We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always in Birmingham, Always at Staying Cool...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Staying Cool at the Rotunda

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
Ranked #1 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Always in Birmingham, Always at Staying Cool...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2012

Staying Cool is a fantastic place to stay. Their apartments are brilliantly equipped, stylishly modern, a home from home. They're great at fitting me in short notice. Would stay here for business or pleasure, it has everything you need. Always in Birmingham, Always at Staying Cool.

Room Tip: The Penthouse is worth a visit - amazing views and a huuuuge room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Freya D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TraceyStayingCool, Owner at Staying Cool at the Rotunda, responded to this review, 3 October 2012
Hi Freya,

It is always great to get a review from one of our regular guests, especially such a lovely one. Thank you, we can't wait to see you again.

Best Wishes,
Tracey.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

887 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    664
    158
    40
    10
    15
See reviews for
113
396
44
155
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
liverpool
Level Contributor
38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2012

This place ticks all the boxes,great veiws,lovely apts,super staff on hand.coul,dnt fault anything. special thanks to Simon at reception for being so helpful,(management take note this guy is so much a credit to your company and i we think he deserves a mention).also the lady who seems to be in charge (sorry didnt get her name) was equally as welcoming and pleasant. thankyou to all at Rotunda Birmingham for such a nice stay.

Room Tip: we stayed on 19 floor mini apt and found it great,but probably all apts would be ok.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cards091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2012

I'm always fussy when it comes to hotels. Always trying to find the combination of the best location, service and facilities. The Rotunda apartments are amazing! Firstly, we stayed in a Mini room on the 17th floor. The first thing that hits you as you walk in is the totally fantastic view though the floor to wall glass doors. You can see the whole of Birmingham and I could stand there watching it all day! The Rotunda is on the doorstep of the Bullring shopping centre and you couldn't ask for a better place for shopping, eating and drinking.
The facilities in the room are quite basic, but stylish. The important things such as the bed, kitchen and bathroom are perfect, sparkling clean and well equipped. I'd liked to have seen a larger TV but the time we spent in the room didn't really make it a problem.
All in all I would give this place 5*. I'm hoping to go back and spend my 40th birthday in the penthouse on the 20th floor. Crossing ym fingers for a discount :))

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CTDOBSON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TraceyStayingCool, Owner at Staying Cool at the Rotunda, responded to this review, 3 October 2012
Hi Colin,

Thank you for your fabulous review and for rebooking for your 40th, we are more than happy to offer you a complimentary upgrade if there is a larger apartment available on the day- maybe even one of the penthouses.

The views from the 'top of the tower' are indeed a wonderful way to pass time, thank you for the lovely photos of them.

See you very soon,
Tracey.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2012

Had an amzing stay at the Rotunda... Dany was very helpful & make our check in that extra bit easy & stressfree. I would stay at the Rotunda over a hotel anyday, the views from the rooms are amazing & defo worth seeing. Thanks for all your help & defo will be seeing you soon.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Harjit S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TraceyStayingCool, Owner at Staying Cool at the Rotunda, responded to this review, 3 October 2012
Hi Harjit,

We are delighted that you loved the views and that your found our check-in to be more relaxed than any other- thanks to Danny's charm.

We hope to see you again soon.

Best Wishes,
Tracey.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2012

Great location just a few minutes walk from New Street Station and if you have the 2nd floor cabriolet apartment you get access to a massive outdoor garden area with a great view over the city centre and makes a good sunbathing spot (on a rare sunny day!). There are shops, bars, restaurants and late night supermarkets within short walking distance nearby. 

The concierge on arrival was lovely and very helpful (hotel and local info) and made you feel really welcome and you get welcome texts and emails before you arrive so the customer service was outstanding. 

The cabriolet was a very smartly designed apartment with lots of gadgets and gizmos to play with including Sky TV, Apple wireless keypad and mini-Mac, and a fully fitted out kitchen with everything you could possible ever need to use including espresso maker, juicer (with complimentary oranges in the fridge which I unfortunately did not discover until I was leaving), fridge, ice tray, cutlery, crockery and glassware. There was also complimentary milk, muesli, tea and coffee (so I am glad I didn't order breakfast as this was more than enough for me). 

The bathroom was spotless with a hot and powerful 'rain' shower (albeit positioned a bit high up for me). The bath products were lovely and the bath robes and towels were all clean and fresh (could have been a bit softer but certainly acceptable).

My only gripe is that parts of the apartment were just a little bit grubby (marks on the carpet and some of the walls, some hairs behind the door in the bathroom, dust on the wooden floors in the corners). However, overall it more than deserves it's 4 star rating and is a good shout for a short trip to Birmingham, particularly if you manage to get it on a work jolly.

Far more cool than a Premier Inn! 

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Penny_Trayner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TraceyStayingCool, Owner at Staying Cool at the Rotunda, responded to this review, 16 August 2012
Hi Manic_organic

It’s great to hear you enjoyed your stay and the in-apartment facilities although we were very sorry to hear you encountered some problems.

We are about two thirds of the way through a major maintenance and repair programme and we are addressing the issues you raised, including replacing the rug.

You clearly love the gadgetry as much as we do and it was lovely to hear that our Guest Relations team were so helpful - they are great.

Many thanks for taking the time to feed back on your stay and we hope will achieve a 5 star review on your next visit when you must try the juicer - nothing beats freshly squeezed OJ in the morning.

Best wishes
Tracey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

I have stayed in the rotunda on many occasions and it has never failed to impress. The rooms are stylish with everything you could need, with views of Birmingham that are second to none. The staff are the friendliest people you could hope to meet who are always willing to go the extra mile to make your stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. I cannot recommend staying cool highly enough.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gracelightfoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TraceyStayingCool, Owner at Staying Cool at the Rotunda, responded to this review, 3 October 2012
Hi Grace,

Thank you for your lovely review, your comments are delightful. The team will be so pleased you had such an amazing stay.

Best Wishes,
Tracey.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

Where to begin, the whole experience was amazing. From the helpful staff to the gorgeous balcony view. The staff went out of their way to ensure we had a pleasant night and accomodated our every need. The room was stylish and contemporary and the balcony view onto the bullring was perfect. I would highly reccommend it.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sak A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TraceyStayingCool, Guest Relations Manager at Staying Cool at the Rotunda, responded to this review, 16 August 2012
Dear SakA_12

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review - and such a lovely one at that. Your recommendation is much appreciated. The view over the Bullring and St Martin’s church is indeed a sight to behold. Next time you will have to try an apartment facing the Mailbox and BT tower - it is a particular fabvourite of mine.

It is lovely to hear you found the team to be helpful and you enjoyed the decor of the apartment. We look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Best wishes
Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#6 of 117 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,752 reviews
Hotel La Tour
#10 of 117 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,286 reviews
Ladywood
Malmaison Birmingham
Malmaison Birmingham
#23 of 117 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Ladywood
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
#3 of 117 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
Genting Hotel
#5 of 117 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staying Cool at the Rotunda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staying Cool at the Rotunda

Property: Staying Cool at the Rotunda
Address: 150 New Street, Birmingham B2 4PA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#1 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#1 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#2 Green Hotel in Birmingham
#4 Family Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Staying Cool at the Rotunda 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the top of the city's iconic Rotunda and enjoy amazing views of the city from your very own beautifully designed apartment right in the heart of the city centre (Selfridges will be your corner shop). Each apartment has floor-to-ceiling glass windows that open fully and the Penthouses have their own outdoor balconies. These stylish apartments have been designed with your maximum comfort in mind. Each comes with bespoke designer furniture, a very well-equipped Poggenpohl kitchen, espresso maker with complimentary locally sourced milk and Illy or Fairtrade coffee, oranges for the juicer, iPod dock, plus a king size bed with pocket sprung/memory foam mattress for the very best night's sleep. There's a 24 hour reception plus daytime/evening concierge offering Staying Cool's renowned service. Choose from Minis (studios), Clubmans (one beds), Maxis (two beds) and Roadsters (two bed Penthouses). And if you don't like heights, we have two apartments on level two (the Olympian and Cabriolet). In short, stay in the best location, in an award winning Grade II listed building and experience life like a local. If you book via Staying Cool's website then you will get a complimentary bottle of wine or free parking and the guaranteed cheapest rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Staying Cool at the Rotunda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staying Cool At The Rotunda Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing