We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Staycity Aparthotels Arcadian Centre
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Poor customer service”
Reviewed 16 December 2013 via mobile

I stayed at Staycity apartments Edinburgh and was pleasantly blown away by the apartments and the exceptional customer service, so I decided to stay at the one in Birmingham....BIG MISTAKE as the poor customer service let it down.

The room was ok, a few broken bits in the kitchen, a toilet that didn't flush, but was later fixed after notifying maintenance. Crap showers that trickle out water (so don't expect a power shower). Apart from being next door to a bunch of racist German men who were there working on the Christmas markets, it was ok, but I wouldn't recommend it or stay here again.

The staff were the least attentive and couldn't care less about whether or not your happy with the service. Our complaints went overlooked and it simply wasn't worth the money. With Birmingham being a bit of a dump anyway, the last thing I expected on a weekend away was the lack of customer care from a bunch of miserable staff.

Stay away as there are better places to stay in Birmingham.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Latifah25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staycity_Birmingham, General Manager at Staycity Aparthotels Arcadian Centre, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Dear Latifah25

Thank you for taking the time to post your constructive review, following your recent stay with us. I am disappointed to read these damning comments, in light of my team being very respondent to any issues highlighted during your stay.

In regards to the toilet flush and the shower, these were checked immediately on you reporting a fault, and both were checked by my team to be fully working. In terms of broken items in the kitchen, nothing was highlighted during your stay, and my maintenance team were told by your group everything else was fine, so I am somewhat confused as to what is being referred to?

I assume the comments regarding poor customer service, are based on the fact that we would not allow you to bring additional, unregistered guests into the apartment, late at night as per our terms and conditions. Anybody, reading our genuine reviews will see great comments about our customer service such as 'Great staff', 'Reception staff are excellent'. I can only assume your comments are based on the conflict you created with my team late at night, who were just doing their job, and I believe were very pleasant in explaining our terms to you.

I am sorry if we did not meet your expectations, and that your idea of good customer service is only from staff that would allow you to break the terms and condition of your stay. Furthermore, I do not condone racist comments towards my staff, and I stand by their decision to refuse entry for extra guests.

James Gwilliam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,268 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    666
    387
    113
    57
    45
See reviews for
342
191
47
218
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

The staff really made all the difference and were quite helpful. The rooms are spacious and well appointed. We were there for 14 nights and used the kitchen and washing machine etc, so it really helped having those facilities. The bed was large and comfortable. When we first tried, the hot water in the shower didn't turn on, but that was remedied immediately and with courtesy - well done. Also, the light in the bedroom went out, but that was changed within 5 minutes of me calling the front desk. Really amazingly fast and efficient service. The staff were about the best of any hotel I've stayed in recently, like having the staff of a Four Seasons pamper you without paying Four Seasons prices. Really appreciated their warm service and smiles. Would definately stay their again.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaikKubo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

great place to stay, my sisters and I always stay here when we go to Birmingham for the german Christmas market (which is a must by the way) the apartments are always spotless and comfortable and have every creature comfort you want from your own home, a few minutes walk from the city centre, highly recommended.

Room Tip: book early for the Christmas market
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank myra k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

I have been staying at these apartments for the last 4 years when on business in Birmingham and I can recommend them. The apartments are clean and tidy, well appointed with a decent kitchen and a washing machine if you need it. You can usually pick them up for the price of a normal hotel room but with these you get a separate living/dining room (with the kitchen at the top end), and then the bedroom. They all have balconies, although the quality of the view will vary according to which way you face (towards the centre of Birmingham or away), and what floor you are on. The apartments are located in the Arcadian centre which is home to many restaurants and is part of the chinese quarter of Birmingham, so you can get decent takeaway and sit down meals without venturing too far from your apartment.

Reception staff are excellent, I had a problem with a booking this time round and they sorted it out quickly and professionally...

At night there can be noise outside, and I guess this is more of an issue at the weekend than during the week when it's just a few noisy revellers walking home. There is always that trade off between being in the city and having that noise.

So overall I can recommend these serviced apartments, clean, well appointed, good staff, great location and much more flexibility than a standard hotel room.

Room Tip: Rooms facing into the Arcadian centre have a better view of the city skyline but are noisier, those...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staycity_Birmingham, General Manager at Staycity Aparthotels Arcadian Centre, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear Matthew P
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments, following your recent stay with us. I am pleased that you experienced our high quality of service, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards
James Gwilliam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Clean and well set out close parking friendly will recommend to friends and family close to bullring and city centre free wifi tv etc balcony for smokers and to relax weather permitting restaurants close by and also bars

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mirek12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crowborough, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We looked at so many different hotels in Birmingham, but very few actual hotels could actually accommodate a family of 5 ( maximum occupancy tends to be 4). We opted for the stay city apartments and were so glad we came across them. We stayed 2 nights and found the reception staff to be polite and helpful, the apartments clean, spacious, well furnished and located right in the centre of town. Perfect for our needs and will certainly use this option again if the need arises!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

I am writing this review at 3.37am which probably tells you everything you need to know. It is Friday night and there are a couple of clubs below - still playing music and spilling fighting punters onto the street. Also, due to perhaps a combination of the location & the cheap price, a lot of fellow residents are slamming doors, knocking on mine & smoking & screaming on their balconies. There were no real problems on the Thursday night but Friday night is quite unbearable.

The rooms themselves are clean and comfortable - I'm on the sofa bed in the lounge & it's comfy. The proximity to New Street station & the shops is really useful.

Check-in took ages. At one point there were 3 members of staff helping one group of men who spoke limited English (note to Staycity staff-shouting louder won't help them understand) and no one acknowledged us, offered to help or even gave us a quick "I'll be with you in a minute" so we waited for 15 minutes. The staff we've seen since have been friendly & polite.

I think it's an okay place to stay midweek or at the weekend if you want to be out till 4am & drunk (it seems good for hen/stag parties) It's quite good value too but considering I only wanted a place to sleep, I'm not really getting my money's worth.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 81London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staycity_Birmingham, General Manager at Staycity Aparthotels Arcadian Centre, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear 81London

thank you for taking the time to post your comments, following your recent stay with us. I am pleased that you found our City Centre location good, but then confused as to why you would state it as being noisy.

We are located in Birmingham's vibrant Arcadian Centre, which is a very popular City centre location. We have many different apartments, with various aspects, and should have you informed us, we would have been happy to offer an alternative, if you were not happy with the noise from the City. Furthermore, should you have informed my team, of any nuisance guest's, these would have been dealt with swiftly, as we expect all guest's to be respectful to each other.

Thank you once again for taking the time to post your comments.

Regards
James Gwilliam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 117 in Birmingham
930 reviews
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
#3 of 117 in Birmingham
873 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#6 of 117 in Birmingham
3,031 reviews
Ladywood
easyHotel Birmingham
easyHotel Birmingham
#9 of 117 in Birmingham
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staycity Aparthotels Arcadian Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staycity Aparthotels Arcadian Centre

Property: Staycity Aparthotels Arcadian Centre
Address: The Arcadian 70 Hurst Street, Birmingham B5 4TD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 44 Speciality Lodging in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Staycity Aparthotels Arcadian Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
78 stylish and modern one and two bedroom serviced apartments conveniently located in Birmingham City Centre. We offer a selection of 52 one bedroom (sleeps 3), and 22 two bedroom (sleeps 5) self catering apartments, which come fully-furnished with bed linen and towels also provided. All apartments also come with fully-equipped kitchens, washer/dryer, microwave oven, LCD TV, lounge/dining area and spacious bedrooms. 24 Hour Reception, Car Parking and FREE Wi-Fi available. Our accommodation is comfortable, contemporary and convenient. Providing a genuine home from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Staycity Aparthotels Arcadian Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arc Apartments By Staybirmingham Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing