We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cozy great location”
Review of Rose and Crown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rose and Crown
Ranked #2 of 23 Warwick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Elma, Washington
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“cozy great location”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We checked in yesterday afternoon for a one night stay. The staff was friendly and our room on the top floor has a double and a single bed which was perfect for my husband, myself, and our 13 year-old son. The room was clean and well designed...a reading light above every sleeping place with handy reachable wall switch, comfortable beds, wonderful tea tray, an air conditioning unit and windows to the street that open, and a good feel. The pub downstairs is really worth a visit. The food and drink here is really good. There are tables outside and inside so you can choose your experience...less informal or more of a back room dinner. This has been an operating establishment since 1465 (so says the web). Some of the same cellars are still being used today. The neighborhood is lively with galleries, shops, and restaurants. The Castle is easy walking distance - maybe 8-10 minutes? (Headed there this morning) St. Mary's Church is jaw dropping.
One of the aspects of The Rose and the Crown that I like is the focus on sustainability and clean food. Even the bottled water is locally sourced and in glass. There are no wasteful little toiletries in the bathroom but just what you would use at home (full sized - stays in the room). Also - while there is a bit of convivial pub noise in the early evening-it all quiets down and it completely quiet by 8:30 or so (on a Monday night). Would stay here again. Far superior to a chain hotel experience.

Room Tip: Just remember that there are no lifts. Anything you bring must come up narrow stairs. This could b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daughterofasailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    240
    140
    56
    28
    13
See reviews for
103
181
15
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berks, UK
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed for one night last week (11 July). We arrived mid-afternoon by which time the pub was already quite busy and had a good atmosphere. Our rooms were in the market square - less than a minute from the main building - although we had asked for a room in the main building.

The room was nice and clean - well equipped with a good sized bathroom. It was somewhat hot - and it was not feasible to leave the windows open (see below). The room had nice touches with water, biscuits and tea/coffee.

Breakfast was good - with a range of hot and cold options - and the staff were helpful and friendly.

My only negative was the noise - our room overlooked a number of pubs which were busy until around 1am and, at around 6am, the market traders started to set up their stalls so we got very little sleep. Better sound insulation would have made a world of difference to us.

Room Tip: Stay away from the rooms overlooking the market square
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

The Rose and Crown put on a fantastic do in the grounds of the castle. We were all looked after fabulously with free flowing wine and food. The staff were very attentive and great fun. They even carried on the party once the concert had ended back at the pub

Thank you.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank NAshmead-Siers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

I stayed at the Rose and Crown last week, great location, warm and friendly staff, comfortable well equipped rooms. I normally stay in one of the large hotel chains in the area, but my experience of the Rose and Crown left me wondering why I hadn't stayed here before. This will be my first choice hotel going forward.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JWG642014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

Visited and was instantly amazed by the place. Very lovely and clean and friendly people. Would recommend. Lovely accommodation and good prices on everything. A place for you even if you have a family.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank puppylove85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Great accommodation. Newly refurbished rooms very close to the pub, but far enough not to be troubled by noise. Very clean room with an ensuite walk-in shower, tea, coffee, hot chocolate, still and sparkling water and posh biscuits! Plus TV and radio. Have already rebooked for my return in November.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah_BN6328ZI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

What a fabulous place. Hospitality is second to none from the moment we arrived to the time we left. The rooms are lovely and comfortable and extremely clean. The food was delicious and competitively priced and the staff were excellently accommodating. It was an absolute pleasure to stay there.

We were a group of six (3 couples) and had room 1, 5 (which are in the pub) and 14 by the market square. It was noisy for our friends over in room 14 as the market was set up early on Saturday morning but we were above the pub in room 5 and didn't hear a thing!

The rms were well decorated and very spacious. We had our Labrador with us and were well looked after on arrival as to ensure we'd settle in from parking advice all the way to providing a back door key so we could walk the dog after closing.

Clean sheets, comfy bed and fluffy towels plus a fabulous cooked breakfast in the mornings which was delicious, as was all the food. We didn't have to queue once at the bar during our 2 night weekend stay. The staff were on hand consistently and we all commented at how impressed we all were with the service we received. I would highly recommend the rose & crown not just for its fantastic location but for the five star service we received in a beautifully maintained establishment for an excellent value of money. Gold stars all the way. We'll be coming back that's for sure!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Warwick hotels
0.5 mi away
Castle Limes Hotel
Castle Limes Hotel
#2 of 12 in Warwick
574 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Old Fourpenny Shop Hotel
0.2 mi away
Warwick Arms Hotel
Warwick Arms Hotel
#9 of 12 in Warwick
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Tudor House
The Tudor House
#8 of 12 in Warwick
257 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Warwick - Stratford Upon Avon
0.0 mi away
The Globe
The Globe
#3 of 23 in Warwick
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rose and Crown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose and Crown

Property: Rose and Crown
Address: 30 Market Place, Warwick CV34 4SH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Warwick
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Warwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Rose and Crown 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The rose & crown is a 17th century inn with rooms tucked into the corner of warwick's market square. We serve the good stuff: fresh seasonal food, a quality pint, great wine, well-made coffee, all with a genuine welcome for old guests and new. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Rose and Crown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rose And Crown Hotel Warwick
Rose And Crown Warwick, Warwickshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing