We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wroxall Abbey Hotel & Estate
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Warwick
Level Contributor
46 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Amazing ”
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Me and my wife had our wedding here, a medieval one at that! All the staff and co ordinators were great and really went out of their way to satisfy us for our day, letting us have a horse and falconry! Food was amazing, and just under £8000 for venue, church, food, the lot.
Would recommend to anyone!

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Spike046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    239
    186
    100
    58
    39
See reviews for
100
268
11
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

I recently stayed at Wroxall Abbey Estate with my husband who had surprised me with this delightful mid week break away. We were definitely not disappointed and made full use of the lovely swimming pool and spa facilities whilst we were there. My husband, being the more energetic of the two of us, loved the gym whilst I relaxed in the Jacuzzi. Set in wonderful grounds, although you are close to towns such as Warwick, Stratford, Leamington and Birmingham, you felt as if you had been transported to a different world. The staff were charming and nothing was too much for them in order to make our anniversary a memorable experience. The food in the restaurant was lovely and I am sure I gained a few pounds in weight during my stay! All in all, we had such a lovely time and will definitely be returning in the future.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank greencrumb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Chose Wroxhall Abbey as a last resort as all the normal travellers hotels were ful on my way through to the south coast.
What a superb place to stay. On arrival you enter the drive way to see this imposing building in well kept grounds.The staff were very courteous and pleasant and could not be more helpful.
Dining was a superb experience in a ornate dinning room the food was excellent and very reasonable priced with excellent service.
The room was spacious with an enormous bed although the decor was a little tired but acceptable. We didn't use the spa facilities as it was just an overnight stayed, cannot wait to go back for a longer stay .

Room Tip: Book it as soon as you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happy2go_lucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

The reason for our stay was due to having received a gift voucher for our engagement entitling us to a one-night stay in a 'Superior Double' room with bed and breakfast, costing £130. When we contacted the hotel to book our stay the receptionist asked us whether or not it was a 'wowcher' deal which automatically made us question the popularity of the hotel. Upon our arrival, we admired view of the estate and its the grounds. When we checked the hotel appeared very quiet and there seemed to be no-one around. The receptionist didn't inform us of the hotels facilities; pool, restaurant etc. when we entered the room it had a very fusty smell to it and the rooms decor had a Kenyan theme which had nothing really to do with the hotels image. The room itself was basic, had dirty sheets on the divan, was dusty, and had a bathroom radiator which looked as though it had 'ionised'. We walked around the baron' hotel which was really eerie. Barely any guests or staff. We didn't sleep at all. We had room service which was horrendous, we ordered medium fillet steak' and were presented with thin frying steak that looked as though it was cooked in a microwave. All in all awful place. I would not recommend, never to return.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HollyandEmma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

I booked 3 double rooms for a family get together as we live so far apart. For that reason we were excited for our visit. I booked a package to include dinner, knowing we would have lots of drinks before & after and have a well earned break
Firstly, despite booking 3 rooms they were on separate floors which was a shame but not the end of the world I suppose
We arranged to meet in the bar early to have some drinks prior to dinner and it was chaos. There was clearly an event on as drinks and canapés were served to many and this seemed to have taken all of the staff attention. There was one member of bar staff, no cocktail menu ( despite a poster advertising happy hour on cocktails mid week only), the fridges weren't working so all of the bottles of beer etc were warm,& there was a problem with the pumps so no draft anything.
We later found out there had been a flood downstairs which affected some things but a simple sign or two to alert customers of this & what was unavailable would have eased the situation. It took so long to get served and with anything we could actually order, that we only had 1 drink prior to dinner. No waiter service which meant less revenue for the hotel as well
We went into our dinner reservation and stood for an age before being taken back to the bar to be sat at another table which hadn't been cleared (& wasn't for the 40 mins we sat at it!) to look at the menu prior to going to our dinner table. We tried to get a drink again but no joy yet again
Strange that we had sat in the bar for an hour and a half and no one asked if were were dining to make this process quicker.
We decided it would be safer to order a bottle of wine from the wine list in the hope of getting a drink but the bar man didn't know what we meant and had to go and look it up. Eventually the bottle arrived and it was a freezing cold Malbec ( despite warm beer everywhere else in the hotel!)
The saving grace is that once we did get up our table for dinner ( nearly 9 o'clock and only one and a half drinks in!) we had asked the waiter if the service was generally this chaotic and slow .he wasn't exactly apologetic but the waiters therein did go out of their way to ensure we had a great meal and the food made up for the very bad start.
Feeling happier, we decided to brave the bar for after dinner drinks. And we were back to chaos! Slow service, temperamental tills, broken pumps , drinks that had run out ( including baileys despite me having had one 10 mins earlier with desert !!) We gave up after one attempt and retired to bed early which was not our plan.
I would say the hotel itself is very pretty although the rooms we had could benefit from updating and were more 3 star. The food was good and the restaurant staff attentive, but you would think you were staying somewhere else entirely when in the bar as a totally different atmosphere (Fawlty Towers sprang to mind!)I appreciate things go wrong but it's how you deal with these things that defines the service. The bar staff clearly have no desire to offer good service so I would suggest a non customer facing role may suit them better
Thankfully we were with family and we have a sense of humour but it was a little embarrassing for me as I had originally booked it.
In short, let's hope it was an off day !

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank Toria0100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

It has taken us a long time to be able to write this review. We held our wedding at wroxall on 27th December 2013 and all we can say is that the staff at the venue were the rudest, most unhelpful people we have ever encountered. The while review is too long to post on here. ( we will be attempting to put it up elsewhere so people can read the full story) but here are the key points....


We paid £1500 for wrens cathedral... Only to have too parked cars right outside the main entrance (from guest staying at another wedding) the bride had to shimmy between them on her way into the church and as a married couple.

We paid an additional £600 for the marquee... (For our evening function) It was the coldest building with only one heater and most of our guests wore coats all evening or left early. This is despite wroxall saying "it is an all year round structure" and our wedding day being a typical winters day (no snow or high winds etc)

The 'wedding coordinator' Sarah. was exceptionally rude to most of the wedding party at some point during the day. She even came upto the bride in front of guests to discuss the problems. Such a huge embarrassment the bride actually went and cried.

We had a sit down meal in the court.. 4 weeks before our wedding we gave the venue a detailed plan for people's meal choices.
They gave out the WRONG food to at least half the guest. They also gave a child (the flower girl) a meal she was ALLERGIC too when asked to change it the simply SCRAPPED the plate. Not exactly a high standard of food they advertise. The girl couldn't eat any of the dinner.

Two guests who both had the pasta dish were ill with SICKNESS during the evening and following day, one was the maid of honour.

The bridal suite.. Was absolutely freezing throughout the whole wedding. After our complaint we were told this is because the are 'environmentally friendly'

A few months after the wedding they used our wedding photos ( put online by our photographers) for their social media sites. They were advertising their wedding services on both facebook and Pinterest and used around 15 of our photos including some of children ( this was prior to even responding to our complaint)

Serve all guests complained about how dirty their rooms were, how cold they were and how this 4 star hotel really didn't live up to it. They have never received any response from their complaints.

Upon writing a detailed complaint to them... It took 4 MONTHS for them to reply... We were told numerous lies during this period about when we would receive a response. In the letter we finally did get we were told they would SUE US if we dare take legal action. We were told we were outrageous to complain and that they didn't do anything wrong.

We have copies of all correspondence as well as voice recordings of conversations... If anyone reading this is thinking of booking their wedding day here... Please please get in touch so you can read it prior to having the most important day of your life ruined.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Mccallin2712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmmaBWAE, General Manager at Wroxall Abbey Hotel & Estate, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
It is naturally with dismay that we read this posting from a wedding in December, 2013. It was a last minute discounted, special package offer on Groupon. We were happy to make amendments and additions to the package to meet the customers’ requirements and not only provided a full-service, but went above and beyond normal expectations.
 
The couple were aware before they confirmed their date that there was already a long standing wedding booking on the same day and these comments are totally opposite to the other bride and groom.
 
The wedding coordinator Sarah, as other weddings and other guests will attest, is not rude, but is a most charming, quiet and helpful young lady. Naturally having worked so hard to make the wedding day a success, she is extremely disappointed and hurt by the comments.
 
To help the couple, rather than the standard set menu alternative dishes were provided, but sadly this assistance has turned into criticism.
 
It was a very cold day, but the heating was working properly, although inevitably it was difficult when guests were going in and out and doors open to the outside.
 
As noted, the couple's wedding photographer posted their photographs on social media, which was simply picked up with a reference to Wroxall, not from any direct posting by the hotel.
 
Contrary to the assertion, no lies were ever told, but sometimes the inconvenient truth may have been misinterpreted. Having provided everything in the contract that was bought and paid for, including full service and uncharged extras, the hotel rejected a wholly unreasonable financial claim. Moreover, Wroxall has never threatened to sue the couple, indeed quite the reverse, by offering a goodwill payment to try and achieve an amicable solution.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Witney, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

Friendly fantastic food relaxing just love going there to unwind been several times and look forward to going again soon. It is set in lovely grounds with its own church idea for special occasions or just a relaxing overnight stay or a few days a way. Plenty of places to visit if you want to get out and about or just relax at the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elizabeth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Warwick
8.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#7 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,821 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Warwickshire
The Warwickshire
#10 of 12 in Warwick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
1.5 mi away
Honiley Court Hotel
Honiley Court Hotel
#11 of 12 in Warwick
3.0 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Hilton Warwick / Stratford-upon-Avon
9.8 mi away
Billesley Manor Hotel
Billesley Manor Hotel
#15 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,022 reviews
5.4 mi away
Castle Limes Hotel
Castle Limes Hotel
#2 of 12 in Warwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wroxall Abbey Hotel & Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wroxall Abbey Hotel & Estate

Property: Wroxall Abbey Hotel & Estate
Address: Birmingham Road | Wroxall, Warwick CV35 7NB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Warwick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Warwick
#4 Business Hotel in Warwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Wroxall Abbey Hotel & Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in 27 acres of open parkland, Wroxall Abbey Hotel & Estate occupies a unique setting amidst the peace and tranquility of the Warwickshire countryside. Situated just 10 miles from the NEC and Birmingham International Airport, Wroxall Abbey's close proximity to the M42, M40 and M6 make it an ideal location for conferences, meetings and events. Once the country seat of Sir Christopher Wren, Wroxall Abbey boasts a magnificent collection of listed buildings and private grounds, which make it an idyllic setting for weddings and other special occasions. Following a programme of sympathetic restorations, Wroxall Abbey offers today's discerning guest a country house estate with unrivalled leisure, business and function facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Agoda, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Wroxall Abbey Hotel & Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wroxall Abbey Estate Warwick
Wroxall Abbey Estate Hotel Warwick
Wroxall Abbey Hotel & Estate Warwick, Warwickshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing