We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“View is amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
Ranked #1 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
hanley
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“View is amazing”
Reviewed 10 January 2012

My boyfriend booked this as a special treat for shopping in the sales. When we got up to the apartment it was dark and the view from the window was so great. I was impressed with the quality of kitchen gadgets and the pots of tea, coffee and hot choc are a nice extra. Big solid bed and small clean bathroom with a very strong shower. Location couldn't be better the main shopping areas of the Bullring and the pavillions are on the doorstep and there are loads of places to eat. Only slight moan was how small the apartment was but that didn't spoil the great time we had.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anna d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TraceyStayingCool, Owner at Staying Cool at the Rotunda, responded to this review, 23 January 2012
Hello anna d

Thanks for the great write up - it sounds like you certainly made the most of being so near the shops. I hope you got lots of bargains.

I'm sorry you found the apartment small - I think you must have stayed in our studio apartment (a Mini) which is still bigger than most hotel rooms but smaller than the other apartments. Next time try a Clubman - they have much bigger lounges and bathrooms (as well as a bath) as well as all the things that you liked about the Mini.

Best wishes
Tracey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

910 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    682
    159
    43
    11
    15
See reviews for
117
402
46
159
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2012

This is my second review...I stay at Staying Cool on a regular basis simply because these are the most fantastic apartments available !. Being a frequent traveller, I have visited some of the top cities all over Europe and stayed in many 5* hotels / apartments but nothing comes close to Staying Cool at Birmingham. This is because the apartments are truly furnished to a very high standard with every amenity possible. The views are incredible and the customer care is superb. The Staying Cool team are very friendly / caring and actually go out of their way to ensure that your stay is wonderful. A big thanks to all at Staying Cool especially to Gavin, Kim, Sarah, Jack and Keisha !

Tanvir

Room Tip: All rooms are fantastic but the Club rooms are best and very good value for money
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tq11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TraceyStayingCool, Owner at Staying Cool at the Rotunda, responded to this review, 23 January 2012
Hello tq11

A big thank you for your kind words and for staying with us each week. Everyone in the team beamed when they read your review. Until next time.

Best wishes
Tracey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2012

Staying Cool in Birmingham is one of those places I look forward to going back to, I work regularly in Birmingham and prefer the comforts of home rather than a faceless hotel this is where staying cool delivers and more. The clubman has everything, a stylish apartment with every amenity. After a long day in the office to get back to the apartment kick back and from the 19th floor watch the world go by. The beds are comfortable and I have also found the apartments to be clean and well presented, with a fabulous kitchen and all the gadgets you need (sky tv, apple mac and iPod doc) its my first choice in Birmingham every time.

Room Tip: 19th floor is quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil_Spencer_uk75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TraceyStayingCool, Owner at Staying Cool at the Rotunda, responded to this review, 23 January 2012
Hello Phil_Spencer_uk75

Thanks very much for posting the review and for recommending us after so many stays - it is very much appreciated by all of us here at Rotunda. You must be near to that free weekend in Barcelona by now!

Best wishes
Tracey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

We had high expectations for the Rotunda - and we were not disappointed. The apartment was well furnished and fitted with high-quality fittings. The views were great! Proximity to the Bullring centre, the shopping areas and the train station was really great. The German Christmas market was in full swing while we were there and this added a nice Christmassy feel to our stay. The wifi worked fine most of the time (in the early evenings it slowed down quite a bit which made skyping difficult).

Staying Cool at the Rotunda will definitely be our first choice when we return to Birmingham.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NMcPhillips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TraceyStayingCool, Owner at Staying Cool at the Rotunda, responded to this review, 23 January 2012
Hello NMcPhillips

I'm really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us - yes, I don't think you could be much more centrally located! I'm sorry that the wifi slowed down a bit in the early evening - we're trying different ways of dividing up the bandwidth between users to get the optimum speed, even at peak times, so that everyone can either Skype or watch TV on their laptop if they want to. Until next time.

Best wishes
Tracey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

We expected more after viewing the promotional video and website. Nice enough room and very stylish but not really practical for two travellers with large baggage. We rented a mini for 2 nights in January 2012.

We both totally agreed with previous reviewers that the bed was amazingly comfortable. The memory foam mattress and crisp white sheets making for a great nights sleep.

Now onto the bad points. The bathroom floor gets wet and stays wet when you shower. It's supposed to be designed as a wet room but there is no drain for the water to flow away.

The fridge and dishwasher were very dirty. Not wanting to move rooms after spreading our belongings around the room we decided not to complain and not use the kitchen instead.

Being one who can't abide unclean hotel rooms, I wouldn't choose to stay again because of the dirt.

Nice room, great view but sort the housekeeping out guys!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BradandEmma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TraceyStayingCool, Owner at Staying Cool at the Rotunda, responded to this review, 7 January 2012
Hello Brad and Emma

My heart sank when I read your review. I'm really sorry about the fridge and dishwasher issues you experienced. We had a few staffing issues at the beginning of the month, due to holidays and illness, after the busy New Year's weekend which contributed to the problem (I'm saying this by way of an explanation rather than excuse). It really isn't acceptable and certainly not the Staying Cool norm.

All the Rotunda team wish you had said something during your stay so we could have made good and corrected the situation while you were out.

We could also have stored some of your bags downstairs for you or looked into moving you to a bigger Clubman apartment which also has a storage cupboard. The Clubman has a different shower which you might have preferred too.

I'm glad you enjoyed the beds and the view and we have taken your housekeeping points on board.

Best wishes
Tracey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 January 2012

The Staying Cool apartments have it all - situated in the centre of Birmingham with easy access to the train station and all shops. Every apartment I have been in has excellent views, and to have a kitchen, dining area and lounge area as well as a bedroom and ensuite means i can work in the evenings if I want, or just cook a meal and relax if not.

Room Tip: I normally stay in the mini apartments because they are great value for money and ideal for a single...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TraceyStayingCool, Owner at Staying Cool at the Rotunda, responded to this review, 7 January 2012
Hello Alison W

Thanks for the write up - we're delighted you stay with us whenever you are away on business in Birmingham. The Minis are my favourite apartments too!

Best wishes
Tracey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 January 2012

These apartments are without question the very best Birmingham has to offer and quite possibly the best anywhere, certainly I've never experienced better. For those of you who are a little more discerning I cant recommend these apartments enough; the attention to detail is spot on, be it the decor or the service they provide. Trust me, treat yourself to a night in the Penthouse, you'll never forget it.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rich652
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TraceyStayingCool, Owner at Staying Cool at the Rotunda, responded to this review, 7 January 2012
Hello Rich652

Your headline made us all laugh! Thanks for your kind words and we hope to see you back for a Roadster Penthouse stay sometime soon.

Best wishes
Tracey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#8 of 117 in Birmingham
2,921 reviews
Hotel La Tour
#9 of 117 in Birmingham
2,388 reviews
Ladywood
Malmaison Birmingham
Malmaison Birmingham
#24 of 117 in Birmingham
2,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
#3 of 117 in Birmingham
861 reviews
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Genting Hotel
#5 of 117 in Birmingham
1,514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staying Cool at the Rotunda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staying Cool at the Rotunda

Property: Staying Cool at the Rotunda
Address: 150 New Street, Birmingham B2 4PA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#1 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#2 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#2 Green Hotel in Birmingham
#4 Family Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Staying Cool at the Rotunda 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the top of the city's iconic Rotunda and enjoy amazing views of the city from your very own beautifully designed apartment right in the heart of the city centre (Selfridges will be your corner shop). Each apartment has floor-to-ceiling glass windows that open fully and the Penthouses have their own outdoor balconies. These stylish apartments have been designed with your maximum comfort in mind. Each comes with bespoke designer furniture, a very well-equipped Poggenpohl kitchen, espresso maker with complimentary locally sourced milk and Illy or Fairtrade coffee, oranges for the juicer, iPod dock, plus a king size bed with pocket sprung/memory foam mattress for the very best night's sleep. There's a 24 hour reception plus daytime/evening concierge offering Staying Cool's renowned service. Choose from Minis (studios), Clubmans (one beds), Maxis (two beds) and Roadsters (two bed Penthouses). And if you don't like heights, we have two apartments on level two (the Olympian and Cabriolet). In short, stay in the best location, in an award winning Grade II listed building and experience life like a local. If you book via Staying Cool's website then you will get a complimentary bottle of wine or free parking and the guaranteed cheapest rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Staying Cool at the Rotunda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staying Cool At The Rotunda Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing