We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't expect too much” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Prime Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Prime Lodge
Ranked #112 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Dorchester
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Don't expect too much”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2012

A group of 3 went for a night out in Birmingham, cheap accomodation no tfrills was what we were after.. And were not dissapointed! Not as bad as we were expecting after reading a few reviews; maybe they change the sheets for a Saturday night! Rooms were basic, TV, tea and coffee (didn't try that) and clean. Bed's also clean, though the plastic under the sheets never going to give a good nights sleep! We checked out the rooms before handing over our cash, and that was no problem.. Or surprise according to the man on reception!

It looks rough, bars on the windows, no handle from the car park and it's never going to win luxury awards.. But, its £6 in a cab from town and we had no problems. Don't go there if you are a family, expecting a romantic break or are planning on spending much time in the room! OK for what we were after though.

Room Tip: Check it out before you pay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    4
    3
    8
    65
See reviews for
5
27
4
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2012

I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. Youth hostels are so much cleaner!
On arrival we were greeted by an unwelcoming group of men offering to sell drugs outside the hotel entrance (fire door) which was very intimidating and frightening.
Then to walk through to reception were the ceiling was caving in, and the smell made me retch. To a dark enclosed room were we stood for half an hour waiting to shown to our room.
Eventually we were shown to our room were the ceiling, walls, skirting boards and carpet were covered in black mould, it was foul!
To top off the final experience my boyfriend walked into the bathroom were he slipt on a cracked floor tile and sliced his foot open! So we had to spend our remaining time in Birmingham in A & E !!!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanielouise93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Birmingham hotels

Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012

Please, Please do not stay there.
Very Very Poor, I am asian the hotel is run by Asians very very substandard. Can’t even imagine how we spent 10 minutes there.
Could not stay in the room for more than 10 minutes, they have charged two night stay from me they are crook, doing a day light robbery. Better if they can earn money through other illegal means.
Totally unacceptable , making mockery of innocent people.
Dampness Smell, pungent smell, it stinks , this is not a hotel this is an old den.
The websites should not advertise them they are helping them to make money I am gonna make official complaint to Birmingham city council.
DO NOT GO There.

Room Tip: do not go please avoid the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Abid-5-6-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

The "hotel" is located in inner City Birmingham and has bars on the windows to prevent break-ins at night. To enter you have to ring a bell and wait while you are viewed on camera. The rooms are filthy with mould growing everywhere. The electrical sockets are hanging off the walls and the pipes drip water through the roof. They wont serve bacon in the mornings due to their religion and the whole place is in a run down state with rubbish stacked up to the rear. In a nut shell, this is by far the worst place (never mind a hotel) that I have ever had the misfortune to stay in

Room Tip: Do not stay here, EVER!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
42 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012 via mobile

Driving past the hotel on the series of endless round abouts I seriously thought the sat nav was on the blink. The hotel looked like an neglected homeless shelter. Caged windows and unsavoury surroundings, not the most appealing of welcomes. I'll skip the entrance hall and car park, other reviews cover these downfalls well enough, the rooms deserve some explanation. The walls were not only stained with rap but with other muck and residue from god knows what what's window will had not sermon sp much as a can of pledge and the bathroom was a disgrace. The filth, mould, scum and actual [--] stains in the loo was appalling. It's a pity the hotel's owners have such friendly staff because they certainly do not deserve them.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jordanjmcdowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2012 via mobile

It is very cheap and very clean it is worth it's price!!!!!!!!! It is only 2 miles away from city centre if you come from a different city this is the best hotel

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Badman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
prime786, Manager at Prime Lodge, responded to this review, 20 June 2012
thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braintree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012

There are some super negative reviews of this place but it was SO, SO, SO CHEAP! It gets the job done.

Yes, it is very rough around the edges - it looks like a cold war bunker from the outside (and not a whole lot better inside), it's nestled in the middle of a very rough estate and you should expect some mould and/or rust stains on the walls in the bathroom - oh, and don't expect the TV to work - but it was £20. To put that in perspective I have paid more to stay in a hostel sharing a room with up to 10 others.

I had a clean, spacious, en-suite room with tea-making kit, free wifi, functioning, newish furnishings and a comfy bed all to myself. The shower was absolutely awesome too - plenty of hot water and some serious power behind it to wake you up. If you look at it as a bargain price private room in a hostel you'll know what to expect.

The estate it's in is rough but the car park is covered by CCTV and the ground floor windows have cages around them (it's up to you whether this is a good point or bad!).

My biggest gripe was that to get in from the car park you have to ring a buzzer that rings at my reception, my room was very near reception and so the buzzer was going off until about midnight - luckily I didn't have an early start but this would def. have been a serious annoyance if I had been trying to sleep.

Room Tip: Don't expect a miracle for the price - be realistic! Avoid rooms near reception to get away fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MacheteSupertramp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Campanile Birmingham
#98 of 117 in Birmingham
3.0 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
Park Hotel
#94 of 117 in Birmingham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Edgbaston
Edgbaston Palace Hotel
Edgbaston Palace Hotel
#99 of 117 in Birmingham
3.0 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ibis Birmingham Bordesley
#71 of 117 in Birmingham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prime Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prime Lodge

Property: Prime Lodge
Address: Nechells Parkway, Birmingham B7 4PT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Prime Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Prime Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prime Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing