We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great environment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Birmingham Central Backpackers
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great environment”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2013

I stayed at Birmingham Central Backpackers this past October, and I will definitely be staying there in the future if I head to Birmingham. Although the location did not look the safest, every thing else was great, from the exceptionally friendly and funny staff, to the free, abundant breakfast. Plus, the hostel itself is only a 5-10 minute walk from the main shopping district. The common room was especially welcoming and cozy - couches, flags, and bright colours livened up the hostel.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deanna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    54
    44
    29
    28
See reviews for
3
16
83
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mainz, Germany
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2012

the hostel is located in digbeth, one of the quarters of brum foreigners might want to avoid. at least new street station, bull ring and the central coach station are within walking distance. we got a 4-bed room in a separate building 300m off the hostel. the bed was okay, the common room was full of kitsch. prices were okay and included breakfast and a soup for supper. however, you had to queue for the toilets, the showers and the kitchen which was just annoying. i thought the staff was not very helpful and rather unfriendly.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulieWanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Birmingham hotels

Miratejo
Level Contributor
274 reviews
145 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2012

The hostel is central do the city. Unfortunetly didnt go to the free breakfast and snack at the evening, but this is a nice thing for a hostel. The staff was ok. The room were also ok, but a little bit small an the common room had a nice environment.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank invocator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancaster
Level Contributor
90 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2012

This was purely a place to crash for 1 night and so this is based purely on our visit.

Location doesnt exactly feel the safest but we saw no trouble around, it just looked an area you'd plan a rumble!

Hostel had a friendly reception and we were shown to our room which was a nice touch for a hostel. An free evening snack and breakfast was available but because of the times we were going out and leaving in the morning we didn't have time to sample anything but again a nice touch if you have time!

The room itself was pretty clean but there were a few scrunched up pieces of paper under the bed and cig butt behind the bin but as this is for 1 night it didnt exactly bother us. We had a private room and it randomly had a tv that didnt actually connect to anything! It basically just took up space. Tea & Coffee in the room, no milk but it is available downstairs.

When we got back to the hostel at around 2 it was in complete darkness but we kept out of everyones way and they kept out of ours.

We'd all had a few so the beds were as comfy as they could of been but i agree with previous posts that they properly have not been changed for a while.

We also had a shower in the room, plenty of hot water but it lacked a little bit of pressure.

Checkout was non-existent as at 8am there was no one around and the front door shutter was shut so i hope they appreciate we'd taken all our rubbish and probably tidied up the rubbish that was left in the room!

Central Backpackers Hostel was perfect for us for this type of visit, if its just to crash then i'd book it, if you are wanting a little more in terms of service i'd go for a central city hotel chain.

Room Tip: Double private was fine but if you've loads of bags it might be worth asking them to shift the t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gunnerdarunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Padua, Italy
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2012

Spent there a few nights, 3 in April and 3 in june, and both the times I was really, REALLY satisfied. Close both to the centre and the station, comfy rooms, great colours, new forniture (each room I've been in smells like wood and ikea), amazing staff, excellent breakfast, clean, amazing common room, I could go on listing positive things forever.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KCRose159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2012

Along with 7 others I found myself at the Central Backpackers last weekend for a stag weekend, the hostel having been booked as it was cheap and convenient for town. That's pretty much it as far as the good bits go.
The brightly coloured walls (all walls different colours) made it look like a 1960s festival, and the bed was incredibly uncomfortable and noisy. Even rolling over made the bed creak constantly through the night. The windows hardly opened and I imagine the duvets and bedsheets haven't been replaced since 1990. It's also situated in some dingey backstreet where we never thought we'd see our cars again...
Basically this place suits if you are a foreign traveller happy with spending your time here sat on the WiFi in the lounge.
I'd certainly be happy paying an extra premium to stay somewhere nice!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2012

Hello, this hostel is good. I is a good place for short stay. The breakfast is free and is good. The room is small but clean. I can recommend this hostel for a short stay. The location is good. It is near to a bus station from the airport and it is near to the center of Birmingham.

The next time I go to Birmingham I go back to this fine hostel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lanbub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
Hotel La Tour
#9 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,319 reviews
Ladywood
Nitenite Birmingham
Nitenite Birmingham
#61 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birmingham Central Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birmingham Central Backpackers

Property: Birmingham Central Backpackers
Address: 58 Coventry Street | Digbeth, Birmingham B5 5NH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Birmingham Central Backpackers 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Backpackers hostel located in the centre of Birmingham. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Birmingham Central Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Birmingham Central Backpackers Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing