with its own church idea for special occasions or just a relaxing overnight stay or a few days a way. Plenty of places to visit if you want to get out and about or just relax at the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elizabeth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    230
    174
    95
    54
    35
See reviews for
96
251
10
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

I couldn't really fault anything about this lovely country retreat but what really stood out was the fantastic attitude that all the staff had. Without question each one we spoke with were friendly, bright and cheerful with a good sense of humour. Nothing was too much trouble and if asked directions to a part of the hotel they were only too happy to take you there rather than just explain the way. We stayed in the Mansion part with a spacious and well equipped bedroom, views across beautiful countryside and enjoyed the peace and quiet. Had the bed duvet been a little less efficient (I don't like to be too hot) and had there had been Wifi available in the bedroom as well as in the public ares of the hotel then I really would find it very difficult to fault at all. Spa area looked good too although I only made use of the pool, enjoying an early morning swim each day before a good buffet breakfast.
I note a few reviews critical of this hotel not being 'top dollar'. Well, in my experience very few are and those that are also come with a top price tag too. At the Wroxall I think you get a clean, comfortable hotel with good food and country views from a beautiful building of character. Add to that the service and staff attitude you would be hard pressed to match it anywhere for the price.
I'll be back again for sure.

Room Tip: Our room was first floor, bay windowed overlooking farmland to the rear and I'd ask for it again...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank klotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

I purchased the one night at the hotel with the 7 course taster menu, based on great reviews on here. We we're really disappointed - the hotel grounds are lovely, but our hotel room had scaffolding outside of it, the bed is the MOST uncomfortable I have slept in, in a long time! The plumbing started making really loud noises at 4am and woke us up! And this was after a mediocre dining experience - the meal was fine, edible but nothing special,

1. 2 canapés each
2. a cup of soup
3. chicken breast wrapped in ham
4. Amuse bouche
5. Jelly (gross)
6. A truffle each
7. A coffee

Hmmmm really?

Also forgot, the spa the pool is freezing, the sauna didn't work and the jacuzzi was tepid :-(

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank STEVEN W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmmaBWAE, General Manager at Wroxall Abbey Hotel & Estate, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Wroxall Abbey Hotel & Estate. It is unusual to see a post from over three months ago and it is therefore harder to respond.
During a quieter period earlier in the year, necessary repairs were made as part of the ongoing preservation of the listed buildings and scaffolding was used in a small area for a short period. Every effort was made to avoid any guest impact, so this is an unfortunate situation, which could have been addressed at the time. The comfort of the rooms and the beds are generally a point of praise and as there have been no other similar comments subsequently, it is not possible to identify the cause of the problem now.
We regret that this guest was disappointed, but do note the comment that “the meal was fine”. The comments on the seven-course menu are in marked contrast to other diners and feedback we have received. Recognising that any menu can be distilled into a few words, inevitably the benefit of the fuller descriptions, flow of the menu, balance of the dishes and attractiveness of the individual items is lost. For example: the innovative “Winter Berry Vodka Jelly with Berry Compote” proved a very popular dish, but also for guests who did not wish to have alcohol, a range of alternatives were available. All of our seven course menus included both Fish & Sorbet Courses, which have been omitted from above, the Coffee & Petit Fours together, were counted as the final part of the meal.
Finally, with regards to the Leisure Club area, it is difficult to now investigate any specific incidents. Our pool and Jacuzzi are both heated to standard temperatures for such facilities and we have received no other complaints from hotel guests or leisure club members.
To be more environmentally aware we do not keep the Sauna and Steam room facilities turned on constantly. Guests are able to activate both poolside and they heat up in a few minutes. Again we have had no recent complaints from hotel guests or club members.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
295 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

I arrived very late, so when I pulled back the curtains in the morning, the view from room 86 over the parkland at the back was a treat. This hotel has bags of character and is surrounded by woodland and fields. This could easily become a top five star hotel but at the moment it is lacking attention to detail so whilst in my view it would rate as a four star I'd say it is in danger of becoming a three. A lot of time and effort has gone into furnishing the bedrooms but this effort has been let down by very poor execution, for example in my bathroom the fireplace had been reopened adding a vast amount of character back into the room – an excellent idea, however, the chipboard that had been used to block the hole had been ripped away, and the edges not sanded or tidied up in any way – just painted over – amazingly sloppy decorating. A fireplace surround had been reinstalled, great idea but again very poorly done – chunks of pine screwed on and not well finished. Breakfast of kippers and scrambled egg was a treat – but although the dining room has bags of character architecturally, the finish was poor e.g. the side plates are too small to contain a slice of bread, orchids have been added to the tables but the tables have been left as a timber surface – cleaning a white tablecloth might be a pain and cost a few pounds but they would have made so much difference. The pool on the patio is still full of rotting leaves from last autumn (it’s currently June), the lawn at the back looked like a hay meadow that had recently been mown as the grass had been left too long before mowing; the reception staff had run out of letter headed paper to produce an invoice. The personnel are very friendly and seemingly efficient; a perfect ham sandwich for lunch. Wi-Fi is available in the lounge and works well but is not currently available in the bedrooms - this problem I'm told is being addressed - I'd add not before time. I found this hotel very frustrating as it should be spectacular and it wouldn’t take much cost or effort to achieve that. I hope the owners and the directors read this review.

Room Tip: I'd suggest request a room on a high floor overlooking the backl
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SeriousTraveller01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmmaBWAE, General Manager at Wroxall Abbey Hotel & Estate, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post on Trip Advisor. It is naturally disappointing to read a review, where we have failed to meet guest expectations and we are sorry to have a less than satisfied guest. As noted, Wroxall has a great setting and buildings with wonderful views, and a lot of effort has gone into furnishings and to preserve the character of the historic estate. The latter reflects the requirements of English heritage and conservation officers, including the materials used. Unfortunately there has been subsequent damage, which is being rectified.
Interestingly, the daily white linen tablecloths were removed some time ago in response to guests’ comments. They are still used for special dinners and occasions, but the common feedback is that the natural wood gives a more modern and informal style.
The fountains and decorative ponds were fully cleaned and serviced at the start of the summer, but frustratingly one has suffered from a persistent leak. The maintenance team have sequentially checked all the pipework, replaced tiles, re-done the grouting and put in a new backboard, but a small leak remains. This is being resolved and the water replenished from our rainwater harvester.
WiFi is fully operational in Wroxall Court and public areas of the mansion. Also the cabling is installed throughout the mansion bedroom floors, but waiting for the final utility company connection. This is overdue, but is expected imminently.
In order to maintain and enhance the high service standards, there is an ongoing improvement programme and we are pleased to note the excellent comments about the food.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

Great looking hotel, very friendly and helpful reception, room was comfortable, clean and although only 1 tea bag (for a double room?) adequate for the price.
The restaurant staff were confused and so keen to ask you if you were enjoying everything, forgot to actually do anything with your requests - I ordered some water and had to remind them twice before it finally arrived after my starter. Had to wait over 10 minutes for the bill and again, had to remind the restaurant manager.
For breakfast, although an extra, I was looking forward to a full English- after over 15 mins, there was still no staff to order anything from so went back to my room to check out and get something on the way. Disappointed in this attitude, more so after the experience the night before. The reception staff did offer to get something for me to take, when I told them, but I didn't want to risk tempting fate.

Room Tip: A very quiet area generally so no real tips - all rooms seemed superbly situated with great views of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ComplianceDoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We recently spent a weekend at Wroxall Abbey, and were not disappointed with our stay.

The hotel comprises of 2 parts, one being the Mansion and other The Courtyard. We stayed in the mansion. The room we were in was very spacious and clean. There were one or two places where a little touching up to the decor was needed, but nothing significant and lets face it all hotels are used and abused by visitors so it must be an ongoing battle for all owners to keep up with the work. However it was minor and certainly nothing to spoil our stay.

The grounds are also really pretty and in good weather you can sit outside. There is a church in the grounds which is still consecrated and you can have your wedding there. There are also the ruins of the old Abbey as well.

This used to be the family seat of Sir Christopher Wren, although the current Mansion is from the Victorian period.

An absolutely beautiful venue to stay at.

Staying during the week we were delighted to find that in the afternoon complimentary tea and coffee was served with a slice of cake. A really lovely touch, which after a long drive was very much appreciated.

The staff are incredibly friendly and polite and nothing was too much trouble for them.

The highlight was the food however. We opted to have the 7 course tasting menu, and we were a little apprehensive about what the portion size would be and if we would be hungry still at the end of the meal. However we had nothing to worry about in that regard, more a question of could we eat all the food that was served to us! The food was amazing. If you choose to go for the tasting menu, make sure you are hungry so you can make the most of it!!

Breakfast was also excellent.

Overall a great stay and we certainly see ourselves returning.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GF1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coleshill
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

This is the 2nd time my husband and I have stayed at Wroxall and we only live 15 miles down the road, we love it that much, the grandeur of the hotel, the staff are just amazing, the food to be tried and tested, the bedrooms just pure luxury and the spa just perfect. We will return again next year for another treat.

Room Tip: You just have to experience this truly wonderful hotel, couldn't fault it in anyway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaroleDoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Warwick
8.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#7 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,756 reviews
5.3 mi away
Castle Limes Hotel
Castle Limes Hotel
#2 of 13 in Warwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
9.8 mi away
Billesley Manor Hotel
Billesley Manor Hotel
#13 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Ettington Park Hotel
Ettington Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Alderminster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,383 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hilton Warwick / Stratford-upon-Avon
8.2 mi away
Mallory Court Hotel
Mallory Court Hotel
#1 of 18 in Leamington Spa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wroxall Abbey Hotel & Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wroxall Abbey Hotel & Estate

Property: Wroxall Abbey Hotel & Estate
Address: Birmingham Road | Wroxall, Warwick CV35 7NB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Warwick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Warwick
#4 Business Hotel in Warwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Wroxall Abbey Hotel & Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in 27 acres of open parkland, Wroxall Abbey Hotel & Estate occupies a unique setting amidst the peace and tranquility of the Warwickshire countryside. Situated just 10 miles from the NEC and Birmingham International Airport, Wroxall Abbey's close proximity to the M42, M40 and M6 make it an ideal location for conferences, meetings and events. Once the country seat of Sir Christopher Wren, Wroxall Abbey boasts a magnificent collection of listed buildings and private grounds, which make it an idyllic setting for weddings and other special occasions. Following a programme of sympathetic restorations, Wroxall Abbey offers today's discerning guest a country house estate with unrivalled leisure, business and function facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotel.de, 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wroxall Abbey Hotel & Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wroxall Abbey Estate Warwick
Wroxall Abbey Estate Hotel Warwick
Wroxall Abbey Hotel & Estate Warwick, Warwickshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing