We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location and Nice Cozy Room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Staycity Aparthotels Arcadian Centre
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good Location and Nice Cozy Room”
Reviewed 25 May 2013

I've had stayed in the Birmingham serviced apartment for 2 nights and found that the room was clean and tidy. The room also come with washer/dryer, an iron board with iron and all cooking utensils for my convenient.
The apartment comes with free WiFi connection which we cannot live without nowadays.
The apartment was difficult to locate at first since it being situated inside The Acardian without proper signage. But the apartment located near Newstreet station and right in the centre of Chinatown which is surrounded by many cafes and restaurants. It is within walking distance to Bullring and The Mailbox.
The staffs at the reception are very helpful and friendly too.
With a rate at less than £200 per night, it is very reasonable for such a comfy apartment.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yippi312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,208 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    629
    370
    110
    55
    44
See reviews for
325
180
42
207
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
82 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

This was my 3rd stay here but the 1st time for 2 bedroom apt.
Location : at Acadian in Birmingham little China town, the entrance is a bit easy to miss for the 1st time, next door to Hippodrome, 5 minute-walk to Bullring, 10-15 minute-walk to New street and Moor street railway stations. It's great for people who visits Birmingham without car. There're also a lot of restaurants, pubs, supermarkets around.
Reception : small and always crowded when I was there, check-in and check-out was quite strait forward and did not take too long (as long as you understand all the conditions in advance), 5 steps to the lift can be annoying with many luggage.
Apartment : big and well-planned, we had 2 bedroom apt. and the living room still felt big even with the sofa bed, small kitchen was functional and really useful for a long stay, beds and sofa bed were all ok, 2 bathrooms were big and everything worked, no compliment shampoo, etc., we were there for 5 nights, there's no cleaning service. I also liked that the apartment had balcony.
Staff : ok, no problem with them.
Rate : cheaper than 3 hotel rooms or even 2.
I would highly recommend this apartment, especially if you have no car and don't need a daily service.

Room Tip: there are apartments facing inner court or streets or Arcadian, make sure you request the one you pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arayaBKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staycity_Birmingham, General Manager at Staycity Aparthotels Arcadian Centre, responded to this review, 13 May 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post a review, following your recent stay with us. I am please to read all the positive comments, and we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kindest Regards
James Gwilliam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 May 2013

Room and facilities better than expected! Great value for money. Very clean - even corridors, lift and stairwells! Carpark was secure, very close and very easily accessible. Excellent service at reception. Ideal location. Would definitely book a Staycity apartment again!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2catshow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

We stayed one night and now wonder why we have paid for hotels before! Big rooms, separate living room, full facilities excellent location. And all at a price to beat the local hotels in the area. No noise from other residents or local bars and restaurants. People moan about the deposit, but if you don't mess the place up you get it back. It probably helps keep the place looking good and prevents people nicking things or breaking things for a laugh. Will definitely be trying again.

Room Tip: Room 26 looked out towards a main road, had a balcony, no great view but faced away from any nightli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Field0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Spent three nights here . Fantastic location in China Town within crawling distance of various bars and restaurants. Flat was generally clean, spacious and very comfortable, and staff were friendly and helpful. Our stay included a Saturday night which means the surrounding area can be very noisy but our flat was at the back looking onto a municipal car park- although not a fantastic view we were less disturbed by the nightlife. A few relatively minor gripes, there was a distinct lack of hooks/coat hangers in our flat meaning you either left your clothes strewn around or had to pack or hang them up. We found the hot water a bit temperamental and difficult to control. We did some cooking and could have done with a colander. However overall we thought it was great place to stay and would definitely consider staying again if we return to Birmingham.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back not looking onto the courtyard may be quieter at weekends although back onto a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SophieKettle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2013

Overall was an enjoyable stay.

Good things were the considerable size of the bathroom, the living area and kitchen were modern/lovely to be in; they provided tea and coffee which was a nice gesture.
The facilities they provide were really good although we didn't use them (washing machine and dryer etc) and the balcony area was pleasant.
The staff were polite and kept our key while we were at Alton Towers for the day.
Considering we booked late, the apartment was lovely overall.
Lastly, the smoking facilities were a massive positive for my partner - not many places offer this.

However there are a few things which we think should be looked over and reviewed by the team.

Check in was a bit long - a 30 minute check in is a bit silly when it was so empty.
£200 deposit may catch people off guard. Bit much.
Disappointed with 2 single beds to make a double, paying at least £100 a night is not what I expect to find.
We could not fully open the wardrobe door and ended up having our suitcases at the foot of the bed.
We found our curtain rail was damaged and there was a burn mark/dent in the door? We were worried were going to be charged for it although it wasn't us? If they retain £200, surely they should be used to FIX DAMAGES?
Lastly, charging people £25 for not taking rubbish out & £25 for not washing dishes - why do you have maids/cleaners? Either get them to do their job or get rid of them.

Overall the apartment was nice we enjoyed it and would stay here again - fairly modern, especially the kitchen.
The negatives are just small things the apartments needs to reconsider and would definitely be rated 4 or 5 star to me!

Room Tip: Make sure you have £200 spare.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nicoleshari93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staycity_Birmingham, General Manager at Staycity Aparthotels Arcadian Centre, responded to this review, 28 April 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, I am pleased to see that overall your stay was a good one, but have felt the need to highlight some minor issues.
I am somewhat confused by your comment regarding check in, the process does not take 30 minutes even though we were actually fully occupied when you arrived, apologies if you did have to wait a few minutes.
Regarding the £200 security deposit, we advertise this freely on all websites, so guests are made aware of the requirement. Generally, it is not retained for minor maintenance issues, unless damage is caused purposefully. Should you have made us aware of the maintenance issues, we would have been happy to rectify them.
Many hotels and serviced apartments, operate a zip and link system for the beds, this offers fantastic flexibility for our guests, meaning we can offer either a twin or double in every apartment, and is not unusual.
As our apartments are self catering, we ask that guest's leave them in an acceptable state, including the washing of dishes and removing the rubbish. This enables us to keep our rates very competitive, and similar to what hotels charge, so you will be getting a lot more for your money.
I am pleased to see that you were overall happy with your stay, and we look forward to welcoming you back, as you said in your review the negatives are 'small things'

Regards
James Gwilliam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hartlepool
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 April 2013

I would recommend these appartments, either for short or long stay. They were very clean, spacious and quite modern. It makes a change because there can be some really awful ones. The only negative thing was the £200 deposit which we had to pay upon arrival. This was paid straight back on departure. You are literally a 5 minute walk from the town centre, it was just a good experience. The staff were very helpful and friendly which goes a long way in my book.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichellePerryLane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 902 reviews
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Ladywood
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
#3 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,894 reviews
Hotel La Tour
#9 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staycity Aparthotels Arcadian Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staycity Aparthotels Arcadian Centre

Property: Staycity Aparthotels Arcadian Centre
Address: The Arcadian 70 Hurst Street, Birmingham B5 4TD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 41 Speciality Lodging in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Staycity Aparthotels Arcadian Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
78 stylish and modern one and two bedroom serviced apartments conveniently located in Birmingham City Centre. We offer a selection of 52 one bedroom (sleeps 3), and 22 two bedroom (sleeps 5) self catering apartments, which come fully-furnished with bed linen and towels also provided. All apartments also come with fully-equipped kitchens, washer/dryer, microwave oven, LCD TV, lounge/dining area and spacious bedrooms. 24 Hour Reception, Car Parking and FREE Wi-Fi available. Our accommodation is comfortable, contemporary and convenient. Providing a genuine home from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, World Independent Hotel Promotion, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Staycity Aparthotels Arcadian Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arc Apartments By Staybirmingham Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing