We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellant base for Birmingham & The NEC”
Review of Yardley Guesthouse

Yardley Guesthouse
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Birmingham
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Yardley Guesthouse
Ranked #29 of 54 Birmingham B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 January 2012

I have Stewarded at Crufts Dog Show at the NEC for the last 15 years working all 4 days, I have always arrived on the Wednesday night until Sunday morning, the rooms have always been clean & tidy, with an excellent full english breakfast, even getting the breakfast earlier on a Saturday & Sunday as had to be at the NEC early. Other guests who were showing and/or visiting Crufts with their dogs were made very welcome with, like myself, regulars. Haven't rated the swimming pool as didn't know they had one!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dunraffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (24)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 24 reviews

Reviewed 28 November 2011

I am writing this reveiw on behalf of my 18 year old son and two of his friends stayed here for one night to visit the German Christmas market on 26th Nov 2011. When I phoned to make the booking Sue the landlady could not have been more helpful giving me information about the buses and nearest train station to help them plan their weekend.
The rooms were spotless and clean and the breakfast was more than they could eat. Dave the landlord made sure the boys knew how much taxis should cost so they wouldn't get ripped off and told them the best places to go.
Great value for money would stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Angusburger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2011

This Guest house is a must for anyone needing accomodation near airport and town centre
rooms are very clean and tea coffee facilities are excellent
Sue and Daves big beakfast starts the day off This is the third time that myself and 8 of my friends from Maidstone have used this guest house so that speaks for itself
so if its a guest house you are after give it a try

Room Tip: all rooms are great this is a guest house near airport but you can't hear the planes
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KentPrincessSparkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2010

stayed here for 2 nights,never again,no hot water to shower after a days work on both nights got up for breakfast at 7 oclock as stated owner slept in no breakfast, rooms ok never again do not stay here charge for paying by debit card absolute rip off

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liverpool74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2010

I have always used Yardley Guest House for my colleagues that visit Birmingham. Sue is so flexible with her approach to running a very traditional and warm Guesthouse. The rooms are very plentiful, so accomodating a party of people is never a problem. Everything is spotless, and welcoming to the eye. The England Kickboxing Team have stayed here whilst on training courses, and YGH has housed some of the World's top Fight Referees for a conference. Everyone very happy.

YGH is very close to pubs, shops and ammenities, but far enough away to be in a quiet and traditional part of Old Yardley. Parks and leisure facilities are close by, and road/rail links are so simple from this location.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kickboxing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2010

I was very impressed with this B&B. I stayed here whilst working in the area and came across it by looking for inexpensive accomodation in the Birmingham area and glad I found it!!! It offers both value for money and a clean/comfortable place to stay. The location is good with plenty of choice in the area in terms of places to eat and drink. not far into the city centre either (worth noting that the NEC is really close too). The owners were very friendly and helpful. I would highly recommend this place for business or social purposes.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PML28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2010

If there was a rating below zero it would qualify. It's a dump, it is dirty and dank. In fact it's the worst place I have ever stayed in. The fact that I'm writing this when i'm still here is testimony to the aweful experience I am having. Usually I'd bunk down with a bit of Franky'l, wipe away the backlash on the curtains and snooze until morning. Unfortunately the cockroaches are so numerous they're preventing me from putting hand on roach and pulling it's head off if you know what I mean.
In summary, you'd be better off driving all the way home to come back to the area the next day than stay in this unbelievable dump.
Can't wait for breakfast ..... [--] on toast with fried [--] and a cup of fresh [--].
Thankyou and goodnight.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jillycooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 118 in Birmingham
3,138 reviews
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#21 of 118 in Birmingham
4,006 reviews
Ladywood
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
#38 of 118 in Birmingham
1,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yardley Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yardley Guesthouse

Address: 330 Church Road | Yardley, Birmingham B25 8XT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Birmingham
Price Range: £45 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Yardley Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 10

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing