We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will Stay at Staying Cool at The Rotunda Again!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
Ranked #1 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 3 July 2012

We only went for one night to Birmingham but once I set foot in the apartment I really wished we were staying longer. Staying Cool have nailed it here! I've obviously been to Birmingham on many occasions before - each time staying in a four star hotel. The Crowne Plaza and the Hilton are all very well and good but now I know I can get such a fantastic room for a lower rate, I'll be staying here at The Rotunda next time I visit Birmingham. We were on the 19th floor and the views were nothing short of spectacular to be honest. And you couldn't get closer to the Centre as The Rotunda is just next to The Bullring. Perfect location!

Reception staff were brilliant and check-in was dead easy. We walked in to our apartment (Clubman Room 1913) to find a kind of small vestibule area, a lovely modern and spotless bathroom, a small bedroom with a good-sized wardrobe with loads of space and an absolutely HUGE living area with a kitchen/dining area at the top. The floor-to-ceiling windows across the whole outside wall of the apartment made for an amazing view as I said, though being scared of heights I was horrified to find that the windows opened - safely, needless to say!

The whole apartment had a very contemporary feel to it. All the walls were white except for one feature wall in grey which matched the flooring. The huge 60s/70s prints on the wall gave the place a very original look! I loved it and instantly thought this was a place I'd happily live in.

The apartment had a big flat-screen TV/DVD, a Mac and free WiFi! (Yup free - take note you big-brand hotels who charge through the nose for WiFi!). Staying Cool even provide Dorset Cereals for breakfast, fresh oranges for the juicer and fresh coffee for the Gaggia.

The only negatives - the dishwasher didn't work and was a tad grubby and the sofa wasn't particularly comfy for chilling out & watching dvds. I thought it was just me as I have a broken rib at the moment and am finding it difficult getting comfortable. But even Mr. C said he found it a bit uncomfy and more style over comfort. Still it's got to be said, it did look good!

I loved it and we will return!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KathrynCrawford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 4 July 2012

Hello Kathryn Crawford

Thank you for posting such a great and detailed review which I'm sure other readers will find immensely helpful. Our reception staff are indeed brilliant and you are right, the location is so convenient, for business and pleasure.

I'm sorry the dishwasher didn't work and was therefore a bit unloved. We're on the case!

Similarly, I'm sorry you didn't want to leave - you will have to stay longer next time!

Best wishes
Tracey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (966)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

788 - 794 of 966 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2012

Staying 20 floors up above the city centre is incredible. We felt we were in a movie with the night skyline, all of the best bits of Birmingham city centre are on your doorstep yet the atmosphere of the apartments is friendly and welcoming.

Room Tip: All rooms are great, the balconies on the top floor just add something extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jt2303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 4 July 2012

Hello jt2303

Many thanks for the lovely review. We aim to be friendly and welcoming so it was great to read those words in your post.

Hopefully we will see you again soon.

Best wishes
Tracey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

One of the best hotels Ive ever stayed in. I wanted to stay forever. The penthouse is the best and its right next to the Bullring shopping center so the shopping is good but it is awfully noisy at night. There was some burk using a pneumatic drill at about 3 in the morning. We also had to set up the TV as it hadnt been properly configured and only a couple of boxes of cereal were provided so we had to buy our own groceries and breakfast etc. Staff are very helpful when we needed to find a place and the rooms were definetly top of the range.

Room Tip: Penthouses are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank xFinnx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 2 July 2012

Hello xFinnx

It was lovely to read that the Rotunda is one of the best hotels that you have ever been to and wanted to stay forever. I'm just very sorry that you experienced noise in the middle of the night. This was due to nearby roadworks taking place during the quiet of the early hours.

I'm not sure what happened with the TV as they were all set up on installation and we check them in between guest stays. Would you mind getting in touch with us directly so that we can take a look into it for the benefit of future guests?

We supply complimentary Dorset Cereals to all guests, as well as oranges for the juicer and teas and fresh coffee and then have a short breakfast menu that guests can order from too. We are always open to suggestions about how we can improve our services so please do let us know what else you would have preferred to have received instead.

Thanks xFinnx, I hope we get to see you again very soon for a perfect night's sleep.

Best wishes
Tracey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

The phenomenal views over the city centre, from our penthouse apartment, will not be forgotten in a hurry. The effort that has been put into creating such a stylish and unique space is clear to see, and sets Staying Cool in a league of its own. Friendly and helpful staff that are readily available only adds to a truly fantastic experience. If you are looking to stay in Birmingham, don’t look anywhere else!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoshCowey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 26 June 2012

HI JoshCowey

What a lovely review - it brought a broad smile to everyone's faces here. Those views are amazing indeed. Hopefully we will see you again very soon.

Best wishes
Tracey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

Title says it all.

Stayed in room 2001, one of the 20th floor penthouses.

The best serviced apartment I have ever stayed.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Explosivo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 2 July 2012

Hello Explosivo

Many thanks for your kind words. I hope we see you again very soon.

Best wishes

Tracey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

Loved every minute of my stay in the penthouse suite at the Rotunda, an experience I will not be forgetting for a while. Staying in a luxury apartment, within an iconic building, with breath-taking views that span over an exciting city – what more could you ask for.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eleanor E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 2 July 2012

Hello Eleanor E

We were all delighted to read your review and that you enjoyed every minute of your stay in the Penthouse. We hope to see you very soon.

Best wishes
Tracey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

Stayed in a Penthouse suite on the 20th floor in a 2 bed-room appartment, with family, mother, kid. Full self-catering facilities, various provisions provided, including a fun pack for the kid.
Clean, well serviced on demand, helpful staff. Modern design, great views, bad weather.
Bang in the middle of B/ham shopping, across from the Bullring. Close enough to the Ballroom to sneak out to a gig without anyone noticing.
Invited 20 people up for an afternoon birthday party, without problems. Anybody renting the Penthouse is doing if for an "Occasion" so expect parties, which can mean noise.

Downside : Terrace experience blown away by the Birmingham weather, but, hey, what do you expect ? Noisy neighbours partied down late into the small hours until management managed to throw them out. Outside hall and lift noise reverberated through the appartment. Some wear n tear showing and requiring attention. Nothing serious.

Room Tip: Penthouse worth it for a special occasion.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank poulto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 2 July 2012

Hello Poulto

We were quite taken aback when we read the part of your review that says that the penthouse apartments are only used for occasions and parties and that you managed to get 20 people upstairs in the afternoon for your own celebration! Like most hotels, we go out of our way to discourage partying and anti-social behaviour, especially at weekends and deal with the odd breach swiftly, as you point out.

Most of our Penthouse guests are couples or families who are here for a city break or because they are going to a wedding or other event elsewhere in the city.

Best wishes
Tracey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 118 in Birmingham
3,201 reviews
Clayton Hotel Birmingham
#9 of 118 in Birmingham
2,524 reviews
Ladywood
Malmaison Birmingham
Malmaison Birmingham
#22 of 118 in Birmingham
2,379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
#2 of 118 in Birmingham
903 reviews
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#21 of 118 in Birmingham
4,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staying Cool at the Rotunda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staying Cool at the Rotunda

Address: 150 New Street, Birmingham B2 4PA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#1 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#2 Green Hotel in Birmingham
#2 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#4 Family Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: £92 - £293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Staying Cool at the Rotunda 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the top of the city's iconic Rotunda and enjoy amazing views of the city from your very own beautifully designed apartment right in the heart of the city centre (Selfridges will be your corner shop). Each apartment has floor-to-ceiling glass windows that open fully and the Penthouses have their own outdoor balconies. These stylish apartments have been designed with your maximum comfort in mind. Each comes with bespoke designer furniture, a very well-equipped Poggenpohl kitchen, espresso maker with complimentary locally sourced milk and Illy or Fairtrade coffee, oranges for the juicer, iPod dock, plus a king size bed with pocket sprung/memory foam mattress for the very best night's sleep. There's a 24 hour reception plus daytime/evening concierge offering Staying Cool's renowned service. Choose from Minis (studios), Clubmans (one beds), Maxis (two beds) and Roadsters (two bed Penthouses). And if you don't like heights, we have two apartments on level two (the Olympian and Cabriolet). In short, stay in the best location, in an award winning Grade II listed building and experience life like a local. If you book via Staying Cool's website then you will get a complimentary bottle of wine or free parking and the guaranteed cheapest rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Staying Cool at the Rotunda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staying Cool At The Rotunda Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing