We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Last Minute Accomodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Church Hill Farm B&B
Ranked #5 of 23 Warwick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
317 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Excellent Last Minute Accomodation”
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Church Hill Farm B & B is located in the small village of Longhorne in Warwickshire at the very end of a narrow lane and next to the community's church. It is a large farmhouse with parts of it dating to the 15th or 16th century. We stayed in a so-called "family" bedroom over the family's kitchen making it a bit noisy with the daily family goings on but it was otherwise suburb. The "family" room designation means that it can accommodate three and was large and had both a double and a twin bed in it. The view over the rolling hills of Warwickshire lead down to their duck pond and the rest of the 300 acres they own. The beds were comfortable. This particular room had a only a tub but with the water wand provided it was possible to come close to taking a standard shower. Breakfast is served family style in a large dining room and was among the best we had on our trip. Sue was very helpful and accommodating, greeting as each day upon our return. If you want a modern, homogenized B&B, this one is not for you. If you want something with a great deal of character and personality then, we would certainly recommend Sue's establishment.

Room Tip: You might want to avoid the family bedroom because of its location over the kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DACETC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
41
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

With a warm welcome and tea & cake on the patio of this beautiful farmhouse, we had the very best of starts to a very comfortable stay. The room was clean, comfortable and full of character - like the house itself! Great place to stay. Highly recommended

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peppipig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Super B&B near Warwick. Breakfast was perfect and the room and facilities A1. Location was excellent with easy access to Leamington and Warwick. The Heritage Motor Centre being a few miles down the road. Thanks Sue for a pleasant stay!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ade_jeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moira, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
378 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We stayed here to attend an event at the Motor museum at Gaydon just a few minutes drive away. We stayed in the Kitzbuhel courtyard suite, a modern conversion, which consisted of a nice kitchen (only lacking a microwave) with a sitting area and a dining area, a separate bedroom with ensuite shower room. There is a decent sized flat screen television, dvd player and fast reliable Wi-Fi. Everything is comfortable and spotless. There is parking outside the door after a bit of manoeuvring and extra parking outside the farmhouse.
The farmhouse is in a lovely setting and dates back to the 16th century inside is original wood panelling and a whole history in artefacts.There is a warm welcome from the host and the family dogs are always ready for a game.
The breakfast is fantastic, freshly cooked local productsmostly from a nearby farm.
The village is a lovely collection of interesting buildings with the farmhouse next to the church at the end of a dead-end lane.
The Antelope pub is a short walk away (which we didn't try) ,we can also recommend the 'Moon and Sixpence. in Hanwell for something a bit special.
There are plenty of footpaths from the village for hiking and a number of nearby geocaches.
Highly recommended, we would return if looking for accommodation in the area.

Room Tip: Kitzbuhel is the larger of the courtyard suites and gives the flexibility of a self-catering unit b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GandC_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
churchhillfarm, Owner at Church Hill Farm B&B, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
It was lovely to meet you both and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay.
Looking forward to the next time. All the best Sue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

My wife and I stayed over a weekend with plans to visit Warwick and Stratford Upon Avon.
We were met with a very warm welcome and a pot of tea and home made cake. The farmouse is beautiful and full of nooks and crannies any many original features Sue was a tremendous host and her breakfast was very good.Unfortunately due to the weather we did not get to walk the gardens this will have to be done on another visit.
The local pub The Antelope is literally five minutes walk and again you were made to feel very welcome by not only the staff but the locals aswell. The food was excellent and there was a good choice of menu.
Again a big thankyou to Sue

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2012

My wife and I stayed at Church Hill farm B&B in December as a base to explore Warwickshire. It is perfectly located for visiting Stratford-upon Avon, Warwick and Heritage Motor Centre Motor in Gaydon amongst many things to do nearby.

We have the pleasure of staying in the Kitzbuhel cottage suite. This made the stay really relaxing, the suite is a perfect place to relax at the end of the day and even in the cold nights of December the underfloor heating keeps the rooms really cosy and warm.

The suite having an oven and cooking facilities was useful and allowed for a night time evening meal choice of cook it yourself or have the short walk to the local pub for some great food.

Morning breakfast was good quality with perfect poached eggs with the full English breakfast. Cereals, yoghurt and toast were also available.

Sue, the owner, was friendly at visit, breakfast and checkout.

For a few nights staying in relaxing country B&B we couldn't have asked for a better stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cumbrian_Bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Twickenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2012

Sue, the proprietor, ought to buy the odd bottle of booze for The Antelope's owner (local pub 5 mins or less in the village) since it is both her fine B&B and the promise of very decent food, beer and wine at affordable prices that makes this a rather fetching combination. So park the car and stay local for your evening meal :-)

Others have commented on the difference between the local TravellersLodgePremierInn set-up and paying more or less the same for this B&B but, frankly, if you want a pre-set formula and the efficient anonymity of a chain then stick with them - nothing wrong with that.

Sue's place, however, is a proper B&B with a Nato-strength breakfast. Admittedly, I did approach the Grade II building with a faint heart as I glimpsed the knackered single glazing and had visions of previous experiences of ill-fitting doors, candlewick bed-spreads and arthritic plumbing from B&Bs of the past. However, once you get past the initial 'hit' of the non-heated part of the house (it has a large hallway/atrium) and are led upstairs to the main part of the building you quickly acclimatise and begin to appreciate the comforts available and the professional approach Sue takes. She clearly spends a fortune on heating and you are the happy recipient.

As for the studios (we also had Kitzbuhel for the in-laws) all was fine and dandy, too. They give you a little more privacy since the family's accommodation is 'embedded' within the suite of rooms on the ground floor for lounging and breakfasting guests. Again, very B&B and didn't bother me in the least...and you're within easy access of Sue, her Aga and the kitchen for tea and cake.....

The Jewel in the Crown is that you can trot down to the village and fill up on good, solid pub food (they even had a viognier on the wine list in the restaurant part....my current measure of a menu with some thought behind it) and while away the time in front of the log fire. Suitably tanked-up you can wend you're happy way back to a comfy bed and nobody "has to do the driving" with the sad abstinence that it entails :-)

So, for 3-4 nights you have a very happy combo and a good location to enjoy all the surrounding areas. I'd imagine that it would be even better in the summer months !

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CiboCiboCibo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Warwick
3.8 mi away
Mercure Warwickshire Walton Hall Hotel & Spa
Mercure Warwickshire Walton Hall...
#1 of 1 in Wellesbourne Hastings
2,676 reviews
6.5 mi away
Castle Limes Hotel
Castle Limes Hotel
#2 of 12 in Warwick
573 reviews
5.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Warwick - Stratford Upon Avon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Hilton Warwick / Stratford-upon-Avon
11.6 mi away
Wroxall Abbey Hotel & Estate
4.0 mi away
Mallory Court Hotel
Mallory Court Hotel
#2 of 16 in Leamington Spa
702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Church Hill Farm B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Church Hill Farm B&B

Property: Church Hill Farm B&B
Address: Church Lane | Lighthorne, Warwick CV35 0AR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Warwick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Warwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Church Hill Farm offers quality accommodation within the heart of the delightful village of Lighthorne. The historic Cruck farmhouse is grade II listed, dating back to the 15th century. It has been a family home for hundreds of years and contains fine antique furniture. Your stay includes a farmhouse breakfast using locally produced ingredients - the farm's free range chickens providing fresh eggs of course and home-made jam's and marmalade. Church Hill Farm prides itself on giving guests personal attention and/or privacy as required. The farmhouse has 3 ensuite guest bedrooms plus 2 courtyard suites with some self catering facilities . We are 3.5 miles from Junction12 on the M40 but in a quiet rural location plus walking distance to our local pub the Antelope. We have the British Motor Museum , Compton Verney Art Gallery, Warwick Castle , Stratford upon Avon and many National Trust Properties all with in 10 to 25 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Church Hill Farm B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Church Hill Farm Bed And Breakfast
Church Hill Farm Hotel Warwick
Church Hill Farm B&B Warwick, Warwickshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing