We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dishonoured booking through Late Rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
Ranked #1 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We booked two nights at the hotel through Late Rooms. A hotel representative rang the next day to say that it would not honour the booking for the second night. We had made other arrangements on the strength of being able to stay there for two nights.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
5  Thank Jonathan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StayingCool_Rotunda, General Manager at Staying Cool at the Rotunda, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2013

From Kim Richards - General Manager

Hi Jonathan E

We are very sorry that we were unable to accommodate both nights of your stay.

Unfortunately we had a direct booking come through during the evening and as these are live bookings, this took the last remaining apartment for the second night.

Third party bookings are not live, so they don't get allocated straight on to our booking system. We are currently researching a new system that will allocate all booking directly.

We are sorry for any inconvenience this caused you and have emailed you directly about this. Best Wishes
Kim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (952)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

594 - 600 of 952 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2013

We were treated to a break here and given a gift voucher to redeem. As a result we booked over the phone via the company and paid the full rate plus extra as we decided that we wanted to stay in the Clubman apartment. This had outside space, and as we were staying there in July, we hoped for good weather. We were fortunate that the weather was fabulous, so I felt that we had booked wisely.
On checking in, after some initial confusion about the booking and an initial insistence by the receptionist that they had no knowledge of the (already paid for voucher), I was told we were given a complementary upgrade. When I enquired as to whether the upgrade had a balcony, I was told it didn't. I requested the original apartment pointing out that we would be wanting to benefit from the use of the terrace. Initially the young woman seemed unsure if this was still available. Luckily it was.
My first impression was that although the internal design was great, the colour scheme, black floors and white walls in the bedroom consequently resulted in marks,stains and wear and tear being more apparent. However in general, the facilities in the apartment were great and my first impressions were good.
The outside space was absolutely huge, but again the exterior walls and the novelty bull(!) were really quite dirty which marred the overall affect. This in itself wasn't a massive issue. However what was an issue was that the astroturf was littered with used cigarette butts and an empty cigarette packet. When I went back down to reception to request that this be dealt with, the receptionist stated that it wasn't her job and that the cleaning staff had left for the day so it would not be cleaned until the following day. Moreover she stated that the litter was more than likely caused by the residents of the building in the apartments on the upper floors and it was therefore not their responsibility. I had to then have an argument with her until she finally agreed to do it. Maybe I am being unreasonable but when the weekend rate is £379, I didn't think this was being too demanding.
Generally though we really liked the vibe of this apartment, the location was excellent and the extra's such as the bathrobes, luxury toiletries and basics in the kitchen were great but there were too many customer service issues that couldn't justify the rate that the website charges. Had it not been for the problems when we checked in, this would have received 4 stars but when basic cleaning hasn't been done and I have to have an argument in order to ensure that it is, that is really not good enough.

Room Tip: The Clubman has great outside space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DonnaMFriendly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StayingCool_Rotunda, General Manager at Staying Cool at the Rotunda, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2013

From Kim Richards - General Manager

Hi DonnaMFriendly

Thanks for taking the time to feedback on your stay with us. Firstly please accept my apologies for the confusion upon check in with your voucher and apartment choice, completely down to human error there wasn't a note on your booking to say that you specifically wanted our Clubman with the terrace. The team member you dealt with at reception is our newest member to the Staying Cool team and as you will see from previous comments, a lot of our guests do like to be upgraded.

Our second floor apartment is the only one out of the collection that doesn't have a carpet and I agree, this can sometimes cause scratches, we are currently awaiting delivery of two large rugs for the apartment to stop this from happening.

I have spoken to the Building Manager about the vents and the Bull outside, the vents get cleaned every 12 months although, I know this isn't enough with all of the works going on in Birmingham - hopefully we will have a better solution shortly.

The terraced area does get cleaned on a daily basis although we can be subjected to litter from other apartments, we have mentioned this on numerous occasions to the Building Management and although letters have been sent to residents, we are still finding this a bit of an issue. That said, as soon as this was reported to reception, we should have been straight up to the apartment to clear the litter away. I am very sorry that you felt you had to argue for the issue to be resolved, this really isn't the Staying Cool way.

We're all really disappointed as we usually get rave reviews about our Guest Relations team and this is quite out of the ordinary. To stop this issue from arising again we now have larger cross over periods with our team so that there is another person on hand for an extra three hours during busy times and weekends - I am just sorry that this wasn't in place during your visit.

I can tell that overall you did want to like us, it is just a real shame that we let you down on a few things. We do hope that you come and stay with us again so that we can show you how we can get it right.

Best wishes
Kim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Firstly as some other posters have alluded to the staff in these apartments are brilliant. I cannot fault the levels of service and thoughtfulness of the staff. It was a birthday surprise and we had a card in the room and an upgrade which was lovely of them. The location is perfect if it's a shopping trip, you are at the entrance to the bullring and minutes from New Street Station. There were so many small touches that made the experience special. The apartment itself (a clubman) was sizeable and of course had wide ranging views with a walk through bedroom and bathroom, the bedroom can be closed off so when you close the curtains it is nice and dark. The apartment itself was the entire reason it's not a five star rating. I didn't go around photographing the little problems but there were a few, I've never understood what satisfaction is gained by spending what is meant to be a celebration taking close-ups of bath sealant and plug sockets.
Anyway, the kitchen was great, well stocked, free coffee, milk and oranges to make fresh juice, greatly appreciated. The living area was large and of course with floor to ceiling windows, bright and airy. The free wi-fi works a treat and the IT set-up is well thought out. The bedroom is small but with all the other room you have that hardly matters. The bed itself was very comfortable and sleep was fairly sound although the room is a little on the warm side. Due to the proximity of this particular room to the station you can't leave the window open overnight really. You can clearly hear the announcements with the windows closed so if you sleep lightly it's not going to be option, we left it open until we went to sleep.
There are a few scratches, stains and scrapes all around the apartment but nothing dramatic.
The real problems were in the bathroom. It's a lovely design with gorgeous toiletries, big fluffy towels and a large bath and monsoon shower, all good until you use them. The sink when filled seemed to take about 3 minutes to empty, strangely it was leaking all over the floor. We both used the bath once and within minutes of getting out the carpet in the bedroom(but not the bathroom floor) was getting soaked through, which might also explain why the carpet was coming away in the bedroom. We had to put towels over it as it was so wet and it spread over about 3 feet of the carpet, as the bedroom is quite small you can't really avoid it either so we were squelching through it for the duration. This didn't happen with the shower though so there is a plumbing problem probably associated with the overflow. The staff have advised me that it is already being looked at so they are clearly reactive which is good.
Having pointed out the negative points (and feeling a little bit guilty for doing so) I understand why Staying Cool is so highly regarded, it is made very enjoyable by the 2 guys Danny and Simon and also the other friendly staff we encountered. I hope the managers/owners of the place appreciate what they have as I said at the beginning, it's the staff that make this place special. We would recommend this as a base to friends and family and will return next time we're in Brum.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 806AlexGray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StayingCool_Rotunda, General Manager at Staying Cool at the Rotunda, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2013

From Kim Richards - General Manager

Hi 806AlexGray

We are really happy that you had so many lovely things to say about your apartment and that you got to enjoy the views and special Staying Cool touches.

Both Danny and Simon thank you for your very lovely comment.

We are extremely sorry about the issue you had with the sink and the bath tub, as soon as you made aware of this we had our maintenance team in there to resolve the problem, I believe Simon let you know about this had been actioned.

It seems that the pipe underneath the sink had been knocked and come loose, the same with the bath tub pipe work, this can happen as the plug is attached to the pipework.

If we had known sooner we would have moved you to another apartment or at least got the problem fixed so that you weren't subjected to standing on the wet carpet. We are really sorry for any inconvenience this caused during your stay.

We are so pleased that despite this happening, you will be returning when you are next in Birmingham, we look forward to welcoming you and your family and friends to Staying Cool.

Best Wishes
Kim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Fantastic idea for a girl's weekend - everything just outside your door and luxury inside. Best to go for more than one night as there is too much choice. Brilliant value for money in comparison to a hotel.

Room Tip: Book the penthouse if you can. Spectacular views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StayingCool_Rotunda, General Manager at Staying Cool at the Rotunda, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2013

From Kim Richards - General Manager

Hi Helen D

Thanks for your kind words, we are really pleased that you had a fantastic time. It really is great to have everything just on your doorstep, even if i am slightly biased.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay and do let us know if you need any suggestions on things to see and do.

Best Wishes Kim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

A great place to stay when on business in Brum. Good free wifi and like all the gadgets like fresh orange juice squeezer, espresso machine etc. Stylish, clean and comfortable. Couldn't close the wow factor windows though, so a bit of hum from the Bullring air conditioners.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TJS1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StayingCool_Rotunda, General Manager at Staying Cool at the Rotunda, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

From Kim Richards - General Manager

Hi TJS1969

Thank you for the lovely feedback. We look after lots of business travellers and try our best to provide that home-away-from-away feel.

Sorry you had a problem with the window, if you come back again and have trouble with anything in the apartment do let us know and we'll come up and sort it for you.

If you're here on business or leisure again, we love to have you stay again. Don't forget to use your repeat guest code for a 10% discount.

With best wishes
Kim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Stayed here in the penthouses and studio apartments and highly recommend, so much so that I keep thinking about rebooking, great service and location, highly highly recommend!,,,, you will feel like a king and enjoy the view over Birmingham city

Room Tip: Room 2001 great view and large penthouse
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chrisejones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StayingCool_Rotunda, General Manager at Staying Cool at the Rotunda, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

From Kim Richards - General Manager

Hi Chrisejones

We really appreciate you taking the time to leave your feedback.

Now you've tried the Penthouse and the Mini apartments, we'll have to get you into a Clubman and a Maxi next.

I say this a lot, but we too never get bored of those views - day time or evening!

Hope to see you really soon.

Very best wishes
Kim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Booked a 'mini' for one room but it turned into two. Lovely room, very cool and well decorated. LOVED the huge openable windows. Was great chilling out on the sofa looking out over the city.

It was very hot when we arrived and the rooms dont have air con, but 20 mins with the windows open and the room was great. The only problem was the sound from the bullring, i assume it was some kind of air conditioning fans or something. It wasnt that bad though, didnt stop us sleeping even though we had the windows wide open.

Wasnt sure what to think of this place because its not the standard hotel setup and is somewhat of a serviced apartment. However, I think staying cool gave me the best front desk experience ive ever had. Simon was thoroughly nice and friendly and extremely helpful. Huge asset to the company.

Location is amazing and is why we chose it. Station right behind the building, carparks underground all around and, of course, the bullring and town centre area right outside. Lots of restaurants within very easy walking distance.

Will definitely be staying again..and very happy to hear they offer 10% discount on subsequent stays.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thatfatguywhotravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StayingCool_Rotunda, General Manager at Staying Cool at the Rotunda, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

Hi thatfatguywhotravels

Thanks for you great feedback. We're really pleased you chose to extend for another night - one night in Birmingham is never enough!

Simon sends his thanks for your very kind words. It's also great to hear you enjoyed the apartment experience.

Hope to see you soon and don't forget your repeat guest discount code.

Very best wishes
Kim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 118 in Birmingham
3,146 reviews
Hotel La Tour
#8 of 118 in Birmingham
2,508 reviews
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Malmaison Birmingham
Malmaison Birmingham
#22 of 118 in Birmingham
2,344 reviews
Ladywood
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
#2 of 118 in Birmingham
893 reviews
Ladywood
pentahotel Birmingham
pentahotel Birmingham
#14 of 118 in Birmingham
2,553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staying Cool at the Rotunda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staying Cool at the Rotunda

Address: 150 New Street, Birmingham B2 4PA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#1 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#2 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#2 Green Hotel in Birmingham
#4 Family Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: £94 - £247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Staying Cool at the Rotunda 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the top of the city's iconic Rotunda and enjoy amazing views of the city from your very own beautifully designed apartment right in the heart of the city centre (Selfridges will be your corner shop). Each apartment has floor-to-ceiling glass windows that open fully and the Penthouses have their own outdoor balconies. These stylish apartments have been designed with your maximum comfort in mind. Each comes with bespoke designer furniture, a very well-equipped Poggenpohl kitchen, espresso maker with complimentary locally sourced milk and Illy or Fairtrade coffee, oranges for the juicer, iPod dock, plus a king size bed with pocket sprung/memory foam mattress for the very best night's sleep. There's a 24 hour reception plus daytime/evening concierge offering Staying Cool's renowned service. Choose from Minis (studios), Clubmans (one beds), Maxis (two beds) and Roadsters (two bed Penthouses). And if you don't like heights, we have two apartments on level two (the Olympian and Cabriolet). In short, stay in the best location, in an award winning Grade II listed building and experience life like a local. If you book via Staying Cool's website then you will get a complimentary bottle of wine or free parking and the guaranteed cheapest rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Staying Cool at the Rotunda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staying Cool At The Rotunda Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing