We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good concept, poor execution” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Staying Cool at the Rotunda

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
Ranked #1 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good concept, poor execution”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

Stayed at the Rotunda at the end of October for 2 nights in a Mini Apartment.

Positives - very (very) central for shopping - literally just outside the entrance to the Bullring. Discounted parking (in the central Bullring car park which takes about 5 minutes to get to from the apartments). The apartment itself was very clean, and really well appointed - tv, apple mac(mini), washing machine, dishwasher, coffee maker, juicer, microwave, iron and ironing board, walk in shower with toiletries, there was even a pint of milk, tea and coffee, some cereal for breakfast, some oranges for juicing etc etc - (not everything is full size (i.e. tiddly dishwasher)) but in terms of the use of the limited space it had everything you could need to survive a couple of days/nights travelling. Exceptional views from the floor to ceiling windows. Staff were super polite and resolved our issues quickly......however........

Negatives - there were no instructions for any of the gadgets in the apartment. Spent 20 mins puzzling over the coffee machine before giving up and asking reception if I was missing something obvious. The instruction manual that was supposed to be there was sent up as we went out for dinner.

Read the instruction manual - this then referred to a further instruction guide which should have been by the coffee machine - it wasn't. Gave up and went to bed.

Decided next morning to have a glass of freshly squeezed juice - couldn't as the juicer was broken. Gave up, had some filter coffee and cereal instead.

Went to put everything in the dishwasher and start it up. No dishwasher tablets (there should have been, it was in the manual) - gave up. Subsequently noticed that there was no actual power to the dishwasher - so double gave up even when the tablets did arrive.

Decided to listen to some playlists on Spotify via the Mac (mentioned in the manual) - couldn't as there was a firewall issue and the Mac couldn't connect to the internet. Gave up and went out.

Minor issues maybe - but why so many? It seemed like everything we went to use either didn't work, had no instructions or had bits missing. It smacks of a basic lack of care and attention when preparing the apartment for the next guests. Didn't even try the iron/washing machine etc - so can't report back on these other items.....but I'd place good money on there being an issue.

So, a really well stocked apartment, but we couldn't use half of it! To be fair to the staff, they did sort the issues out quickly - but I shouldn't have had to raise them in the first place.

When you're only there for 2 nights and are out all day, it leaves very little time to get the benefit of the appliances when everything is only as it should be for a few hours at the end of the stay.

Overall, a really good concept but poorly executed. If everything had worked this would be a 4 or 5 star review. Wouldn't return given the other choices of accomodation in the city.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Danos563
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StayingCool_Rotunda, Owner at Staying Cool at the Rotunda, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Hello Danos563

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. If I had had the same experience as you, I would have shared the same view ("good concept, poor execution").

I am so sorry that we got so many of the details wrong for your stay. The root of the problem seems to be that the apartment guide had disappeared from the apartment (guests do take them from time to time but we should have noticed that when servicing the apartment) and then an old edition of the guide was printed (with Spotify references) and given to you, which compounded matters.

The dishwasher is broken but hadn't been removed (or a note put on there to this effect) hence the lack of tablets. Again, I can only apologise. We've checked the juicer and it is working so I'm not sure what happened there.

On a more positive note, I'm glad you enjoyed the location and the apartment and found our staff to be helpful but you are quite right, none of these things should have gone wrong in the first place and we are very sorry.

We have written to your privately about the matter and all that remains to say is that we really do care about everything and when things go wrong we take them very seriously and go through them at our Thursday management meeting. All the issues raised have been discussed and are being acted upon.

Please accept my apologies once again.

Best wishes
Tracey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

887 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    664
    158
    40
    10
    15
See reviews for
113
396
44
155
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

Superbly located, right in the centre of the city, with friendly staff who made my stay a pleasure. The apartment was excellent in all aspects, well furnished and spacious, with a superb view of the city, especially at night. Somewhat pricey but you do get what you pay for.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JR3107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StayingCool_Rotunda, Owner at Staying Cool at the Rotunda, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Hello JR3107

We were delighted to read that you think we are an excellent choice - thank you. I do hope you come and stay again with us soon and if you use your returning guest 10% discount you might not think us quite so pricey!

Best wishes
Tracey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

Fantastic building, spacious rooms,clean, modern bathrooms. Reminded me of hotels in vegas! Polite and friendly staff! It comes with a price but well worth it. Also excellent breakfast with plenty of delicious choices.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StayingCool_Rotunda, Owner at Staying Cool at the Rotunda, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Hello Jonathon

No-one's ever said that Rotunda reminds them of hotels in Vegas before! Many thanks for taking the time to post the review and for your very kind words.

Best wishes
Tracey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwystre
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

This is the second time I've stayed here and this time was with friends. It is an exceptional place from start to finish. The staff go the 'extra mile' to ensure everything is perfect . Thank you so much for the upgrade Danny - the penthouse is awesome. We did not want to go out and shop and that is amazing...
The view of this vibrant City, location, the decor, the facilities, the privacy, comfy bed, toiletries, all the little extras, the staff make this the number one choice for me. I really would not want to stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: You can't beat the penthouse for its balcony if you fancy an al fresco experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bynwyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StayingCool_Rotunda, Owner at Staying Cool at the Rotunda, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Hello Bwywyn

We were all chuffed to bits when we read your review and particularly the part about Danny and the team going the extra mile - thank you.

We very much look forward to welcoming you again for your next stay.

Best wishes
Tracey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
united kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

OUr first time stay at Staying Cool at the Rotunda, and it was excellent. The apartment was awesome, the views especially at night, were fabulous. The place was spotless, and lovely and comfortable. Didn't even want to go out for a meal in the evening, so got some things from Marks and Spencer, shoved it in the oven, and dined in the apartment looking at the wonderful view. What could be better.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wingwalkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StayingCool_Rotunda, Owner at Staying Cool at the Rotunda, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Hello wingwalkers

The views, the views - they are great, aren't they? I never tire of enjoying them when I stay over. In fact, a guest this week asked me how I ever got any work done against such a backdrop!

Like you, so many of our guests cancel their plans to go out because they want to stay in and enjoy the views.

Many thanks for taking the time to post the review and we hope to see you again soon.

Best wishes
Tracey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

I won a stay at the hotel in a raffle. The views from the Penthouse are great over the city. The two young men working on reception were extremly helpful and very friendly, top class service. The apartments are expensive but I think you're paying for an experience.

Room Tip: The penthouses are the only rooms with a balcony if that's what you're looking for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank L_K_Today2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StayingCool_Rotunda, Owner at Staying Cool at the Rotunda, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Hello L_K_Today2012

Danny and Simon were very pleased to read that you enjoyed their welcome at Rotunda and pass on their thanks for your warm words. Congratulations again on winning the competition and we hope to see you again very soon.

Best wishes
Tracey

PS All the apartments have windows that open like patio doors (with safety barriers of course) so you get that outdoors/in feeling
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wolverhampton
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a mini studio apartment on the 18th floor. The apartment was very compact and well designed. The views across the West Midlands were great although Birmingham looks better by night!!! Lol. The bed was fab. Great place to stay if you are on a shopping trip or going to central Birmingham restaurants. If your looking for something a little more interesting than the standard hotel room this is it.

Helpful?
1 Thank christopher h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#6 of 117 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,756 reviews
Hotel La Tour
#9 of 117 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,286 reviews
Ladywood
Malmaison Birmingham
Malmaison Birmingham
#23 of 117 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Ladywood
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
#3 of 117 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
Genting Hotel
#5 of 117 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staying Cool at the Rotunda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staying Cool at the Rotunda

Property: Staying Cool at the Rotunda
Address: 150 New Street, Birmingham B2 4PA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#1 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#1 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#2 Green Hotel in Birmingham
#4 Family Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Staying Cool at the Rotunda 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the top of the city's iconic Rotunda and enjoy amazing views of the city from your very own beautifully designed apartment right in the heart of the city centre (Selfridges will be your corner shop). Each apartment has floor-to-ceiling glass windows that open fully and the Penthouses have their own outdoor balconies. These stylish apartments have been designed with your maximum comfort in mind. Each comes with bespoke designer furniture, a very well-equipped Poggenpohl kitchen, espresso maker with complimentary locally sourced milk and Illy or Fairtrade coffee, oranges for the juicer, iPod dock, plus a king size bed with pocket sprung/memory foam mattress for the very best night's sleep. There's a 24 hour reception plus daytime/evening concierge offering Staying Cool's renowned service. Choose from Minis (studios), Clubmans (one beds), Maxis (two beds) and Roadsters (two bed Penthouses). And if you don't like heights, we have two apartments on level two (the Olympian and Cabriolet). In short, stay in the best location, in an award winning Grade II listed building and experience life like a local. If you book via Staying Cool's website then you will get a complimentary bottle of wine or free parking and the guaranteed cheapest rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Staying Cool at the Rotunda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staying Cool At The Rotunda Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing