We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical modern pub.”
Review of The Rope Walk - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Rope Walk
Price range: US$10 - US$39
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Ladywood
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
117 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Typical modern pub.”
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

A nice place with good food and beer, but nothing special. Seem to focussed on groups to give good service to individuals, but still a decent spot for a pub meal if you're not looking for anything special.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jangala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    11
    7
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not great... poor service”
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Title says it all! for such a lovely location (St Pauls Sq) with one of the best views in Birmingham, it just seems such a waste of a venue! Marstons chain type place, with uninspiring pub food. Fair enough its cheap but would rather be a bit more expensive and not as boring!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AdamJQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knowle,Solihull
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“starbold”
Reviewed 29 December 2013

my dear sister held her 90th birthday party here in mid december with visitors from not only the midlands but down south also,excellent food,great venue for the occasion .the occasion was enjoyed by all except for the rather long time to get service at the bar(appeared short of staff that afternoon I would hope that this experience was not normal.good location

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank starboldcourt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Wedding reception venue!”
Reviewed 1 December 2013

My daughter recently held her wedding party at the Rope Walk.

We had exclusive use of the venue for the day of the wedding . The room was emptied of gaming machines, promotions etc and we were allowed to dress the venue as we pleased. Darren and his team were so helpful and calm - nothing was too much trouble. We chose to have a (winter) barbecue - all the guests absolutely loved the food - the beef and lamb steaks in particular were gorgeous - melt in the mouth!
Being in St Paul's Square it was easy for guests to walk to nearby hotels after the party

.Would certainly recommend the Rope Walk for your party!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank buttons52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birmingham
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“New Menu!”
Reviewed 31 August 2013

WE always go here for the excellent cocktails 2 for £5.50! and they definitely set the night off!

We did go here for lunch and had the Goats Cheese Wrap which was so tasty and would recommend.

The manager informed us of the new menu and we are looking forward to going to try it.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank mark s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Rope Walk also viewed

Sheldon, Birmingham
Birmingham, West Midlands
 
Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing