We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely weekend in 2 great apartments”
Review of Burne Jones House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Burne Jones House
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely weekend in 2 great apartments”
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Have just arrived back from having a weekend in Birmingham with friends. Didn't want to be constrained by hotel times, so decided to stay in the Burne Jones House. I was unsure of what to expect as a result of the mixed reviews on this site, but it was only for a weekend so we thought it would be ok. I had asked if we could have adjoining or adjacent rooms so that we could be close to each other and that was provided. Both apartments were lovely and didn't dissapoint. They were spacious, bright, modern and clean and having a small balcony to get some fresh air was great too. We were at the back of the building, which was nice as it got a little roudy outside at kicking out time from the pub opposite - not too loud though and not for very long (and we couldn't complain too much, we'd been in there too). The kitchen was modern and well equiped with everything that would be needed for a longer stay - including a dishwasher and an air con unit. A nice touch was that we had ice in the freezer - great for those 'getting ready' drinks! Very close (5 mins walk) to the Bullring for shopping and to New Street Station. Overall: great location, very modern, spacious and the roof terrace was fantastic - especially in the glorous weather of this weekend.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the rear of the building - likely a little quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank AlisonD838
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    12
    9
    7
    7
See reviews for
2
16
3
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Stayed here a few times and was mixed - cleanliness not good and facilities/fixtures dated. First visit was so bad had to complain, and then subsequent visits were mixed.

Great old building, but with it comes some difficulties. Although I probably won't stay there again I would like to say that the customer service staff/duty manager were great and the service was faultless - its just a shame that the cleaners can't live up to the excellent office staff.

On reflection, I'd rather stick to a hotel rather than these apartment.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank benson007Cheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Birmingham hotels

derby
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2011

I have just arrived back from having a weekend in Birmingham, we stayed in the Burne Jones House. I was looking forward to this trip as the pictures of the apartment looked lovely, and they didn't dissapoint. Walking through the front door definatly has a wow factor, as its a lovely building. The apartments were a very good size, modern and clean. They also had a huge window which let in alot of light and was a great feature to the room. The kitchen was modern and clean, and was equiped with everything that would be needed. The only room which did disapoint a little was the bathroom, as it is extremly small (enough room for one person to sqeeze in to) and the shower wasn't as new as the rest of the apartment; however for a weekend trip it did the job, but I think that if I was staying for longer is may become a little annoying.

Overall though fab location, very modern, spacious and clean!! :D

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charl_derby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, West Midlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 April 2010

I had a stay at the Burne Jones House 1 bedroom apartment for a long bank holiday weekend. The apartment was booked last minute as my other travel plans fell through but I received the confirmation email on the same day, with a map of directions to the accommodation and the procedures to get in.

I did find it difficult to drive to the car park, but that was mainly due to Birmingham's infrastructure, not because of where the car park is. The car park itself was small, but there were plenty of spaces and it gave off the air of being secure and patrolled. The apartment is a 3 - 4 minute walk from the car park - if you have a suitcase with wheels on, which most people do nowadays!

The entry to the building is VERY secure. You have to use the four digit security number to get into the reception area, and to get the keys from the safe. There is no one manning the reception, but it does what it says on the tin and it is a clean and smooth self-service procedure. And, in case of an emergency, there is an on-call phone number provided. The locks on the apartment doors were also very secure - several locks for night time use made me sleep easy.

The interior of the building and apartments is both sympathetic to its listed building status but also combines a few mod cons. For example, the single-paned windows in the lounge was offset by the clever design of putting the bedrooms at the back of the apartment; any night-time noise from the pub opposite, whilst unavoidable, was minimised. The attention to period detail on the taps was offset by the gorgeous power shower. The general feel of the apartment was modern - leather sofas, glass tables, abstract art on the walls. Homely, but not too cramped. There was such a sense of space, with generous room sizes and high ceilings, particularly in the master bedroom, which had SIX wardrobes and a desk, plus cute bedside tables to put tea/book on.

The kitchen area means that self-service is the name of the game. No more expenditure needed on restaurants or fast-food, simply self-cater. I'm sure everyone likes the idea of making breakfast in their PJs rather than getting up and ready to go outside! Plus anything you could need was there, including a peeler and a grater. It was great to have a dishwasher, so there was no need to wash up straight after eating. Plus the open-plan kitchen lounge made for perfect cooking/TV combos!

One day we decided to go shopping - due to the fantastic central location, Birmingham's Bull Ring cannot be more than a 5 - 6 minute walk.

All the appliances came with helpful "how-to-use" cards, so we could operate the air-conditioning, flatscreen freeview TV and DVD player, boiler boost function, and connect to the Wifi internet provided - I would say that the service around the flat varied, but it was strong in some of the rooms.

In the bathroom, the extra towels and spare loo roll (boring but a necessity for a bank holiday stay) were helpful touches.

cityQuarters is certainly NOT a hotel (no concierge service, no 24-hour receptionist), but it never pretends to be. This is a great place to go for a luxurious city break, and BE LEFT ALONE. If there is an emergency, there is a number to call, but the serviced apartment meant we could just be ourselves and had a fantastic break home-from-home.

Thanks to all the staff who helped!!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenhammy87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
1 review
Reviewed 11 January 2010

Positive: Location
Negative: Nothing like the clean, fresh, bright apartment shown in the photos. Do not be duped. Dark, dated decor. Internet did not work (as previous reviews have commented), TV in bedroom did not have an aerial connection. Bathroom was disgraceful. One bulb, dirty mouldy bath/shower. Plumbing made long whining, clanging noise everytime toilet was flushed. Kept awake all night. Response of owner "we do have lots of problems as its a grade 2 listed building"
Save your money go elsewhere

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ferramones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2009

We had a studio apartment at City Quarters at Burne Jones House for a one night stopover in Birmingham. Apartment was very nice - large, clean, well furnished and good value. Location was excellent for the city centre and for access to the New Street railway station. The apartments do not have reception staff, but the code entry system to get keys worked fine. We arrived early before the room was ready and we were able to leave suitcases with the caretaker. All in all, a nice overnight stay in Brum.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AussieTraveller56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Georgia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2009

I like the concept here, but they have a lot to do to improve on it. I'm not the target audience, either, but that doesn't mean they can't take some of my criticisms. The rooms themselves are quite nice and clean. The kitchens are well appointed. The immediate area is quite nice with plenty of shops. Once you get out of the immediate area gets pretty dodgy, however. The combo washer/dryer isn't the best. That's not a reason to go elsewhere by any means, just something of which to be conscious if you plan to do a lot of laundry during your stay.
Since it is an urban setting I'll assume most people won't be arriving by car but know that this is just not an option if it is part of your plans. LMM claims they provide a car park for a small fee but it is a bit of a walk to the Burne Jones House and, more importantly, it is in a pretty poor area. Every time we returned to the car during our stay I breathed out a sigh of relief when I saw the car was A)still where we left it and B)undamaged. The first night we parked it we literally saw a guy getting sick across the street as we parked! Not exactly a "Welcome to Birmingham" moment. Again, Birmingham is a pretty urban setting but I'm just trying to inform folks before they're disappointed upon arrival. The other car issue is that the building is impossible to find when driving. There is only one route to Bennetts Hill and I still can't figure out how to get there via car. Bottom line-take the train when arriving.
The other big issue is the check in procedure. I was not informed of this when making arrangements but there is no one working reception. Rather, you are supposed to get an email a few days before you arrive that gives you an access code to the building and the key box. This is fine if you know this ahead of time and are checking email daily, but we were traveling beforehand and I was not checking email. Luckily, someone let us into the building and opened the keybox for us. I was quite thankful for the good fortune but it also made me wary of the security in the building that anyone staying there could open the keybox for anyone else. I know of at least one other person that had the same issue upon arrival. I checked my email later on and found that I never did receive an email anyway.
Again, the room itself was fine and despite it being a pretty action packed area I wasn't bothered too much by the street noise or other people staying there. I got the impression that the Burne Jones House opened not too long ago and still has some management issues to work out. It's a good place to go and party, but a few things to remember:
-don't bring a car
-make sure you get your email ahead of time to let you in a get your key
-don't plan on doing much wash (actually the dryer was the issue)

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Berg1228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 902 reviews
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Ladywood
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
#3 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
The Briar Rose Hotel
The Briar Rose Hotel
#26 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 985 reviews
Ladywood
Macdonald Burlington Hotel
Macdonald Burlington Hotel
#38 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burne Jones House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burne Jones House

Property: Burne Jones House
Address: Burne Jones House 11-12 Bennetts Hill, Birmingham B2 5RS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 41 Speciality Lodging in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Burne Jones House 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Burne Jones House is located in the commercial and shopping centre of Birmingham, designed for the leisure and business travel sector. Built in the late 19th century and the birthplace of the pre-Raphaelite painter Edward Burne Jones, the Art Deco, six storey building has been sympathetically redeveloped to provide 29 delightfully designed apartments.Many of the original fittings remain such as the marble entrance hall, solid bronze front door, ornate windows and marble flooring on the landings.CityQuarters Birmingham provides a flexible accommodation solution to satisfy your individual needs. From studio apartments to deluxe penthouse suites, CityQuarters provides the answer. All our apartments are upmarket and stylish with an emphasis on interior design, offering a flexible alternative to hotels. Space is the key to living and working in the 21st century; all the apartments have been designed with work and play in mind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Burne Jones House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing