We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good meal, let down by the bread”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Catalan

Catalan
Ranked #29 of 129 Restaurants in Warwick
Price range: US$9 - US$38
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Romantic, Bar Scene, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Braintree Essex UK
Level Contributor
173 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Good meal, let down by the bread”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

Went with a colleague. We were very happy with our meal. The only negative was the poor quality bread served with the olive oil, and used for the garlic bread. This is why I scored it at 4 instead of 5. Portion sizes good. (Biggest than la tasca restaurants I have been to).

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank katanaismybike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    303
    134
    36
    34
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Well Worth A Visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

The Catalan is an enjoyable eating experience, value for money both in the food and wine, the house red was very good. The Saturday night visit with our two friends was enjoyed because of the atmosphere, the ambience and service. Whilst the tapas is good if you are looking for extra special it didn't quite meet that mark but overall we all came away satisfied and happy.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MichaelCTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
270 reviews
190 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Very Enjoyable Tapas”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

It's tricky to find good , authentic Tapas in England - even in London - but this place comes close.

The atmosphere on entering is warm and welcoming and the staff greeted us with lovely warm smiles. After having had our drinks at the bar, we were shown to our reserved table for three in the "outside" area - which is intriguing! I imagine it started life as a roof terrace, then got enclosed at the rear and now has a fixed roof over one half and a sliding roof over the other - which was open on the gorgeous sunny evening of our visit. A grape vine creeping over wires which have been arranged in support covers much of the walls and "ceiling" space creating a very Mediterranean feel.

The menu is, by the very nature of Tapas, extensive. However, they have separated the various elements well and items other than Tapas such as Paellas are listed separately.

We chose 7 items between the three of us, as advised by our charming and very efficient waitress - whom we believed to be Spanish - and found that was more than adequate for us. (We all have good appetites!)

The meatballs, Gambas with Chilli, and Cold Meat Platter were absolutely delicious. The patatas bravas were simply fried potatoes topped with tomato sauce - nice but not authentic, as I could detect no chilli whatever. Likewise, the Pinxos with prawn and sqid were pretty much raw, whereas they should have been chargrilled. Again, they were nice, but could have been better. My white Rioja was delicious and complemented the meal well although a tad expensive by the glass!

Desserts were lovely and beautifully presented and the cheeseboard, which was my choice, gave me three large four large wedges of Spanish cheeses which we were all able to share! the only disappointment there was the Manchego, which was very dry. But congratulations to the team in the kitchen for the decor - the apple shaped swan was a masterpiece!

In all, thoroughly enjoyable and worthy of another visit.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
281 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 301 helpful votes
“Nice but nothing special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

Visited Catalan for pre prom tapas and wine. We ordered a sharing paella dish and a tapas of garlic prawns and paprika wedges. The food was nice but nothing special and not very generous portions, however we did receive a complimentary plate of bread and oil dip which was lovely warm and fresh. With a glass of wine it totalled over £30 which I think was a little on the expensive side for what we got.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank debbiefrances
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Friday treat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Visited Friday night, glad I booked as summer concerts mean most places are busy, service was exemplarary, food was good not the best tapas according to my spanish guest but to me it was great altough a bit more chillie would have given a top rating.
if you have not tried tapsas before this gem is well worth a visit.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stevecocorobinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Catalan also viewed

Warwick, Warwickshire
Warwick, Warwickshire
 
Warwick, Warwickshire
Warwick, Warwickshire
 
Warwick, Warwickshire
 

Been to Catalan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing