We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Woodlands Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Woodlands Hotel
Ranked #74 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
south wales
Level Contributor
125 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Nice stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

Very easy to find from the M5 and only a short taxi ride out of the City Centre. Secure parking at the rear and very friendly staff.

We had a family room which had a comfortable double bed and bunk beds for the kids and was adequate for our overnight stay. Free wifi too, which the larger hotel chains should note. The only negative being the shower - it was ok but a power shower should be the minimum requirement. Breakfast was lovely too.

In comparison to the overpriced City Centre hotels this was very reasonable and somewhere I'd definitely consider staying in when I next visit Birmingham.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank ell33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    26
    6
    1
    5
See reviews for
19
17
6
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Harwell
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

We were met by a very friendly lady who checked us in and told us all about the hotel and what time breakfast was . What time the outside door was locked what the keys were for and then we went to our room which was very clean and I liked having 2 arm chairs in the room - after being at the cricket all day and getting cold and wet it was lovely walking into a warm room - there was a dressing gown in the bathroom and that soon got me warm and snug - breakfast was lovely and so was the breakfast waitress that served us nothing was too much trouble

Room Tip: We did not have room service but everything was out of this world and we would recommend this hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank car0le1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

Friendly staff who kindly ordered us a taxi into town on our arrival

Good location which is very easy to find

Nice and clean with good safe parking at the rear of the hotel.

Good nights sleep with a good breakfast to send us on the way

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Trevor D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

A 1 night stay was really enjoyable, with one of the advantages being you can book in after 12 pm, so as we were going to the stock car racing this was really good. We arrived back at 9.15 pm and the bar was available, bottles beer and lager but a drinks a drink. A room on the back of the hotel provided a quiet nights sleep and the car park gate is locked overnight so cars are as safer than being out on the street. Breakfast is served to your table, a good choice and really tasty food and plenty of it. We stay in many places and this is one we will return to if the opportunity arises. Yes the decor needs updating in the hall and dining room but the rooms are very clean and items that are needed to make for a comfortable stay are supplied

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FENTONS161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

A cosy hotel close to all amenities ( short taxi ride or bus service), superb value for money. The decor is a bit dated but who stays at a hotel to stare at the decor all day. The owner is very helpful and doesn't suffer fools easily. All in all a good stay and will go back.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bolton8923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

We stayed in the hotel 3 nights with our two children.Very comfotable,spotless,well equiped,spacious family room in quiet area.Exellent and testy breakfast in a cosy restaurant!Has a rear car park,closed by night-very secure.Owners are very toughtful and treating you as friends.Staff is very polite and profesional.Good location for everithing in Birmingham.We would highly recommend that hotel to our friends and will stay again without hesitation!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Silviya P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

I stayed at Woodlands for one week. The room was very spacious and clean. Staff was friendly and the hotel was very quiet. My only, minor, complaint that breakfast is served until 9.00 which is a bit early in my opinion (weekends is until 10.00 though).

Room Tip: If you need WiFi access make sure that you mention it. Not all rooms have decent signal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Edgbaston
Ibis Styles Birmingham Hagley Road
Edgbaston
Edgbaston Palace Hotel
Edgbaston Palace Hotel
#99 of 117 in Birmingham
3.0 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
Edgbaston
Eaton Hotel
Eaton Hotel
#13 of 117 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Edgbaston
Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan
Edgbaston
The Conference Park from venuebirmingham
Edgbaston
Premier Inn Birmingham Central (Hagley Road) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodlands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodlands Hotel

Property: Woodlands Hotel
Address: 379 Hagley Road, Birmingham B17 8DL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Harborne
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Woodlands Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Woodlands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing