We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and excellent staff let down by an old building”
Review of Warwick Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Warwick Arms Hotel
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Warwick
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good food and excellent staff let down by an old building”
Reviewed 7 January 2014

I stayed at this hotel twice in late 2013 on business. The location is excellent, being right in the middle of Warwick with some nice restaurants and pubs nearby. The restaurant is good, with some lovely food and the staff are very friendly and accommodating.

Unfortunately the rest of the hotel is a not great. The rooms are very small, at least the 2 I stayed in. The door frame was only about 6 feet high, which meant I had to duck down every time I walked through it. There was no double-glazing in the bathroom which meant getting out of the shower in the morning was fairly uncomfortable.

The hallways are weird, with uneven creaky floors everywhere. These are all things you'd associate with an old building that hasn't had any work done to it in ages, and things you wouldn't expect to see in a hotel - I can't remember the last time I stayed somewhere with no double-glazing!

So in summation, as the title suggests, the staff, location and food are all good, but the building itself is poor.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    151
    112
    30
    24
See reviews for
104
174
13
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We booked here for new years eve dinner & b & b and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves, the food was excellent and the staff extremely helpful and very friendly nothing was to much trouble, would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zena W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

if you book the basic room it is very basic. the bathroom is tiny and you cant sit on the toilet without knocking your knees on the basin. the whole look of the hotel needs some tlc. the next room up is larger and has a bath. the breakfast was brilliant apart from we asked for more toast to have with our full English breakfast and they forgot to do it for us. also even though toast is on the menu you do have to ask for it with your breakfast. you get half a slice of fried bread with your full English. nice looking hotel and has parking, but it needs a lick of paint here and there, and some newer bedding.

Room Tip: look for the medium size room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracyw10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
569 reviews
135 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

I have wanted to stay at this hotel for a long time as the restaurant and reception areas look fabulous. They have upgraded this old building very well so it retains its charm but is also bright and modern. The rooms however need some attention.

I realise an old building will have sloped floors and ceilings with creaky boards, but the room we had was cold really cold. As there was an extra oil filled radiator they are evidently aware of this. The bathroom whilst spacious was so cold that you needed shoes on and your butt almost froze to the loo seat! The windows are original sash but the one in the bathroom was so loose it "banged" all night which doesn't help you get a decent nights sleep.

Breakfast was a real disappointment the cooked breakfast was done to order, my friends had it and said it was good. For those of us looking for continental there was limited cereal, juice and no fruit a real shame as the dinner in the restaurant is always really good.

Room Tip: Don't have room 38
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 186400Caroline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caloundra, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

We arrived around 10pm, exhausted after long flight from Australia and were warmly welcomed by all the staff at the Warwick Arms. They checked us in quickly and handled our bags so we didn't have to worry about a thing. They were extremely friendly and helpful, it was a fantastic welcome.

The hotel is extremely clean and comfortable and full of character. It's very centrally located in the most gorgeous village. Easy to wander around town and only a 2 minute walk to the castle. The English breakfast included in the rate was delicious and service was top notch. We enjoyed a drink in the lounge each evening, chatting to the staff and relaxing after days of exploring.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J0OBrien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We had the reception for our Daughter's Wedding in September 2013 at this hotel and want to report that we had an exceptional day. The Manageress and her staff could not do enough to make the day a success. The food was superb and the service faultless. If you are considering here for a similar event I cannot recommend enough.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulianFirst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
319 reviews
155 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

I stayed here in Nov 2013, unfortunately there was a family with children staying as well.
The kids were allowed to run up and down the corridors till well after 11:00pm, the noise in the morning from them just walking along the corridor was disgraceful, it woke me at 7:10 i didnt need to be up till 8:30 my first lie in for 6 weeks. You would think it was a playground the surprise is the mother is the loudest, have some respect for others!
The hotel itself is nic, its clear lots of money has been spent on the interior, its mordern, clean but not so spacious, the breakfast is nice too and plentiful.
I dont undestand why they dont have wifi in the rooms, its some kind of plug in contraption.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimbo367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Warwick hotels
0.4 mi away
Castle Limes Hotel
Castle Limes Hotel
#2 of 12 in Warwick
574 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Old Fourpenny Shop Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Tudor House
The Tudor House
#8 of 12 in Warwick
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hilton Warwick / Stratford-upon-Avon
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Warwick - Stratford Upon Avon
5.4 mi away
Honiley Court Hotel
Honiley Court Hotel
#11 of 12 in Warwick
765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Warwick Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warwick Arms Hotel

Property: Warwick Arms Hotel
Address: 17 High Street, Warwick CV34 4AT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Warwick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Warwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Warwick Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Warwick Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Warwick Arms Hotel Warwickshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing