We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stop-over for Warwick area”
Review of Rose and Crown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rose and Crown
Ranked #2 of 23 Warwick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Comfortable stop-over for Warwick area”
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We stayed here overnight recently with friends and were pleased with the well maintained rooms and friendly atmosphere of the place. We have stayed here 3 times previously in the past 4 years so can report that standards are consistent. The restaurant has a great menu of named source produce ranging from lovely deli boards, fish dishes, game, traditional roasts and 28 day aged steaks. All our meals were of a good standard and well presented with above average service. The breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice, good quality coffee and doorstep toast. Comfy sofas, log fire and newspapers all make you feel at home. On Saturday wander out of the door straight into Warwick market. Parking can be awkward as its all on street so you may have to do the rounds until a place becomes available.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the premises can be a little noisy until the bar closes as this is a very popu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adyfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    240
    140
    56
    28
    13
See reviews for
103
181
15
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014 via mobile

Yes! we went to the Rose and Crown new year "prohibition" party and we had a memorable time. We were on the late sitting at 9pm, but our table was waiting. As always, friendly service, great food, fab live music, brilliant atmosphere. Everyone dressed up and entered into the spirit of it and it really was a great night. Thanks everyone

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jayne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra Australia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We booked this pub online as we wanted to stay outside of Birmingham. It was a bitterly cold and wet night when we arrived and found the Rose and Crown a welcoming local pub. We stayed in the Family Room No. 1 with our son. It was a warm and comfortable room. I was worried that we would hear the noise from the pub below but it was pretty quiet and we slept soundly. The TV was very tiny but to be honest that's not you go to a bed and breakfast for! Wi Fi was very slow in the room but fast when seated in the pub.

We eat a couple of locals who were welcoming and had a drink with us which was nice - they also gave us some restaurant recommendations and local sightseeing tips.

Breakfast was great. Good selection of cereal, toast and tea/coffee. The cooked breakfast was really good - best bacon we had tasted and nicely cooked poached egg.

The stairs and carpet up to the room is a bit tired and grotty which is initially off putting and spoils your first impression. Door to rooms is also near the kitchen so again a bit smelly but it's a working pub.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BradandJanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

I ate here with my partner in November as we had a Gastro pub voucher as a gift. We managed to book really easily. The food was absolutely amazing, we were both extremely impressed. The staff were friendly and the service was fantastic. I would recommend this restaurant.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wednesbury
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Nice room warm, cosy good evening meal and breakfast.Good pub area friendly staff went for my birthday and really enjoyed it.Would definately recommend for break in Warwick area right in town square bang on.

Room Tip: Room in annexe good
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DAVID G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnley
Level Contributor
121 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

We went here for our management Christmas meal.

On arrival it did not look anything special and was quite full. However, we were greeted by a lovely waitress who showed us to our table and asked if we wanted a drink whilst we waited for the rest of our party. The waitress was describing the style of beers to one of my colleague and I was very impressed with the knowledge such a young lady had. Very impressive.

When we ordered our meals we were given some nibbles and to be honest they were scrumptious. Our meals arrived and I had the Rump steak. It was perfect just how I like it and very succulent.. Throughout the night we had banter with the staff and they were very friendly and even gave us Christmas hats and took our photos.

I would recommend the Rose and Crown to anyone. Not over priced and excellent all round.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dino246GT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcestershire
Level Contributor
54 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Having spent the day at Warrick castle we found ourselves hungry and called in to the Rose and Crown looking for food. The place was buzzing with festive cheer but we were seated right away. The food was all delicious but the sausage pots we had to start really hit the spot. We didn't stay the night but will definitely visit again for food next time we are nearby.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Katy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Warwick hotels
0.5 mi away
Castle Limes Hotel
Castle Limes Hotel
#2 of 12 in Warwick
573 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Old Fourpenny Shop Hotel
0.2 mi away
Warwick Arms Hotel
Warwick Arms Hotel
#9 of 12 in Warwick
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Tudor House
The Tudor House
#8 of 12 in Warwick
257 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Warwick - Stratford Upon Avon
1.6 mi away
Hilton Warwick / Stratford-upon-Avon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rose and Crown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose and Crown

Property: Rose and Crown
Address: 30 Market Place, Warwick CV34 4SH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Warwick
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Warwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Rose and Crown 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The rose & crown is a 17th century inn with rooms tucked into the corner of warwick's market square. We serve the good stuff: fresh seasonal food, a quality pint, great wine, well-made coffee, all with a genuine welcome for old guests and new. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Rose and Crown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rose And Crown Hotel Warwick
Rose And Crown Warwick, Warwickshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing