We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trade shows at the NEC are now something we look forward to.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
Ranked #1 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Shoreham-by-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
“Trade shows at the NEC are now something we look forward to.”
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Our time in Birmingham is spent working at trade shows at the NEC but the Staying Cool apartments help us start each day with a spring in our step. Stunning views and thoughtful touches make our visits to Birmingham something we all look forward to now.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paladone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StayingCool_Rotunda, General Manager at Staying Cool at the Rotunda, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Hi Paladone

Thanks for such a lovely review.

It is always great when we are able to show what Birmingham has on offer to exhibitors at the NEC complex. Being so close to the NEC by train it really does allow you to take a break from the exhibitions.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Very best wishes
Gavin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

930 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    699
    162
    43
    11
    15
See reviews for
119
416
46
161
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014 via mobile

Having stayed here for business it was my only choice when bringing my friends into Birmingham for a night out..
You can't beat the location and service.. Top notch on every point...
The penthouse is roomy and my friends thoroughly enjoyed themselves... Oh and what a view!
Simon and Danny are an asset to this establishment.. Friendly smiles all round..
I for one am a staying cool convert.. But now I think my friends are too!..

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Angel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StayingCool_Rotunda, General Manager at Staying Cool at the Rotunda, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Hi Angel B

You are going to make us blush... Thanks so much for your review.

We're all very pleased you and your guests enjoyed your leisure stay just as much as you enjoyed your previous visit.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Do let us know if there is anything you need.

Very best wishes
Gavin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 February 2014

The front desk was very friendly and helpful. The views were stunning. It really is a home from home, real milk too! Very easy to eat in as well as out into the centre of Birmingham. I would certainly stay there again when i return.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 19Rich66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 February 2014

We needed a place to stay whilst heading South, Birmingham was the obvious choice. We have always been fan of Urban Splash's regeneration work and the Rotunda is a great example. The Staying Cool apartments website gave us all the information we needed so we booked into one of the Clubman apartments (we stayed in 1913). Check in was easy (make sure you take photo ID) and we were given lots of information on the facilities and surrounding area. The apartment is well equipped with everything you need for one night or a week away. The bedroom is small but not uncomfortable, and the bathroom is great with a huge bath!
Well recommended and worth the little bit extra over a hotel room.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We loved our stay at the Rotunda. The apartments are modern and fitted with just about everything you could need including fruit juicer, coffee machine, computer, washing machine and dryer. The views over the city were amazing and in terms of location, you couldn't be any more central.
One thing that really stood out about the Rotunda though was the staff, who were incredibly helpful and friendly.
If I have one criticism it would be that the tv in the apartment we were in was too small. But that's a minor detail in what was a really fantastic stay,

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LuckyLaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StayingCool_Rotunda, Owner at Staying Cool at the Rotunda, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Hello LuckyLaki

Thank you so much for your very kind words about the apartments and our location but especially for your comments about the Guest Relations team who really are fantastic. We were all delighted to read your review.

Best wishes
Tracey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

I stayed here for a weekend and I honestly did not want to leave. I instantly felt at home when I arrived to my room. It was so clean and spacious and felt like a mini home to me. It's central to everything, the station and shopping so you're not far at all. Staff are helpful and this has got to be the best stay I've had. Can't wait for my next visit!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kimmykay90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StayingCool_Rotunda, Owner at Staying Cool at the Rotunda, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Hello kimmykay90

Your review was a joy to read - thank you, on behalf of all of us.

I know just what you mean about not wanting to leave Rotunda - sometimes I struggle to pack up! We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Best wishes

Tracey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferndown, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

I use these apartments whenever I am in Birmingham for work which is often. I have stayed in a Studio, 1 bed and the Penthouse. All are well equipped. Coffee is great, oranges very convenient for juice in the morning and the beds are comfortable.

The studio is small but perfectly formed for a person on their own. The 1 beds have a very spacious living area but a small bedroom - but then you only sleep in there. The Penthouse is huuuge with fabulous views across Birmingham.

There are signs of wear and tear in some small places but nothing to detract from the experience.

I will be back again next week!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mdearlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StayingCool_Rotunda, Owner at Staying Cool at the Rotunda, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Hello mdearlove

It sounds like you have stayed in more apartments than me! Thank you for your rave review - it is a pleasure to look after you on your visits to Birmingham. I am a huge fan of the Minis (studios) as they are brilliantly designed and very cosy yet with a wall of floor-to-ceiling-windows throughout. We shall see you very soon no doubt. Thanks again.

Best wishes

Tracey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#6 of 117 in Birmingham
3,037 reviews
Hotel La Tour
#10 of 117 in Birmingham
2,454 reviews
Ladywood
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
#3 of 117 in Birmingham
874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Genting Hotel
#5 of 117 in Birmingham
1,666 reviews
Ladywood
Malmaison Birmingham
Malmaison Birmingham
#21 of 117 in Birmingham
2,285 reviews
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staying Cool at the Rotunda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staying Cool at the Rotunda

Property: Staying Cool at the Rotunda
Address: 150 New Street, Birmingham B2 4PA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#1 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#2 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#2 Green Hotel in Birmingham
#4 Family Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Staying Cool at the Rotunda 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the top of the city's iconic Rotunda and enjoy amazing views of the city from your very own beautifully designed apartment right in the heart of the city centre (Selfridges will be your corner shop). Each apartment has floor-to-ceiling glass windows that open fully and the Penthouses have their own outdoor balconies. These stylish apartments have been designed with your maximum comfort in mind. Each comes with bespoke designer furniture, a very well-equipped Poggenpohl kitchen, espresso maker with complimentary locally sourced milk and Illy or Fairtrade coffee, oranges for the juicer, iPod dock, plus a king size bed with pocket sprung/memory foam mattress for the very best night's sleep. There's a 24 hour reception plus daytime/evening concierge offering Staying Cool's renowned service. Choose from Minis (studios), Clubmans (one beds), Maxis (two beds) and Roadsters (two bed Penthouses). And if you don't like heights, we have two apartments on level two (the Olympian and Cabriolet). In short, stay in the best location, in an award winning Grade II listed building and experience life like a local. If you book via Staying Cool's website then you will get a complimentary bottle of wine or free parking and the guaranteed cheapest rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Staying Cool at the Rotunda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staying Cool At The Rotunda Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing