We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Charlecote Mill

Charlecote Mill
Ranked #15 of 48 things to do in Warwick
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Charlecote Mill is the last working water mill in Warwickshire and still operates commercially producing stoneground flours. The mill opens to the public on the second Sunday of the month and bank holidays throughout the summer from 11.00Am to 5.00Pm. Occasionally the open days are joined by local bakers and teas and home made cakes are always on offer. This is a very rare example of a fully working mill and well worth the visit.
Warwick
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

A wonderful place and a pleasure to see such an historic practice still commercially viable, while at the same time staying true to it's heritage roots. The Miller is passionate, skilled and dedicated and takes pride in producing a very high quality product. The location is beautiful, the building and machinery interesting and the people welcoming. Take a step back in time, learn something about how things work, what you eat and try some delicious home made cake and bread. Check out the site for open days or to buy flour: http://www.charlecotemill.co.uk/

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank naturalhistorygeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    3
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A great working mill”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We've been passing the brown signs for this place for years and been meaning to go in.
Finally got round to doing it a couple of weeks ago and it's great.

This is a commercially operating watermill so it's only open every now and again (nomally one Sunday a month and Bank Holidays) so check the website for details before you go.

You are given a guided tour of the mill by either the miller or one of his very knowledgeable helpers. You are then left to wander at your own devices which is great.

There is tea, coffee and cakes available at the end of the tour for a donation to mill for up-keep.

It's fantastic to see something like this running and being maintained by someone who is so passionate about keeping things going the traditional way.

Also all the grain is sourced locally so if you are bothered about food miles then this is the place to come for your flour. We've just got into making our own bread so this was a timely find.

Finally it's just round the corner from Charlecote Park which is a Natural Trust place, so it's a good area to make a day of it.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Somewhere with real heart”
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

A little gem hidden away in Charlecote. If you're going to Stratford Upon Avon and/or Charlecote Park the Mill is a MUST.
A Warm welcome from the father of the miller and the lovely ladies who will make a splendid cuppa at the end of your visit.

A wonderful piece of English history that old and young will really enjoy. You get to see milling in progress and can buy the flour, non bleached white and wholemeal too. A great tour by the people who are hands on in the Mill ... And know what they're on about but make it really interesting.

I can't praise it highly enough ... Please do go ... You won't be disappointed

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Me1163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Want to use ALL your senses ?”
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We took the 3 boys to the Sceince Museum in London on the Easter sunday and had quite a good time. Saw stuff, looked at stuff.
Taking the boys toi the Mill on Easter Monday was SO much more fun and, in this day and age of x-box, Play Station, TV, DVD, I-this and I-that etc etc we were expecting them to be a little bored. WOW !!!! What a shock we got.
They absolutely loved it. We were greeted by Karl, the Miller and his assistants for the weekend. There were free teas and coffees, soft drinks for the boys and wonderful cakes and breads made by friends and local business's to sample.
A guided tour from Adrian was fascinating and informative and it was a magical thing to enjoy.
As the title suggests, every sense was used. You could see and hear all of the machinery working plus you could feel the vibrations, smell the flour and taste it too.
Visiting a truelly historic place like this gives you a real sense of purpose for the mill and what Karl and his team of volunteers have achieved is a credit to them all
AND, when you leave with your bag of hand milled flour you get to enjoy the best cakes ever !!!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank NeilSmart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coventry
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“well worth a visit.”
Reviewed 2 June 2013

We went with our 2 children (age 4 and 7) we all enjoyed the tour, the tour guide and miller answered all the questions our children threw at them and got them involved to keep their interest. We got there when the mill opened at 11 am and they were just starting the water wheel which our children found fascinating. The tea, coffee and cake at the end were good aswell.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank yummy_mummy_to_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Charlecote Mill also viewed

Warwick, Warwickshire
Warwick, Warwickshire
 
Warwick, Warwickshire
 

Been to Charlecote Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing