We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Sunday lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Rose and Crown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rose and Crown
Ranked #2 of 24 Warwick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Worcestershire
Level Contributor
47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Perfect Sunday lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

Having spent the day at Warrick castle we found ourselves hungry and called in to the Rose and Crown looking for food. The place was buzzing with festive cheer but we were seated right away. The food was all delicious but the sausage pots we had to start really hit the spot. We didn't stay the night but will definitely visit again for food next time we are nearby.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Katy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    236
    138
    55
    28
    12
See reviews for
101
177
15
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

Lovely find: our first time at the Rose and Crown. We stayed for just one night for a Christmas party at Warwick Castle which is just a couple of minutes walk away (even, it would seem, in high heels!). The rooms are in a separate building just round the corner from what is really a lovely pub serving excellent food. The room was spotless, bed comfy. Quality toiletries and an iPod dock were lovely little touches. Hospitality was friendly and accommodating - staff organised taxis for us and nothing was too much trouble. Great place to come back to for a nightcap. Breakfast was superb - basically whatever you fancy. And the special on our day was steak and egg. Decent coffee. The sunday morning atmosphere was great: typically young parents meeting up with babies and toddlers, the Sunday papers and unlimited toast!
Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
80 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013 via mobile

I booked a group of 6 rooms for a business event at The Rose & Crown. The pub itself was great. Solid service, great choice of local ales and really good food / breakfast. We stayed in their "rooms in the square" building, which although it sounds odd was a lovely block of 11 rooms a minutes walk from the pub. Room 11 was excellent. Very very spacious, huge bathroom with freestanding roll-top bath, large shower cubical, double sink etc. The bed was big and comfy. Nice heating, sofa, seperate chair & desk. No street noise, which considering its location opposite The Lazy Cow (an amazing steak pub) was a result.
So, in summary. Great pub, great room, really good food & local ales. I'd definitely stay here again.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank TJRyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

I always enjoy staying in pubs that have rooms, there's often a better atmosphere and service, and The Rose and Crown didn't disappoint. The rooms are actually about 30 seconds walk from the pub but that's fine. They are well sized, clean and great value for money. The pub itself is welcoming with friendly, attentive staff. The food we had was really fresh! I recommend the Pheasant breast. Breakfasts are generous. All in all, I can't fault it!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MisterButler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

We stayed for 2 nights on our way home to Plymouth from Blackpool. We arrived at 5.00 on the Sunday afternoon, right in the middle of their hallowen party. The pub was buzzing. We were shown to our room which was across the road over looking the square. It was large and very comfortable. We ate in the restaurant on both nights, the food was good pub fare. The staff were all friendly and eager to help. There is no parking at the hotel but there was a car park close by.
If you need a base to use for touring the area this is it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room over looking the square not above the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longre, France
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

Booked into this hotel at the end of July having seen it during a previous trip to Warwick and wished we'd chosen to stay there so when we were off to Warwick once again we didn't hesitate to book and were not disappointed. The staff were all very friendly and helpful, most seemed to be from either Australia or New Zealand. The bar area has a very warm and inviting atmosphere and it is very popular with locals, so if you don't like too much noise, then probably this is not the place for you. Our room was very spacious and well equipped. The bathroom, although clean, looked as though it could do with a freshen up paint-wise. We had a room overlooking the old market square and at the time of our visit there was an outdoor film festival taking place and the film showing on the night of our arrival was Top Gun in surround sound! Not very conducive to a good night's sleep although it didn't bother me as I had quaffed a few wines before bedtime. My husband resorted to buying a pair of earplugs for the next evening's event. We ate in the restaurant on the first evening and the food was very good. Although noisy in summer when the windows are open it wouldn't put me off staying here again. I thoroughly enjoyed the ambiance and conviviality. The second night we ate at a fabulous restaurant just across the square, but can't remember the name of it. You can't miss it though it has whole dried Italian hams in the window and looks a bit like an upmarket delicatessen from the outside. Loved Warwick and the Rose & Crown. You're doing everything right.

Room Tip: If you don't like too much noise it's best to ask for a room at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

We ate here on a Saturday in August, and couldn't fault it. There is a lovely atmosphere in the eating area, and staff were helpful and friendly. The menu is very traditional and the quality exceptional. Some of the dishes are quite pricey (£18 for tuna nicoise salad) however it was one of the best I have had a do not mind paying that for such good quality food. Would highly recommend!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirsty N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Warwick hotels
0.5 mi away
Castle Limes Hotel
Castle Limes Hotel
#2 of 12 in Warwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Old Fourpenny Shop Hotel
0.2 mi away
Warwick Arms Hotel
Warwick Arms Hotel
#9 of 12 in Warwick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Warwick Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Tudor House
The Tudor House
#8 of 12 in Warwick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hilton Warwick / Stratford-upon-Avon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rose and Crown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose and Crown

Property: Rose and Crown
Address: 30 Market Place, Warwick CV34 4SH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Warwick
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Warwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Rose and Crown 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The rose & crown is a 17th century inn with rooms tucked into the corner of warwick's market square. We serve the good stuff: fresh seasonal food, a quality pint, great wine, well-made coffee, all with a genuine welcome for old guests and new. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Rose and Crown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rose And Crown Hotel Warwick
Rose And Crown Warwick, Warwickshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing