We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great 2 Br Spot”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
Ranked #1 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“A Great 2 Br Spot”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We are three Australian Adults traveling by car around parts of the UK. Booked the Rotunda via Agoda and this was our first time in Birmingham. This is a well located and quirky place to stay but happy to recommend. Our room was on the 19th floor with great views across Birmingham (albeit pretty foggy throughout the day). The whole apartment was spotlessly clean and the living/dining/kitchen area was spacious. Beds and pillows were some of the best we have experienced in 2 weeks of travel. Located in the middle of a shopping mall but there is no direct car access ...... so that is a trick even with SATNAV. It cannot direct you onto a pedestrian only walkway ..... we parked at the 'BULLPEN' ...... and it was fairly simple from there. Rates were also reasonable. Give it a try.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StayingCool_Rotunda, Owner at Staying Cool at the Rotunda, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Hello Roger R

We were delighted to host the Midlands leg of your UK tour and I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. The Bullring car park has its own sat nav postcode which we do give in the booking confirmation and directions information but some sat navs seem to have a mind of their own!

Many thanks for recommending us to fellow travellers and we hope to see you again on your next road trip.

Best wishes
Tracey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

918 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    687
    162
    43
    11
    15
See reviews for
118
407
46
159
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
london
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

If your looking for a great hotel in the centre of Birmingham you cant go wrong.
Actually there more like mini apartment with a kitchen ( stocked ) etc.
Its right on top of the bull ring for shops. Nice friendly staff. 2 mins to the train stations.
All in all a great experience

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leigh O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StayingCool_Rotunda, Owner at Staying Cool at the Rotunda, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Hello DocklandsLondon

I'm very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us so much - you can't get much more central than Rotunda!

Do come and stay again.

Best wishes
Tracey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Very impressed with the location and the views from the higher floors. The staff are extremely helpful and friendly, and as a result of an unfortunate first stay where our window's locking mechanism broke late at night and we got little sleep due to the train station conducting alarm tests we were offered a complimentary free stay of a time of our choosing. On both stays our rooms' were functional and clean. My only criticism would be a noticeable leftover smell of cleaning fluid (though my other half who had no such complaint). The complimentary food is of an excellent quality and perfect for those staying a night or two. In addition, I would encourage anyone who chooses Staying Cool to not hesitate in utilising the 24hr concierge service who were very helpful on our second stay (helping us resolve a problem with loud neighbours expediently and effectively). If you are looking for a central location with quality services I would highly recommend Staying Cool.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StayingCool_Rotunda, Owner at Staying Cool at the Rotunda, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Hello Elle C

Many thanks for taking the time to write your review and recommendation. I'm sorry you thought there was a leftover smell of cleaning fluids. We try and use neutral products as much as we can.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best wishes
Tracey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Follow the instructions so that you use the correct carpark and the lobby is just the entrance to the Rotunda. We were greeted by a very friendly and helpful reception. A fabulous floor to ceiling view from the top of the building across miles of the city as you overlook the Bullring. Decor in the basic apartment is plain but comfortable.

Room Tip: Pay extra for the nicer apartments if you want more luxury
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adventurer62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StayingCool_Rotunda, General Manager at Staying Cool at the Rotunda, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Hi Adventurer62

Many thanks for your review, we're really pleased you like the location - we really couldn't be anymore central.

Hope to see you again soon.

Very best wishes
Gavin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

lovely view from floor 19, bed was very comfortable indeed! Self catering equipment was great, nice to have oranges and cereals/milk for breakfast (sachets of instant coffee would have been useful - no time to work out the coffee machine!). Check in/out was very efficient, like the 12 midday check out. TV was small and sounded very 'tinny' - not able to view from your bed though. There were stains on the sofa and a few chips out of the walls - but minor really. The issue I had was with the shower - door is far too small, so water splashes all over the bathroom floor (receptionist stated that it was a problem with the 'mini' apartment so may not be a problem in larger apartments - tad annoying - have to mop up water!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MidlandsMoaner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StayingCool_Rotunda, General Manager at Staying Cool at the Rotunda, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
HI MidlandsMoaner

Many thanks for taking the time to leave your review.

The views never get boring, even looking out over the fog this morning!

Sorry about the shower, we treat them as the bathrooms as wet rooms and are currently sourcing much bigger bath matts so more of the floor is covered.

We have an on-going maintenance programme and I have ensured the team get in to the apartment and look at the issues you picked up.

Many thanks once again and we hope to see you again soon.

Very best wishes
Gavin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Uk
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Great city center location literally outside the Bullring! Our stay wasnt problem free but overall we were very happy and will for sure be returning.
When we checked in we found the reception staff to be quite rude and short in manner, we were however allowed to check in early which was great. Checking in was no problem at all and was done very quickly.
Once in the room we had problems with the Apple TV not working and therefore no internet. This was a problem for us so we reported this immediately, I found the same person on reception to be very rude when learning of the problem! We did however insist on someone coming up and checking it. A lady soon came up and still had no joy in fixing this (she was lovely though and did try hard in getting this resolved).. we found the guy on reception reluctant to check himself, i believe he was also manager for the day which was surprising given his manner. Eventually he agreed to come up himself and he realised it was indeed broken and after refusing a free bottle of wine (we really needed the internet instead) we were moved.
This took over 2 hours to sort all in all but once sorted we were happy with the outcome and the rest of our stay was completely faultless. Great appliances in the room and fab views, we were impressed with the room just a shame all the staff didn't live up to this. Overall wouldn't hesitate in recommending this hotel.

Room Tip: Be sure to report any problems with the room and push the staff to help rectify them, as in our expe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank G_N_07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StayingCool_Rotunda, General Manager at Staying Cool at the Rotunda, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Hi G_N_07

Many thanks for all your kind words following your stay with us last weekend. We are really pleased to hear that you are looking forward to coming back again in the future but we are really sorry that you experienced problems with the Apple computer (this has now been resolved at the repairers) and had an unhappy experience with one of the team.

I emailed you following your feedback on check out after having spoken to the member of staff concerned this morning and he sends his deepest apologies if it felt like he was trying to fob you off. He was just very embarrassed that he was unable to resolve the issue without changing your apartment. Normally the person in question gets great feedback and we pride ourselves on our great guest care so we are very, very sorry.

Sabrina sends her thanks for you kind words. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed the larger apartment (and hopefully the views).

We very much look forward to welcoming you back.

Very best wishes
Gavin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

The rotunda is the only bit of the bullring that wasn't bulldozed in the modern development of birmingham city centre. And what a good decision that was. The tower now serves as lots of lovely apartments and this fantastic hotel (actually serviced apartments).

We were upgraded from Clubman to Maxi with an extra bedroom and bathroom which was a bonus.

The fittings are cool, postmodern, and comfortable. The view is wonderful, across the 3rd city (I am from Manchester, the real second city), and out to the surrounding countryside miles away. The location is great, right at the bottom of New St and from there to the main entertainment zones of the city.

The review could easily have been a 5/5 but for equipment which didn't work. The Apple Mac TV system (a great idea by the way) didn't have a working Spotify account as promised. And the Bose souddock had a broken power supply. So we had no music. And generally, the room is getting close to needing a refresh, with telltale scuff marks here and there.

But even with these minor gripes it is highly recommended. Many readers may be considering the alternative of the Le Tour... we could see this from our bedroom window and while I am sure it is very nice, it is a bit further away from the centre than we needed.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on one of the upper floors to get the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hungry_lurcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StayingCool_Rotunda, Owner at Staying Cool at the Rotunda, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Hello hungry_lurcher

We were delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and your comment about whether Birmingham or Manchester is the second or third city caused a few debates here too!

We are sorry that you had problems listening to music - all the issues have now been resolved but everything should have been sorted ahead of your arrival.

We hope you come back to Birmingham again soon. Try another apartment next time so you get a different view of the city.

Best wishes
Tracey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 117 in Birmingham
2,972 reviews
Hotel La Tour
#10 of 117 in Birmingham
2,410 reviews
Ladywood
Malmaison Birmingham
Malmaison Birmingham
#22 of 117 in Birmingham
2,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
#3 of 117 in Birmingham
871 reviews
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Genting Hotel
#5 of 117 in Birmingham
1,597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staying Cool at the Rotunda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staying Cool at the Rotunda

Property: Staying Cool at the Rotunda
Address: 150 New Street, Birmingham B2 4PA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#1 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#2 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#2 Green Hotel in Birmingham
#4 Family Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Staying Cool at the Rotunda 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the top of the city's iconic Rotunda and enjoy amazing views of the city from your very own beautifully designed apartment right in the heart of the city centre (Selfridges will be your corner shop). Each apartment has floor-to-ceiling glass windows that open fully and the Penthouses have their own outdoor balconies. These stylish apartments have been designed with your maximum comfort in mind. Each comes with bespoke designer furniture, a very well-equipped Poggenpohl kitchen, espresso maker with complimentary locally sourced milk and Illy or Fairtrade coffee, oranges for the juicer, iPod dock, plus a king size bed with pocket sprung/memory foam mattress for the very best night's sleep. There's a 24 hour reception plus daytime/evening concierge offering Staying Cool's renowned service. Choose from Minis (studios), Clubmans (one beds), Maxis (two beds) and Roadsters (two bed Penthouses). And if you don't like heights, we have two apartments on level two (the Olympian and Cabriolet). In short, stay in the best location, in an award winning Grade II listed building and experience life like a local. If you book via Staying Cool's website then you will get a complimentary bottle of wine or free parking and the guaranteed cheapest rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Staying Cool at the Rotunda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staying Cool At The Rotunda Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing