We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning view in bed sit environment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
Ranked #1 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Stunning view in bed sit environment”
Reviewed 2 October 2011

Excellent value especially when you include the free Oranges, fresh coffee and free parking in the Bull ring. Stunning view in bed sit environment which is ideal for business meetings

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TraceyStayingCool, Owner at Staying Cool at the Rotunda, responded to this review, 29 October 2011
Hello Berkshire Gent

We were all delighted you enjoyed your stay in one of our Mini (studio) apartments. Many of our business guests find them very convenient for hosting private meetings. Try a different view next time for a different take on the city.

Best wishes
Tracey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

901 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    675
    159
    42
    10
    15
See reviews for
114
399
46
158
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2011

Stunning spot in Birmingham. The staff were most accommodating. The view was awesome! I just cannot say enough about Staying Cool. The room was magnificant and the ammenties were above par! I'll be back!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 10sAce52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TraceyStayingCool, Owner at Staying Cool at the Rotunda, responded to this review, 29 October 2011
Hello 10sAce52

Thank you very much for your wonderful review - yes our team in Birmingham are extremely helpful. Until your next trip.

Best wishes
Tracey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 30 September 2011

I have stayed at the Rotunda twice now and have found it to be the best place to stay in Birmingham.

The place is very welcoming, the staff are extremely helpful and cannot do enough for you.

The apartments are very modern, clean and have excellent touches like fresh milk, coffee machine with beautiful coffee, tea, sugar, hot chocolate and my favorite of all was the oranges in the fridge ready for juicing (obviously with the juicer they offer.)

When they say "Central" they mean central, you can't get anymore central than Staying Cool at the Rotunda - you're within walking distance to pubs, bars, shops and restaurants and if you're not sure how to get to any of them the guys on the desk will point you in the right direction!!!

The apartments are right at the top of the Rotunda so if you haven't got the energy to go out you can have a nice glass of champagne, maybe cook some food in the full equipped kitchen and watch the world go by out the floor to ceiling windows, truly amazing!

The king-size beds are memory foam, possibly the comfiest beds you will ever sleep in.

Overall the Rotunda has got to be the best place to stay in Birmingham and I would highly recommend it.

I'm hoping to visit again Christmas time and can't wait to see the city alight from the top with Staying Cool looking after me!

Room Tip: Penthouse has an amazing wrap around balcony you can walk out onto!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sdallison D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TraceyStayingCool, Owner at Staying Cool at the Rotunda, responded to this review, 29 October 2011
Hello Sdallison D

Thanks for the wonderful write up. Yes champagne on a Penthouse balcony is a great treat. Until next Christmas then!

Best wishes
Tracey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
84 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2011

Where to begin - great building, location and easy to find, check in efficient and friendly, found the discount card incentive useful for dining out, but even to cook in was a treat. Checked in to a clean crisp and well maintained apartment, the views were to die for. 24hr safe access meant no hassle or trouble found in city hotels. The bed was comfortable and the impressive bathroom was pleasing. The sky tv with channels from home meant I was not restricited to certain channels. Quiet, relaxing ambient to carry on and do some work and entertain a few guests in the evening. Shall return and look forward to seeing you again in the future. Thank you !!!

Room Tip: All rooms are pleasant
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Danny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 September 2011

We stayed at Staying Cool for one night last week and had the most amazing experience! Parking was a bit of a nightmare but we didnt have to pay so cant really complain about the short distance we had to walk!
Upon arriving the staff were quick and informative and we didnt have to hang around before going to our room.
Reaching our room for the night on the 19th floor, we opened the door and were instantly amazed at the views! Breathtaking, amazing and the whole apartment was finished to a very high standard!
The choice of toiletries were like that of a spa! Everything was perfect

The only issue was we had to leave the next day! We would have loved to stay much longer! Would recommend this place to anybody! It showed me a new, funky side to Birmingham that I didnt know existed

Room Tip: The higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UrbanCoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 September 2011

When I first arrived at the Ratunda, the receptionist informed me that my room would be one of the newest apartments in the building.
The living room at the Ratunda: TV there was no signal on the TV/Sky and neither picture for the Television. The only view I managed to find was on the Tv screen, was of the entry door security camera, screening residence as they came in and departed the building???
They had a very, very small ikea sofa and table chairs.
Bedroom:The bedside lamp was not working: When I questioned this with the reception desk, they said that the electrics where not working properly because of the apartment being so new. Both sockets were Infact working as I tested both sockets for my laptop and mobile phone so, It was the bedside lamp that either had a blown bulb or broken and something that apparently could not be fixed. The hotel Bed: Very Comfortable bed nice pillows. Plenty of closet space with iron board and Iron and hairdryer to use.
The bathroom: The toilet was not clean, neither the shower, I had to go downstairs to reception and ask for somebody to come and clean the shower head as it had black mould crusted over the the head also Soap from the previous person still remained on the shower handles bathroom sink dirty.
View from the 18th floor: Very nice apart from the disgusting seagull poop or pigeon poop splashed down one of the windows.
Kitchen:Nice enough to want to cook.
The Ratunda informed us that they had made a mistake with the bookings as they over booked and instead of being booked for 3 nights we had to find another hotel after 2 nights, unprofessional and inconvenient.
If you have any questions make sure you ask them before 11pm at night as after 11pm you only have a telephone number to call in regards to questions relating to your apartment.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meme7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
98 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 394 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2011

I have just returned from Staying Cool, and like others certainly enjoyed my three night stay. I was in the 20th floor penthouse (which is two bedrooms off a central lounge). The views are fantastic, and the decor and furnishings are very good...but a few issues;

Parking is a discounted rate at the Bullring, a good treck (with bags) from the hotel. Finding it on a wet Sunday night was also a bit if a challenge having survived Birmingham's ring road and roundabouts!

That said, the woman at check-in, once I had schlepped across the shopping centre, was very friendly and super-helpful.

Once the amazing view gets boring, you do start to notice one or two housekeeping issues; the trendy sofa's are amazing uncomfortable and there are no proper chairs if you want to work for a few hours - just plastic things.

There was an old pair of socks in one of the cupboards and old plates in the washing machine that didn't appear to work.

The sinks in the bathroom took half an hour to drain away properly, despite removing the plug and there is a fair amount of wear and tear around the floors, appliances and decor.

Using the internet up on the 20th floor was deeply frustrating, and kept dropping. So much so I had to go and buy a dongle to use.

The other issue that really began to grate was the noise. Even with all the windows firmly closed there is a constant sound of wind up on the 20th, only drowned out by the trains going in and out of New Street Station below.

BUT...in fairness, there is also a lot right here - the price, the location, the space, the design, the fantastic full Sky TV service, the Mini Mac, and the beds were very comfortable. The green commitment too, by not having air conditioning and refilling bottles of soaps is also an excellent touch.

So, so much right here and just a little bit of investment in windows that seal, good internet and better housekeeping would make this place the ONLY place to stay in Birmingham.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank milesw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TraceyStayingCool, Owner at Staying Cool at the Rotunda, responded to this review, 26 September 2011
Hello milesw

Thanks for writing the review. I am very sorry that you experienced a few, avoidable issues. I can tell that you enjoyed many aspects of your stay but think we need to improve on a few things.

Firstly, parking. You're right, the Bullring car park is a few minutes walk away and isn't ideal if you are carrying heavy suitcases. Guests can actually pull up at the back of the building and drop off their cases there and then go and park. Similarly, we also have a limited number of spaces underneath the building which we don't promote enough. We have today improved the information we send out about car parking to help future guests.

We are carrying out numerous scheduled repair works in your penthouse apartment this week which should address the wear and tear. I just wish you had mentioned the drainage and other issues during your stay as we could easily have rectified them while you were out.

We invested in a new wifi system a few months ago and it seems to be working very well indeed. Most guests comment on how fast it is. In view of the issues you experienced we are asking our internet company to spend a night on level 20 this week to check it out to make sure there isn't a night time issue as everything works fine during the day for us.

There was a problem with one of your windows which we discovered on check-out that has now been fixed. If there are high winds then the top floor can get noisy (it doesn't affect the other floors, only level 20). The good news is that it isn’t that windy that often.

The comfort or not of the furniture is more difficult to answer because it is subjective - some of us like high backed and deep filled seat cushions while others like low backed, slim seat cushions. The desk chairs are the classic 1960s Robin Day chairs that have been brought up to date by Lou Rota's 'Art on Legs' series. We have many repeat penthouse guests so hopefully most people like the furniture. I’m delighted that you thought the beds were very comfortable.

We do aim to provide the best place to stay in the city and I can tell that you are batting for us. We always take on board feedback and try to make improvements where we can, so thanks very much for taking the time to review us and hopefully next time you will have that perfect stay with us.

Best wishes

Tracey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,891 reviews
Hotel La Tour
#10 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,357 reviews
Ladywood
Malmaison Birmingham
Malmaison Birmingham
#25 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
#3 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Genting Hotel
#5 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staying Cool at the Rotunda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staying Cool at the Rotunda

Property: Staying Cool at the Rotunda
Address: 150 New Street, Birmingham B2 4PA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#1 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#2 Green Hotel in Birmingham
#2 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#4 Family Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Staying Cool at the Rotunda 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the top of the city's iconic Rotunda and enjoy amazing views of the city from your very own beautifully designed apartment right in the heart of the city centre (Selfridges will be your corner shop). Each apartment has floor-to-ceiling glass windows that open fully and the Penthouses have their own outdoor balconies. These stylish apartments have been designed with your maximum comfort in mind. Each comes with bespoke designer furniture, a very well-equipped Poggenpohl kitchen, espresso maker with complimentary locally sourced milk and Illy or Fairtrade coffee, oranges for the juicer, iPod dock, plus a king size bed with pocket sprung/memory foam mattress for the very best night's sleep. There's a 24 hour reception plus daytime/evening concierge offering Staying Cool's renowned service. Choose from Minis (studios), Clubmans (one beds), Maxis (two beds) and Roadsters (two bed Penthouses). And if you don't like heights, we have two apartments on level two (the Olympian and Cabriolet). In short, stay in the best location, in an award winning Grade II listed building and experience life like a local. If you book via Staying Cool's website then you will get a complimentary bottle of wine or free parking and the guaranteed cheapest rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Staying Cool at the Rotunda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staying Cool At The Rotunda Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing