We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very cool indeed.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
Ranked #1 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 12 November 2012

The reception by the staff was excellent and helpful, and the apartment was a joy. The views from the apartment are stunning. I just wish I could have spent a week there; I certainly intend to return in the future.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yarnsplicer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TraceyStayingCool, Owner at Staying Cool at the Rotunda, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2012

Hello Yarnsplicer

We were all delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much that you want to return for longer next time. We very much look forward to looking after you again.

Best wishes
Tracey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (943)
There are newer reviews for Staying Cool at the Rotunda
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

705 - 711 of 943 reviews

Reviewed 9 November 2012

Just spent over 2 months living at the Rotunda. Highly rate a stay here long or short. The accommodation, amenities and the area are all top notch. Huge thanks to Danny and the staff for their immaculate help.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TraceyStayingCool, Owner at Staying Cool at the Rotunda, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2012

Hello Julian D

Many thanks for posting your review. I have passed your comments onto Danny and the rest of the Staying Cool team. You were not quite our longest ever guest but not far off! (Most of our guests stay one or two nights.) Hopefully we will see you again if business brings you back to Birmingham again.

Best wishes
Tracey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

The flexibility offered by one of these superb serviced apartments is heads and shoulders above that offered by a hotel.The flexibility offered by one of these superb serviced apartments is heads and shoulders above that offered by a hotel.

Room Tip: Leave the curtains open at night to experience the amazing panorama.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MisterG223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TraceyStayingCool, Owner at Staying Cool at the Rotunda, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2012

Hello MisterG223

Many thanks for posting your review and for saying how flexible our accommodation is. I really like your picture of St Martin's. So many of our guests say that they sleep with the curtains open so they can catch the sunrise - it can be quite mesmerising.

We very much look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Best wishes

Tracey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2012

Stayed one night in the "Mini". Very impressed.

Location is perfect - right by the newly(ish) spruced-up Bull Ring. Staff (Danny) super friendly and super helpful. Apartment really nicely done. Great furnishings, Mac Mini (working fine), good kitchen. Fabulous view from the 19th floor.

One observation - the noise from the air con system on the roof of the Bull Ring means you can't really keep the huge sliding window open cos it sounds like you're sat next to the runway of an airport. Good double glazing so you can't hear it with windows closed, but would have annoyed me that I couldn't keep it open if I was there in the summer. If they have any apartments on the other side of the building, I'd recommend asking for them.

£150 / night is punchy for BHam - but worth it for the view, location and ambiance of the apartment, in my opinion. Would stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on opposite side of building to the Bull Ring (if they have any)
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve_London_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TraceyStayingCool, Owner at Staying Cool at the Rotunda, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2012

Hello Steve_London-UK

We were all delighted to read that you thought your stay in a Mini was ideal and I have passed on your very kind comments to Danny and the team.

The sound proofing is indeed excellent, thank you. We have apartments all the way around the building so guests can choose which view they prefer. Many of our regular guests try each apartment in turn and then pick their favourite view - as many choose the Bullring as don't! We will pick up the point you raise about the air con with Bullring too.

Picking up on your point about price for the benefit of future guests, if you can be flexible around dates, then stay on a Sunday and/or Monday night. We offer a great Alternative Weekend package which is both cheaper than Friday and Saturday nights and the rate includes a bottle of complimentary champagne.

We very much hope to see you again at Rotunda soon and thanks for taking the time to write your review.

Best wishes
Tracey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2012

Perfect location for shopping and dining. Loved our huge garden with the life size bull sculpture. Would recommend to anyone. Kitchen has everything you need, WIFI and Sky TV was a lovely bonus. Can't wait to visit Birmingham again, will not consider staying anywhere but here!

Room Tip: If you're a smoker maybe you would appreciate the Clubman Cabriolet on the 2nd floor. Huge outdo...
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TraceyStayingCool, Owner at Staying Cool at the Rotunda, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2012

Hello Katie H

Many thanks for posting the review - we are delighted you found us too.

You stayed in our Clubman Cabriolet apartment which is the only apartment we have on the lower floors. As you say, what it lacks in cityscape views, it makes up for with the large outdoor area, not to mention Daisy (the life size cow).

We very much look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Best wishes
Tracey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012

We stayed in a mini apartment on the 18th floor for 2 nights. A warm welcome awaited us and were very pleased with the room and facilities. The views are fantastic and the room quiet and very comfortable. There are quality features such as juicer, coffee machine, I Pod doc, bath robes and range of toiletries. A few minutes walk away are the Bull Ring shops, several restaurants. I recommend a visit to the city art gallery and Victorian arcades.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hendrix35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TraceyStayingCool, Owner at Staying Cool at the Rotunda, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2012

Hello Hendrix35

Many thanks for posting such a great review about your stay in our studio (Mini) apartment. We were all very pleased that you had such a good time. Hopefully we will see you again very soon.

Best wishes
Tracey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2012

Brilliant substitute for the Malmaison and works out much, much better value. Our company has taken the penthouse and 3 x 2 bed apartments for 4 days when attending an annual trade show at the NEC, for the last 3 years running. 5 mins walk to New Street rail station, then 10 mins fast train to NEC. Perfect base to chill in the evening or entertain clients in the penthouse in uber cool surroundings with great views. Staff super helpful.

Room Tip: penthouse is a must!
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TraceyStayingCool, Owner at Staying Cool at the Rotunda, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2012

Hello Tony S

It is always a pleasure to host you and your colleagues for your annual trip to the NEC.

For the benefit of other travellers there (exhibitors and visitors alike) we offer a "NEC VIP" service. This includes the advance purchase of all your train tickets to and from the NEC (you are not restricted to any particular train) so you don't have to waste time queuing each day. You get to stay in the city with all its great restaurants and bars and then spend just 15 minutes travelling to the NEC in the morning.

Many thanks for posting the review. We very much look forward to seeing you all again next year.

Best wishes
Tracey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 118 in Birmingham
3,089 reviews
Hotel La Tour
#8 of 118 in Birmingham
2,481 reviews
Ladywood
Malmaison Birmingham
Malmaison Birmingham
#20 of 118 in Birmingham
2,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Ladywood
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
#2 of 118 in Birmingham
884 reviews
Genting Hotel
#5 of 118 in Birmingham
1,725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staying Cool at the Rotunda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staying Cool at the Rotunda

Address: 150 New Street, Birmingham B2 4PA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#1 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#2 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#2 Green Hotel in Birmingham
#4 Family Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: £86 - £270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Staying Cool at the Rotunda 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the top of the city's iconic Rotunda and enjoy amazing views of the city from your very own beautifully designed apartment right in the heart of the city centre (Selfridges will be your corner shop). Each apartment has floor-to-ceiling glass windows that open fully and the Penthouses have their own outdoor balconies. These stylish apartments have been designed with your maximum comfort in mind. Each comes with bespoke designer furniture, a very well-equipped Poggenpohl kitchen, espresso maker with complimentary locally sourced milk and Illy or Fairtrade coffee, oranges for the juicer, iPod dock, plus a king size bed with pocket sprung/memory foam mattress for the very best night's sleep. There's a 24 hour reception plus daytime/evening concierge offering Staying Cool's renowned service. Choose from Minis (studios), Clubmans (one beds), Maxis (two beds) and Roadsters (two bed Penthouses). And if you don't like heights, we have two apartments on level two (the Olympian and Cabriolet). In short, stay in the best location, in an award winning Grade II listed building and experience life like a local. If you book via Staying Cool's website then you will get a complimentary bottle of wine or free parking and the guaranteed cheapest rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Staying Cool at the Rotunda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staying Cool At The Rotunda Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing