We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
Ranked #1 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Warwickshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Amazing..”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

I stayed here for one night after my wedding and before departing for our honeymoon. The apartment was great with a great view of the city from the floor to ceiling window. Really lovely, well equipment kitchen and adequate bathroom. Really liked the design of the apartment, well thought out and good use of space. Only downfall for us was that the TV is in the lounge area and it would have been nice to have a TV viewable from the bed. Friendly reception staff, and nice touches such as a personal note, complementary bottle of wine and petals on bed. The rotunda is an iconic building in Birmingham so it was really interesting to stay there. Location is great, right next to the bull ring and easy to find. Couldn't really fault this place, highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redpetalsmile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StayingCool_Rotunda, General Manager at Staying Cool at the Rotunda, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Hi edpetalsmile

Congratulations again on your recent wedding and thanks for choosing us for such a special stay.

The whole team send their best wishes to you and your partner.

Thanks for such a fab review and we hope to see you again (maybe for your first anniversary...).

Do let us know if there is anything you need in the future.

Best wishes
Gavin

Gavin Burns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

930 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    699
    162
    43
    11
    15
See reviews for
119
416
46
161
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Alaska
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

Bad location. Took me and hour driving around trying to look for it. No on site parking, no bag drop off point. Middle of the night, two children, luggage, unable to find hotel. Ended up staying at another hotel. Hotel arrogant enough as to not provide any refund.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
8 Thank Unicorns99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StayingCool_Rotunda, General Manager at Staying Cool at the Rotunda, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Unicorns99

As myself and our front of house team said in our email, we're really sorry to hear you had a problem finding us.

It’s not been an issue we have encountered before (some guests have trouble finding the entrance, but not the building). We have actually been praised for our directions by the inspector team at Visit England (the company in charge of inspecting the hotels in the UK).

As you booked online your booking was non-refundable, however we are more than happy to add a credit to your account. The credit can be used here in Birmingham or at our Barcelona apartment.

Again I’m sorry your we’re unable to find us. Do let me know if there is anything else I can do for you.

Very best wishes
Gavin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Our high rise birthday retreat! Every time we stay at the rotunda (3rd time now), we always enjoy the mini apartments overlooking the bull ring side and over looking the never ending awesome views! Our 2 night stop over was to celebrate my wifes birthday and I knew from our last stays that staying cool would not let us down... The apartments are clean, really well layed out, and kitted out with all you need. I am still impressed by the great amount of coffee capsules provided to fill their aptly equipped "illy" designer coffee machines! A proper awesome place to stay, if you get the chance to stay with a few friends, try out the penthouse suite on the top floor. Thanks again to all the staff at staying cool!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alexander_cooke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StayingCool_Rotunda, General Manager at Staying Cool at the Rotunda, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Hi alexander_cooke

We're all so pleased you enjoyed your Birthday here at Rotunda. Many thanks for choosing to spend it with us.

We hope to see you again for your next visit soon.

Very best wishes
Gavin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bucks
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here with our young son for a weekend and it was fantastic. We were on the 19th floor in room 1900 and it was lovely. Big and spacious, lovely kitted out kitchen, and a huge living area, with sky tv and a apple computer. The views were amazing, the room had huge windows that either tilt or slide open, sitting there with them open and a nice glass of wine was brilliant.
We had 2 bedrooms which were nice size, a big bathroom with a wonderful rainforest shower head.
From walking in we were greeted by a friendly and helpful member of staff, think his name was Bryn maybe, was ever so helpful with details of hotel and the area as asked for restaurants. I was quite impressed by the fact the building is quite big and with only 2 lifts u were never waiting to long for one, some places you stay u spend most of the time stood there waiting for one to arrive after stopping at every floor then no one gets out!!!!
Location couldn't be any better, my wife had work at the Birmingham airport so that was only a 20 minute drive, your pretty much on top of the Bullring shopping centre which is fab, you actually park in the shopping centre carpark and you get a decent rate staying in the Rotunda, doesn't matter if you need to use your car reception just give you a new ticket. Within a few yards of the hotel you have endless choice of restaurants and bars, such a nice area. We will defo be returning when in Birmingham,
Location, staff and rooms all deserve 5*! And a lovely present for my 2 year old was left in our room by the hotel which was a lovely touch,
Thank you very much for an enjoyable stay.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank americankyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Fantastic apartment in Birmingham, with very attentive staff! It's a great location and has excellent facilities. I loved the huge windows with the fantastic views. All the little extra touches make your stay feel really special. Hope to go back soon.

Room Tip: The windows on 19th floor open fully - so not great for kids (or drunk people!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aitchmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StayingCool_Rotunda, Front Office Manager at Staying Cool at the Rotunda, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Hi Aithmac

Thank you for your fab review, it's lovely to hear you enjoyed the little touches we provide. We'd love to open in London, hopefully we can find the right conversion project somewhere central.

Please rest assured that although the windows open up fully, the toughened glass barrier in front is high enough to stop anyone having an accident. The opening mechanisms are also high up and were designed so they are hard for children to operate.

We'd love to see you again and welcome you back with open arms.

Best wishes
Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 July 2014

This was an amazing stay for two nights in a Mini. The view across the city was unbelievable. Friendly staff and really easy booking in. The hospitality was superb and every effort was made to add to the comfort of our stay. We loved the lay out of the studio, which felt spacious and comfortable, with a great kitchen and bathroom. The studio was amazingly quiet. We were in Birmingham for an event at the Electric Cinema, which we could see from our window!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JT477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StayingCool_Rotunda, Front Office Manager at Staying Cool at the Rotunda, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Hi J T

It's great to hear that you clearly loved your Mini apartment. It is amazingly quiet, especially considering our location in the centre of the city.

We love the Electric Cinema also, perhaps we'll see you again for another of their events?

Best wishes
Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

This was the 2nd time that my friends and I had stayed at the Rotunda and it didn't disappoint!
We stayed in penthouse 2000 and it really has everything that you would expect from a contemporary apartment!
The views from the penthouse are of course stunning, particularly at night and I would recommend sitting on the balcony with a glass of wine watching the world go by!

The apartment is spacious and airy and really well equipped and the bedrooms and bathrooms are immaculate. The beds are particularly comfortable and the bed linen/towels are good quality.

There is plenty of coffee, tea and milk provided, as well as fresh oranges for the juicer which is a great touch.

The staff that we have dealt with on each of our visits, both at Rotunda and throughout the booking process have been absolutely fantastic.

Nothing is too much trouble for these guys. The customer service is second to none!

An absolutely great alternative to a hotel. Really can't wait to visit again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StayingCool_Rotunda, Front Office Manager at Staying Cool at the Rotunda, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Hi Joanne

It was great to have you with us again.

Thank you for your amazing comments about our little team, we're all overjoyed that you had such a great time whilst you were with us. We love your recommendation, the views and a cool glass are a great way to spend a lazy evening (or a cheeky afternoon) in the sun.

Hope you will return for a third visit soon.

Best wishes
Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#6 of 117 in Birmingham
3,027 reviews
Hotel La Tour
#10 of 117 in Birmingham
2,448 reviews
Ladywood
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
#3 of 117 in Birmingham
871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Malmaison Birmingham
Malmaison Birmingham
#22 of 117 in Birmingham
2,284 reviews
Genting Hotel
#5 of 117 in Birmingham
1,663 reviews
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staying Cool at the Rotunda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staying Cool at the Rotunda

Property: Staying Cool at the Rotunda
Address: 150 New Street, Birmingham B2 4PA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#1 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#2 Green Hotel in Birmingham
#2 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#4 Family Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Staying Cool at the Rotunda 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the top of the city's iconic Rotunda and enjoy amazing views of the city from your very own beautifully designed apartment right in the heart of the city centre (Selfridges will be your corner shop). Each apartment has floor-to-ceiling glass windows that open fully and the Penthouses have their own outdoor balconies. These stylish apartments have been designed with your maximum comfort in mind. Each comes with bespoke designer furniture, a very well-equipped Poggenpohl kitchen, espresso maker with complimentary locally sourced milk and Illy or Fairtrade coffee, oranges for the juicer, iPod dock, plus a king size bed with pocket sprung/memory foam mattress for the very best night's sleep. There's a 24 hour reception plus daytime/evening concierge offering Staying Cool's renowned service. Choose from Minis (studios), Clubmans (one beds), Maxis (two beds) and Roadsters (two bed Penthouses). And if you don't like heights, we have two apartments on level two (the Olympian and Cabriolet). In short, stay in the best location, in an award winning Grade II listed building and experience life like a local. If you book via Staying Cool's website then you will get a complimentary bottle of wine or free parking and the guaranteed cheapest rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Staying Cool at the Rotunda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staying Cool At The Rotunda Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing