We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
Reviews (1,025)
Filter reviews
1,025 results
Traveller rating
774
173
46
15
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
774
173
46
15
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe penthousesky tvmini apartmentfloor to ceiling windowsmilk in the fridgeclubman apartmenticonic buildingelectric juicerespresso machineipod dockbull ringmemory foamliving areathese apartmentsserviced apartmentlovely apartmentlittle touches
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
831 - 836 of 1,025 reviews
Reviewed 27 July 2012

Great location just a few minutes walk from New Street Station and if you have the 2nd floor cabriolet apartment you get access to a massive outdoor garden area with a great view over the city centre and makes a good sunbathing spot (on a rare sunny day!). There are shops, bars, restaurants and late night supermarkets within short walking distance nearby. 

The concierge on arrival was lovely and very helpful (hotel and local info) and made you feel really welcome and you get welcome texts and emails before you arrive so the customer service was outstanding. 

The cabriolet was a very smartly designed apartment with lots of gadgets and gizmos to play with including Sky TV, Apple wireless keypad and mini-Mac, and a fully fitted out kitchen with everything you could possible ever need to use including espresso maker, juicer (with complimentary oranges in the fridge which I unfortunately did not discover until I was leaving), fridge, ice tray, cutlery, crockery and glassware. There was also complimentary milk, muesli, tea and coffee (so I am glad I didn't order breakfast as this was more than enough for me). 

The bathroom was spotless with a hot and powerful 'rain' shower (albeit positioned a bit high up for me). The bath products were lovely and the bath robes and towels were all clean and fresh (could have been a bit softer but certainly acceptable).

My only gripe is that parts of the apartment were just a little bit grubby (marks on the carpet and some of the walls, some hairs behind the door in the bathroom, dust on the wooden floors in the corners). However, overall it more than deserves it's 4 star rating and is a good shout for a short trip to Birmingham, particularly if you manage to get it on a work jolly.

Far more cool than a Premier Inn! 

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Penny_Trayner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TraceyStayingCool, Owner at Staying Cool at the Rotunda, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2012

Hi Manic_organic

It’s great to hear you enjoyed your stay and the in-apartment facilities although we were very sorry to hear you encountered some problems.

We are about two thirds of the way through a major maintenance and repair programme and we are addressing the issues you raised, including replacing the rug.

You clearly love the gadgetry as much as we do and it was lovely to hear that our Guest Relations team were so helpful - they are great.

Many thanks for taking the time to feed back on your stay and we hope will achieve a 5 star review on your next visit when you must try the juicer - nothing beats freshly squeezed OJ in the morning.

Best wishes
Tracey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

I have stayed in the rotunda on many occasions and it has never failed to impress. The rooms are stylish with everything you could need, with views of Birmingham that are second to none. The staff are the friendliest people you could hope to meet who are always willing to go the extra mile to make your stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. I cannot recommend staying cool highly enough.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gracelightfoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TraceyStayingCool, Owner at Staying Cool at the Rotunda, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2012

Hi Grace,

Thank you for your lovely review, your comments are delightful. The team will be so pleased you had such an amazing stay.

Best Wishes,
Tracey.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Where to begin, the whole experience was amazing. From the helpful staff to the gorgeous balcony view. The staff went out of their way to ensure we had a pleasant night and accomodated our every need. The room was stylish and contemporary and the balcony view onto the bullring was perfect. I would highly reccommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sak A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TraceyStayingCool, Guest Relations Manager at Staying Cool at the Rotunda, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2012

Dear SakA_12

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review - and such a lovely one at that. Your recommendation is much appreciated. The view over the Bullring and St Martin’s church is indeed a sight to behold. Next time you will have to try an apartment facing the Mailbox and BT tower - it is a particular fabvourite of mine.

It is lovely to hear you found the team to be helpful and you enjoyed the decor of the apartment. We look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Best wishes
Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

Your STAYING won't get any COOLer than Rotunda if in Birmingham!!! Best views, top service, stylish funky accomodation with all mod cons and great little touches! I felt at home the second I stepped in and didn't want to leave. Everything has been thought through with attention to detail (and it's eco-friendly too!) Superb location, secure building, friendly helpful staff... Cannot fault it! Will definitely go back & recommend to friends/family!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elena Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TraceyStayingCool, Owner at Staying Cool at the Rotunda, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2012

Hello Elena Z

What a lovely summary of your stay - thank you. We spend a lot of time thinking about what we are going to put in each apartment and only appoint people who have friendliness and helpfulness in their DNA so it was a joy to read your review. Until next time.

Best wishes
Tracey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2012

After reading the reviews I was very excited about spending a night at the Rotunda. However it seems I must be extremely unlucky as the reality was nothing like the reviews. After confusing directions curtesy of the hotel reception staff and being left standing outside despite knowledge we were coming ... a total of 4 phone calls finally solving all this we finally got into our room. I was disappointed to find the finishes looking very tired and the bathroom with mold on the tiles. All of this would have been ok but the fact that I did not sleep as the room got so hot was the final straw. There is no air-conditioning and opening the window was no option because of the outside noises! All in all quite a disappointment!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Beck M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TraceyStayingCool, Owner at Staying Cool at the Rotunda, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2012

Hello Beck M

We are really sorry to read that your stay didn’t live up to either your or our expectations. We can't locate you on the booking system and I would really like to find out more about what went wrong with your arrival. We don't get many lost guests but it might be helpful for the benefit of future guests.

The only reason I can offer, without knowing more about your arrival, is that the team member in question was helping another guest on an upper floor or that Security were undertaking a patrol. We can only apologise for the wait you experienced.

We are currently undergoing a maintenance programme including re grouting all bathrooms. Over 50% of our apartments have now been completed. We had been relying on external contractors but after several let downs, we have employed our own maintenance team member - the lovely Mannie - who is redecorating as I type.

I'm also sorry that you didn't sleep too well. Normally guests are raving about what a good night's sleep they have had here - with or without the windows open.

Please do get in touch with us if you have the time so we can investigate your arrival issues more thoroughly. Finally, we are very sorry and disappointed that you didn't have the stay that you expected.

Best wishes
Tracey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews