We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very impressed” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Staycity Aparthotels Arcadian Centre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Staycity Aparthotels Arcadian Centre
Certificate of Excellence
Truro, Cornwall
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very impressed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2012

I had booked this apartment as the price was just right and accomodation for 3 adults is always tricky. We had 1 double with a huge bed and a sofa bed in the lounge. we were able to cook Dinner for ourselves, put our feet up and unwind after a hard day. Parking was plentiful and undercover which meant you didn't get wet walking from your car to the reception, and about 10 steps out of the reception there was a large assortment of eateries to chose from plus a Tesco's extra. Would i stay here again...definately, price location and friendly welcoming staff made for a perfect stay. Bravo Stay City...wish you had one in Leeds!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    599
    360
    104
    51
    42
See reviews for
312
172
42
199
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2012

With it's own secure parking lot directly under the building and perfect central location, Staycity is ideal if staying in Birmingham City Centre.

With prices comparible to nearby budget hotels, you get a place that is far more homely and spacious with more amenities.

Perfect for small groups or families as most apartments would comfortably sleep 3 or 4 which makes the cost per head significantly lower.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Overlooking the Arcadian circle are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maar85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

We were 5 ladies sharing a two bedroomed apartment. The big attraction over a hotel was being able to sit with a bottle or two of wine around the dinner table and have a natter, or lounge on the sofas and put our feet up after a long day of shopping.

The location is fantastic with lots of bars and restaurants right on the doorstep of the apartments in the Arcadian centre. As it is in the middle of Chinatown, we ate in a lovely Chinese restaurant just 5 minutes from the front door, but one of many to choose from. We could see the Bullring from our balcony, (and my car parked in a multi-storey in the opposite direction). Some noise from traffic, but it's the city centre, so what do you expect? Besides, we were so shattered we weren't really affected by this.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jillybiscuit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2012

The rooms are clean and comfortable with a washing machine which was the selling point for us when we were looking for a place to stay.
As we booked on line we had no directions on how to find the appartment nor parking we relied on our gps anyway we did find both and found the parking very convient.
From the car park to reception is on level ground however to get to the lift to take us to the room we had to walk up about 10 stairs carrying our luggage

Location is in the center of the city or within easy walk..

Staff friendy and helpful,
The Friday night was fine however on the Saturday night it was another thing we were awoken by a "party" on a balcony at 10pm the again at 1.30 am with a young lady banging on a door trying to get into her room this plus coming and going and loud talking in the hallways ,mainly young ladies making the most noise did not give us a restful night.

The owners should consider employing security on the Saturday nights in a effort to keep the noise level down

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StayBirmingham, General Manager at Staycity Aparthotels Arcadian Centre, responded to this review, 24 September 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, following your recent stay with us. I am pleased that overall you had a comfortable stay with us, which unfortunately was marred slightly by some inconsiderate guest's. We do employ security for the comfort of our guest's, who conduct regular patrols of the premises to ensure the safety and comfort of all our guest's. If we had been made aware of the issues, we would have been more than happy to deal with the noisy guest's immediately.

I do hope we can welcome you back to Staycity Serviced Apartments in the near future.

Kind Regards
James Gwilliam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
281 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2012

We read the reviews here before booking so to a degree went into the adventure with our eyes open. Having said that, they apartment management seems to have addressed many of the issues others have raised. We had a really nice email from the manager prior to our arrival welcoming us and providing a detailed map and instructions about how to get to the apartment. On arrival we were greeted with extremely helpful staff and we had no waiting. Likewise, we were assisted with our Internet access and it was seamless. It was nice to have a breakfast voucher to a local cafe too - albeit an egg roll and coffee - but it was unexpected and a nice additional touch. Over all therefore we couldn't speak highly enough about the staff and location.

The apartments themselves are a rabbit warren to get around and this was a little disconcerting as we had our elderly parents with us. Likewise, we asked for a quiet room and was placed into a two bedroom apartment facing into the courtyard. That made for an awful night both nights as we had various groups of loud screaming drunken females returning at various hours through until 6am and waking everyone up. Their screaming and shouting echoed throughout the central courtyard and was amplified. We had two defective bedside lights which we tried to get fixed. We thought that they were defective bulbs but turned out to be defective lights so we made do without.

Being on the ground floor of the courtyard we couldn't leave our door open for fresh air during the night as there was no security setup for the windows, which were large glass doors. Once open they could be fully pushed open. In despair action on the second night we wedged our cases up against the door so that should we have a person try to enter the room during the night we would be alerted but certainly no good for our elderly parents. Finally, all the internal doors in the apartment had a spring closer which slammed the door closed and couldn't be left in the open position. It made the apartment very clinical and cold until we improvised with home made door wedges......

Yes we would stay again at these apartments as we know what we are going into and for the tarrif they were value for money. The staff were excellent and assisted as much as possible. However, I would only make the booking on the proviso that I had an outer facing apartment that was on a higher floor. You might get street noise but this would have to be better than facing into the courtyard.

Not only was this apartment gay friendly but if you are visiting and wanted to visit a gay bar or two they were within a short walk.

Room Tip: Request and insist upon a room which faces outwards of the building. Avoid the courtyard facing room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RicknSimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Den Haag
Level Contributor
58 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for about 2 weeks and I really enjoyed my stay here. The apartment was spacious, clean and well-equipped. Also the staff are very friendly and helpful. The location in the middle of Arcadian Centre is great, close to the New Street station and the city centre. The location also gave some problems because on Friday and Saturday nights it tended to be a bit too noisy. Noise came from the Arcadian centre and from guests at their balconies. But overall a very good accommodation in th centre of Birmingham. I will certainly go back.

Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Poemba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StayBirmingham, General Manager at Staycity Aparthotels Arcadian Centre, responded to this review, 13 September 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments following your recent stay with us. I am please that on the whole your stay with us was enjoyable, and I can only apologise that you were subject to noise at weekends. We do offer our guests the option of requesting apartments at the back of the complex facing away from the City centre. We take the comfort of our guest's very seriously and would have been more than happy to take the appropriate action against any other noisy guest's once notified.

I do hope we can welcome you back in the near future, and thank you once again for taking the time to write a review.

Kind Regards
James Gwilliam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2012

Stayed for the weekend, Birmingham is a great city and the locals are the most freindly people.
The accomodation was clean spacious just what we needed, and well sound proofed which is good as attracts stags and hens. Location is just great right in the Arcadian centre 5 minute walk from Bullring which is just superb.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 117 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 885 reviews
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#6 of 117 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
#3 of 117 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
Hotel La Tour
#11 of 117 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staycity Aparthotels Arcadian Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staycity Aparthotels Arcadian Centre

Property: Staycity Aparthotels Arcadian Centre
Address: The Arcadian 70 Hurst Street, Birmingham B5 4TD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 38 Speciality Lodging in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Staycity Aparthotels Arcadian Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
78 stylish and modern one and two bedroom serviced apartments conveniently located in Birmingham City Centre. We offer a selection of 52 one bedroom (sleeps 3), and 22 two bedroom (sleeps 5) self catering apartments, which come fully-furnished with bed linen and towels also provided. All apartments also come with fully-equipped kitchens, washer/dryer, microwave oven, LCD TV, lounge/dining area and spacious bedrooms. 24 Hour Reception, Car Parking and FREE Wi-Fi available. Our accommodation is comfortable, contemporary and convenient. Providing a genuine home from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and World Independent Hotel Promotion so you can book your Staycity Aparthotels Arcadian Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arc Apartments By Staybirmingham Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing