We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow! Fab Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
Ranked #1 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 5 April 2014

I booked Rotunda for our 1st Anniversary, me and my husband loved every part of it. We stayed in a penthouse, it was super clean, customer service was excellent they were very helpful. The best thing was the view from the 20th floor it was amazing. Will definetly be returning sometime this year. Loved it! Thank you Rotunda.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily4321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StayingCool_Rotunda, Front Office Manager at Staying Cool at the Rotunda, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Hi Emily

Thank you for your kind words, we're glad you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to seeing you next time.

Best wishes
Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (983)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

541 - 547 of 983 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2014

From the first moment I contacted Staying Cool about 6 months ago, I was bowled over by their charming, professional and efficient service - this was by web, email and phone. We finally stayed this weekend and the welcome on arrival was also excellent. We had a Mini booked but were upgraded to a Clubman - the room was everything as advertised on the web site and the views are really excellent. The location is obviously as central as you can get but the sound proofing of the windows is very good so noise not an issue. The room was fitted out to the high standard advertised and the only shame is we did't have enough time to spend in it! Would have been great to lounge around and watch a film in the great living area. Overall recommended very highly. I can't remember the last time I had such great service at every touch point.Thank you!

Room Tip: We were in Clubman 1912 - amazing views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pickle68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StayingCool_Rotunda, Front Office Manager at Staying Cool at the Rotunda, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Hi Pickle68

Thank you so much for your lovely comments, the team will be overjoyed to hear them.

As you pointed out, being in the centre of town, some would think that external noise would be an issue. However once the windows are closed, it's almost silent!

Thank you again for your lovely review.

Best wishes
Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We were visiting Birmingham to see Goldfrapp at the Symphony Hall and have had my eye on the Rotunda for a while. Thought I would book it as a surprise for my husband as we normally stay at at a nearby 'pod' hotel.

Upon arrival we were checked in quickly by lovely chap on the desk and then headed up to the 19th floor to the apartment. The first thing to greet you is the view...it takes your breath away and we had great fun opening the windows and taking plenty of pics. The apartment was spotlessly clean and had everything we could need and more! Everything is high quality and loved the little green touches with the Ecover products in the kitchen. We had planned to eat out before the concert but we decided to get some nice things from the nearby M&S and stay in instead as we wanted to make the most of our time there. I had a code for a free bottle of wine during our stay but as the wine hadn't cooled they sent up a bottle of champagne for us - what a treat!

After the concert we headed back and had a great nights sleep in the comfy bed. Only trouble was I couldn't stop looking at the view so didn't have much of a lie in!

The bathroom was large, clean and had lovely bathrobes and fluffy towels. My only niggle was I could reach to see in the mirror and ended up standing in the bath to put my contact lens in. My hubby also had similar trouble when shaving so maybe a shaving mirror would be a good idea? Loved the toiletries which smelt amazing.

Late check out was great as it meant we could have a wander round the shops and then pick up our bags before heading to the station.

Wouldn't hesitate to recommend Staying Cool as the staff are great, the apartments are amazing and it is right in the heart of Birmingham. Cannot wait to come back!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank erinuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StayingCool_Rotunda, Front Office Manager at Staying Cool at the Rotunda, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Hi Erin

Thank you for choosing to stay with us, we hope you both had a great time at the concert.

We're glad you enjoyed the Champagne. We apologise that the wine wasn't chilled prior to your arrival, our delivery was a little later than we would have preferred.

Thank you for suggestion of a shaving mirror. There are mirrors in our wardrobes which may have been useful for your contacts but for a close shave, it's definitely a good idea for the bathroom and is something we can look into.

We'd love to see you both again soon.

Best wishes
Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

My significant other had booked this hotel for the 6/02/14 for our 9 year of being together and without doubt I can say that it was one of the best hotels I have stayed in, we were in 1905 in the mini apartment and the first thing that strikes one is the view!

The apartment itself was quite cosy with all the amenities that one would expect at home and even more. the building itself is not hard to find and stands out amongst the city. Plenty of amenities nearby too as it is based right in the city centre.

I would definitely stay again and recommend the hotel to anyone thinking of staying in Birmingham.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markbarr31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StayingCool_Rotunda, Front Office Manager at Staying Cool at the Rotunda, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2014

Hi Mark

Thank you for your glowing review, to say we are one of the best hotels you have stayed in means a lot to us.

We welcome you back with open arms, perhaps we'll see you next year for your 10th anniversary?

Best wishes
Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

The apartment was modern, clean and lovely, it made a nice change from constantly staying in hotels and was just a nice little getaway. Fantastic view from the 17th floor. Two small complaints: the apartment gets incredibly warm, opening a window (both of them) doesn't seem to help, and the TV was small with bad sound, but it had sky so that was nice. Overall for a weekend or short week city break, I'd recommend it.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jake R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StayingCool_Rotunda, Front Office Manager at Staying Cool at the Rotunda, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2014

Hi Jake

Thank you for your lovely review. It's great to hear you took the plunge and tried us over a hotel, it sounds like you had a fab time.

Our apartments that catch the midday sun can become a little warm due to the amount of sunlight the apartment is exposed to, having a fully glazed wall. In the heat of summer, we close the curtains in the apartments to provide shade to cool the space. With the eccentricity of British weather this past year, this may be something we look into extending. As you hopefully discovered, once the windows are open, this rapidly cools the apartments.

The TVs in our Mini apartments aren't the biggest, however this is something we are looking into changing, so watch this space.

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us, we're thrilled you had a great time. We hope on your next stay that we can achieve that 5th star on your next review.

Best wishes
Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Stayed in the 2 bed apartment with a friend while we seeing a concert at the NIA. Excellent service, lovely helpful concierge gave us takeaway deliver menus, pointed us to taxi rank etc.. First class accommodation, plenty of room, good quality toiletries, towels, bedding etc. Nice & quiet considering the excellent central location. Good extras such as coffee machine with fresh coffee, fresh milk & oranges for the juicer.
slight let down, dirty plates etc in dishwasher from previous guest & there was a slight strange smell. Cleared once we had opened the windows for a while, not sure what it was, like something had been spilt somewhere.
All in all, excellent, will defo stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2TrippersLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StayingCool_Rotunda, General Manager at Staying Cool at the Rotunda, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

HI 2TrippersLondon

It's really great to here you enjoyed your stay with us (and hopefully the concert).

I'm extremely sorry you had to empty the dishwasher yourself - this is not the way we normally do things. If you have the time it would be great if you could let me know the date of your stay and I'll look into this for you.

I'm very pleased to hear this didn't put you off overall, do let me know directly if you plan a return visit, we'd love the chance to apologise properly.

Thanks again.
Best wishes
Gavin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

We stayed at the rotunda whilst in birmingham to celebrate our daughters first birthday with family who live locally. We can honestly say this is the best place we have stayed in the city and wider area (and we visit alot!).

From first contact the Rotunda team were extremely helpful, providing a cot for our little one as I had left ours in the hall on the way out at home!

The apartment was spotless with every amenity you could want for a young family including a washing machine, and the views were incredible especially in the evening. We had planned to eat out but decided to get ourselves some takeout and eat in the appartment so we could enjoy the spectacular views why the baby slept.

In addition to the free amenities within the room the stay was topped off by the wonderful and very thoughtful gift that the team gave my daughter for her birthday, along with a card wishing her a lovely trip.

We will definatly be back very soon and have advised all the family to do the same when visiting the area. Real top class find!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheWhites2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StayingCool_Rotunda, General Manager at Staying Cool at the Rotunda, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Hi TheWhites2014

We're all so pleased you chose to spend such a special occasion with us.

We really do love to look after families and the little gifts really are our pleasure. We are continually reviewing our family offer, so if there's anything more you think we can do, please get in touch.

The apartments really are a great base in the city, especially when travelling with the little ones.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back soon.

With best wishes
Gavin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 118 in Birmingham
3,253 reviews
Clayton Hotel Birmingham
#9 of 118 in Birmingham
2,543 reviews
Ladywood
Malmaison Birmingham
Malmaison Birmingham
#22 of 118 in Birmingham
2,403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Ladywood
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
#3 of 118 in Birmingham
911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staying Cool at the Rotunda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staying Cool at the Rotunda

Address: 150 New Street, Birmingham B2 4PA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#1 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#2 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#2 Green Hotel in Birmingham
#3 Family Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: £90 - £331 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Staying Cool at the Rotunda 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the top of the city's iconic Rotunda and enjoy amazing views of the city from your very own beautifully designed apartment right in the heart of the city centre (Selfridges will be your corner shop). Each apartment has floor-to-ceiling glass windows that open fully and the Penthouses have their own outdoor balconies. These stylish apartments have been designed with your maximum comfort in mind. Each comes with bespoke designer furniture, a very well-equipped Poggenpohl kitchen, espresso maker with complimentary locally sourced milk and Illy or Fairtrade coffee, oranges for the juicer, iPod dock, plus a king size bed with pocket sprung/memory foam mattress for the very best night's sleep. There's a 24 hour reception plus daytime/evening concierge offering Staying Cool's renowned service. Choose from Minis (studios), Clubmans (one beds), Maxis (two beds) and Roadsters (two bed Penthouses). And if you don't like heights, we have two apartments on level two (the Olympian and Cabriolet). In short, stay in the best location, in an award winning Grade II listed building and experience life like a local. If you book via Staying Cool's website then you will get a complimentary bottle of wine or free parking and the guaranteed cheapest rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Staying Cool at the Rotunda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staying Cool At The Rotunda Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing