We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful”
Review of Prime Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Prime Lodge
Ranked #113 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Southampton UK
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Awful”
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

Good points...

Lovely polite courteous staff
Clean and comfortable bed
£47 for single room

Bad points...

Absolutely everything else!
See photos!

Really hard to find car park. Grilled windows. Pile of rubish in corner of car park. Hotel dark and dirty. Ensuite a breeding ground. Don't know if food was included but if it was there is no way on earth I would have eaten here!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank JackyLambertJohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    4
    4
    8
    67
See reviews for
5
28
4
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

I stayed here with friends for st john comps x choose as was cheap now I know why it was herendous room had wet damp smelling carpet x bedside table was useless as had rubbish tea making facilities in the way all in all horrible

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Godfrey1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Birmingham hotels

Penmaenmawr, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

I will start with the good points. It was cheap, there was a free car park (albeit difficult to find), it was warm, there was a 24 hour reception and the staff were friendly. First impressions count, grills on the windows and large secure fire doors with doorbells (for even the front door), do not inspire you with confidence. Once in the room, there were more issues, the bathroom was grimy, and the mirror was tiny. Where it looked like the plaster had falled off was merely painted over, though the rust stains around the radiator had not been. The double bed was more queen sized, and a touch saggy, meaning you spent the night bumping into whoever you were sharing with. That said, the smoke detectors looked new and were not yet fixed to the ceiling, so it may be the case that improvement work has begun...

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catastophie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancing, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

My partner. friends and i stayed here when we were participating in a national competition in Birmingham. Well what can i say!!! This is probably the worst hotel i have ever stayed in. The rooms were pokey TV didn't work and every time i got in the shower i thought a mouse was gonna come out. It was so dirty, dusty and smelly. Will not be staying here again!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 22Vicky1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

So me and my partner booked up here for one night as was going to Birmingham city centre on a night out and found it was cheap and thought we would give it a go. Worst decision we have ever made. It took 10 minutes to get into the dog hole, all the doors were boarded up and labeled "fire doors", even the "front" door!! Which led to major confusion.. The windows were all fitted with bars over them.. Once we got in, the lobby was pitch black until we walked round the corner to find a dimly lit reception.. Checked in and was showed to our room.. Which on the way to the room things got no better as all the room doors were once again all fire doors exactly the same as the ones outside.. Once in the room things got worse, one look around the bedroom showed the side board of the bedside table was falling off, there were holes in the walls, white stains on the carpet, a bedside table which was basically useless as the kettle and cups ect were taking all the space up.. Checking out the "en suite" followed suit. All the pipe work was rusty and sticking inches out the floor, the shower glass was normal glass not frosted, the board underneath of the shower was fallin off and was chipped, the mirror was no bigger then my face, the list is endless.. PLEASE WHATEVER YOU DO, DO NOT STAY OR EVEN STEP FOOT IN THIS SO CALLED HOTEL. It shouldn't even be on the map. We managed to get a refund after the receptionist gave us more then dirty looks. Completely ruined out night out, ended up going back home as couldn't get in any other hotels on such short notice. AVOID LIKE THE PLAGUE!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bennay71191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Im working locally and my boss booked my accommodation. He must hate me.
I suppose you get what you pay for.
I've stayed in hostels nicer than this.
Finding the car park is an unmagical mystery tour and when you get there, you will want to turn around and find somewhere else to stay.

Dirty
Uncomfortable
Minging
Pigpen

Or dump, for short.

Dont come here. Run away as fast as you can.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SamCros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Paid £70 to stay one night. .... The curtain pole fell on top of us when we tried to open the curtains in our pokey little room. The very small tv didn't work - this was even after our acrobatics to put the plug in which was up by the ceiling. Tea and coffee making facilities were 2 tea bags and no coffee! Walls paper thin and stained. Plastic sheeting on bed made for a very sweaty uncomfortable night. Didn't dare experience the breakfast which was an extra £5 each. Promised wifi only worked in the corridor near reception. No wonder our taxi driver had only been there once before in the year! Felt shabby, unfinished and grubby - couldnt get out quick enough Don't go there!

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Margie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
2.4 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#95 of 117 in Birmingham
27 reviews
0.6 mi away
Campanile Birmingham
Campanile Birmingham
#99 of 117 in Birmingham
529 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Birmingham
Comfort Inn Birmingham
#94 of 117 in Birmingham
513 reviews
2.7 mi away
Travelodge Birmingham Perry Barr
5.1 mi away
Great Barr Hotel
Great Barr Hotel
#89 of 117 in Birmingham
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prime Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prime Lodge

Property: Prime Lodge
Address: Nechells Parkway, Birmingham B7 4PT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #113 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Prime Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Prime Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prime Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing