We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
Ranked #1 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Working away in Birmingham for 6 months the Rotunda soon became a home from home. The staff were so welcoming and helpful I really miss them now I'm not there every week. Staying one or two nights on a regular basis I think I probably stayed in all the different styles of suites/apartments and loved them all. Clean, spacious (even the smaller ones), modern and the luxury touches from the bedlinen, bathroom toiletries, sky package were great. The essentials in the kitchen were a godsend, the last thing we want to do before retiring for the night is find a shop to buy milk, tea, coffee, cereal etc. Staying Cool provide everything you need for a luxury bed and breakfast, the oranges and juicer provided were so good I've had to buy one for home! Places like this make working away from home bearable, even my teenage son loved it when he joined me for his pre Uni shopping trip! Congratulations to you all and I wouldn't dream of staying anywhere else when in Birmingham.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ljcastleview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StayingCool_Rotunda, General Manager at Staying Cool at the Rotunda, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Hi Ljcastleview

Absolute pleasure to look after you while you worked in the city.

We're really pleased we became a home-from-home.

If you need anything at all in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me.

All of the team send their best wishes.

Cheers
Gavin

Gavin Burns
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

930 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    699
    162
    43
    11
    15
See reviews for
119
416
46
161
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We stayed on the 18th floor in a mini overlooking New St station. It is an open plan studio with plenty of space. Lots of nice touches - pod coffee machine, fresh oranges and juicer to make juice from, little kitchen, fresh milk, Dorset cereals in the room. Sky TV with movies, sports etc in the room. Takes few < 5 mins to get to New St so handy for NEC without having to stay at NEC.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boredagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StayingCool_Rotunda, General Manager at Staying Cool at the Rotunda, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Hi boredagain

It's great to hear you found the location so central. We are getting more and more guests choosing to stay in the city centre now, rather than the NEC. It really does give the feeling and leave work and experience the real Birmingham.

Many thanks for your kind words.

We hope to see you again soon.

Best
Gavin

Gavin Burns
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed in a two-bedroom apartment on the 17th floor for one night. Easy, pleasant check-in, spacious nicely decorated apartment with great views at night. The apartments are a couple of steps from the Bullring shopping centre (that's where we parked the car) so also very conveniently located. Would stay again if visiting Birmingham - highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank efamai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StayingCool_Rotunda, General Manager at Staying Cool at the Rotunda, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Hi efamai

I'm really please you enjoyed your stay at Rotunda.

The Maxi apartments really are spacious, it great to have the two bathrooms and the large lounge to share.

We hope to see you again in the future.

Do let us know it there is anything else we can do for you.

Best
Gavin

Gavin Burns
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Stayed here when visiting Birmingham on business. It was a great room. Modern, comfortable and fabulous views. The staff members that I met were friendly, helpful and very pleasant to deal with. I would stay here again, especially if they have special offers on.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jubline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StayingCool_Rotunda, General Manager at Staying Cool at the Rotunda, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Hi jubline

Many thanks for taking the time to leave your review. We're really pleased that you enjoyed your stay.

If you would like us to set you up a business account, do get in touch and we'll arrange that for you.

Hope to see you soon.

Very best wishes
Gavin

Gavin Burns
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Amazing views, super comfy bed, clean! bathroom and kitchen. Great espresso machine and a treat to have refrigerated juicing oranges and a juicing machine. Customer service was pretty excellent too. A great place to hang out with friends and a super location to everything in the city centre. The only minuses: stained/dirty furniture and doors, worn wallpaper, and a little flaking paint-- so if it's true they're refreshing the rooms, that's good because it's a little needed.

Would recommend though!

Room Tip: Not for people who are afraid of heights-- also not for families with small children (at least not t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dromomania4evr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StayingCool_Rotunda, General Manager at Staying Cool at the Rotunda, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Hi dromomania4evr

Thanks for taking the time to leave your review.

We're pleased you had a great stay.

We are still working through our refurbishment schedule and going as quick as availability allows. The summer months are quieter in the city, so will allow us to speed up the process.

The windows really are perfectly safe for children of all sizes, we look after lots of families who tell us they really do feel happy with the windows open.

Do let me know if you plan to stay again and I'll ensure you get to see one of the refurbished apartments on your next visit.

Thanks again for your kind words.

Best wishes
Gavin

Gavin Burns
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Bit of a disapointing stay overall. Arrived late after a day of travelling, got put in the wrong room and didnt realise until we were mostly unpacked and landed in the room. Reception didnt realise & no phone so lots of messages left and up & down the lift while it was worked out what to do. Also later found out we had been charged for our stay twice in the confussion. Sort of ruined the whole trip, but we did get our breakfast pack refunded.
Coffee maker and orange juicer were good, view was amazing & all furniture in the room very cool.
Rooms were tired & in need of some attention, but i think they are refurbishing.
The building is also residential so I concur with some of the comments about interesting people in the lifts, also nice touch was the communtity police officer waiting to talk with the receptionist about an incident earlier in the day while we were checking in.
We booked a cadburys entry via thier services, which we were assured was all ok but when we got there they hadnt given us the correct ticket so there was alot of ringing round to try and sort out.
Overall the intentions were there & looks good on the website, just doesnt quite live up to it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fairey_queen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StayingCool_Rotunda, General Manager at Staying Cool at the Rotunda, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Hi fairey_queen

I really sorry to weren't 100% during your stay and can't apologise enough for the mix-up with your apartment and the Cadbury World ticket.

We have a fairly new team on Front of House at the moment and are training all of the time, so I will pass on your comments, so that we can resolve these issues.

If you are back in the UK, please don't hesitate to contact me directly via our reception team as I'd like to show you how we normally do things at Staying Cool.

Really hope to see you soon.

Very best wishes
Gavin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We booked an apartment on the 19th floor. The view of the city is fab, there were great touches like fresh milk and cereal for breakfast and fresh oranges to juice. Bed is really comfortable, bathroom on the small side and the shower was dripping through the night but that was minor. Would definitely recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StayingCool_Rotunda, General Manager at Staying Cool at the Rotunda, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Hi sara250388

Many thanks for such a positive review.

I've said this a lot in my responses, but I truly never get bored with the view - it's such a changing landscape in the city at the moment, there is always something new to look at.

Thanks for letting us know about the shower-head, we picked this up when your review came in and dealt with the drip (the head needed adjusting slightly).

Really hope to see you again soon.

Very best wishes
Gavin

Gavin Burns
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#6 of 117 in Birmingham
3,037 reviews
Hotel La Tour
#10 of 117 in Birmingham
2,454 reviews
Ladywood
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
#3 of 117 in Birmingham
874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Genting Hotel
#5 of 117 in Birmingham
1,666 reviews
Ladywood
Malmaison Birmingham
Malmaison Birmingham
#21 of 117 in Birmingham
2,285 reviews
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staying Cool at the Rotunda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staying Cool at the Rotunda

Property: Staying Cool at the Rotunda
Address: 150 New Street, Birmingham B2 4PA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#1 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#2 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#2 Green Hotel in Birmingham
#4 Family Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Staying Cool at the Rotunda 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the top of the city's iconic Rotunda and enjoy amazing views of the city from your very own beautifully designed apartment right in the heart of the city centre (Selfridges will be your corner shop). Each apartment has floor-to-ceiling glass windows that open fully and the Penthouses have their own outdoor balconies. These stylish apartments have been designed with your maximum comfort in mind. Each comes with bespoke designer furniture, a very well-equipped Poggenpohl kitchen, espresso maker with complimentary locally sourced milk and Illy or Fairtrade coffee, oranges for the juicer, iPod dock, plus a king size bed with pocket sprung/memory foam mattress for the very best night's sleep. There's a 24 hour reception plus daytime/evening concierge offering Staying Cool's renowned service. Choose from Minis (studios), Clubmans (one beds), Maxis (two beds) and Roadsters (two bed Penthouses). And if you don't like heights, we have two apartments on level two (the Olympian and Cabriolet). In short, stay in the best location, in an award winning Grade II listed building and experience life like a local. If you book via Staying Cool's website then you will get a complimentary bottle of wine or free parking and the guaranteed cheapest rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Staying Cool at the Rotunda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staying Cool At The Rotunda Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing