We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average”
Review of Gables Nest

Gables Nest
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gables Nest
Ranked #16 of 52 Birmingham B&B and Inns
Brentwood
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed 7 May 2013

This was rather disappointing. The room was clean enough and the decor was fine but it was pretty small and cramped. Breakfast wasn't brilliant though I've had worse. In short it was ok but nothing special

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brentwood-person
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    12
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
12
7
12
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2013

Run by a retired couple, Gables Nest is clean and comfortable, and provides a fine breakfast. Bathroom in the family room is charmingly decorated. It's a pleasure to converse with Marilyn, the lady of the house. A few small negatives: parking is very tight in front of the house, and getting back onto the Coventry Road requires caution. Beds were, in my daughters' opinions, a bit spongy. And while the location served us well on our trip to Gatwick, it is not very convenient to Birmingham's city center. However, if I were in the area, I would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pentwater--summerjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2012

This B & B was spotlessly clean and comfortable.My husband and I spent 2 nights here visiting the N E C .The landlady and her husband were so very helpful and friendly,the breakfast was brillant. We could not want for anything better and the price was excellent.We would most deffinetly stay here again if we are in the area

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BarrieandBrenda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mind your own business
1 review
Reviewed 21 October 2012

Genuinely comfortable, pleasant and convenient little place. Spent £30 for my night here which included breakfast and that is a more than fair price. Lovely lady runs the place, charming building with everything you want from somewhere to stay away from home. My only regret is that my meeting extended to just the one day, such that I didn't have an excuse to spend another night.

If you need somewhere comfortable, friendly, personal and convenient, why pay twice the cash for a Travelodge which is none of these things, when you can stay here?

Room Tip: Room 5 has sloping ceilings, I'm 6 feet tall and didn't necessarily suffer, but true giants...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

My husband stayed here when he was attending a training course in Birmingham and was so impressed with the Landlady and Landlord he insisted that I tell everyone how lovely they are. The value for money was brilliant, everything was spotlessly clean, the food excellent. It only cost £30 a night here, which is just amazing.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HeatherK148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012

Booked this hotel for a short stay in Birmingham (visiting a football match), its high recommendation and low price convinced me to stay here. It's a typical old English guesthouse, with just a few rooms and a caring hostess. Guesthouse is located near a road with a direct busline to the city centre. The breakfast was good. Only the bed was a bit wobbly.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanielEast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 March 2012

Great B & B, very friendly. Near main road so a little noisy but other than that, great.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank contractor234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birmingham
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham South A45
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Birmingham Yardley Hotel
2.7 mi away
Travelodge Birmingham Airport
Travelodge Birmingham Airport
#42 of 117 in Birmingham
1,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport
1.3 mi away
Travelodge Birmingham Sheldon
3.9 mi away
Arden Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gables Nest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gables Nest

Property: Gables Nest
Address: 1639 Coventry Road | South Yardley, Birmingham B26 1DD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gables Nest is a small family run guest house just 4 miles from Birmingham International Airport and the NEC with easy access to all major motorway networks. We are 4 miles from Birmingham city centre and just 2 miles from Birmingham's famous Balti area. We offer good, clean, comfortable accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Gables Nest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing