We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport
Ranked #54 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Birmingham, England
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed 28 October 2011

The hotel is very simple and basic, but fulfilled our requirements for a location next to Birmingham Airport when we had a 6.00am flight

Room Tip: All rooms seem to be identical. There are no views due its location between other hotels and the air...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aceputter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederic_Dumont, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport, responded to this review, 13 November 2011
So glad you had an enjoyable time with us.
We very much appreciate the feedback and we hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards,
Frederic Dumont
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,650 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    456
    669
    325
    108
    92
See reviews for
273
574
283
315
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Monmouth
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2011

I was a bit hesitant switching from the Novotel to the Etap at the airport - however the Novotel was full and Etap had rooms at £25 each. So booked two as it's clear the rooms only fit three people and hoped it would be OK.

I was really impressed about the value for money - especially at an airport. The rooms are small - but well designed in general - the shower in particular works well in the given space. Double glazing and air con which works well. Friendly check in and vending machines for beverages give you the budget feel without it being completely lacking.

There were also some discounted parking deals which I'd missed and would have saved us money at the NCP across the road if I'd realised.

So, why if it was that good would I not stay there again?
Surprisingly, I'll be back to the Novotel or a nearby Premier Inn next time - because we hardly slept all night. No glaring reason why - the mattress is foam and thin - so I was really uncomfortable as I could feel the wood underneath (but the hotel tell me they are upgrading them all they tell me), there is the early morning reversing horns from lorries in the service yard behind our room, and then there the really annoying loud lift announcements every time the doors open.

It's budget, gives good value, and you can't complain, but it's just too budget for us personally to get a good nights sleep - and you can't put a price on sleep just before a holiday!

Room Tip: Get the car parking deals to save money at the NCP car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tig121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederic_Dumont, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport, responded to this review, 30 October 2011
I’m very grateful that you could take time to leave us your thoughts and write a review about your recent visit to the Hotel.
The team and I are glad that you enjoyed your stay, and we’ve taken note of your comments. Rest assured we will address them. As discussed, we are trying some mattress toppers in order to improve the comfort of our bed. Following positive guest feedbacks, it should be roll out to the entire hotel in the near future.
I hope we can welcome you back.
Kind regards,
Frederic Dumont
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2011

Second time we have stayed at this hotel. On this occassion we had an early morning flight and the hotel is so well placed to literally fall out of bed into the terminal. Staff at the hotel were friendly and the room for £25 booked in advance was really good value with a single bed over the double for a family. The rooms are basic, but clean and have what you need for a quick stopover. Overall a great stay and I will use this hotel again without a doubt

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AJohnsonUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederic_Dumont, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport, responded to this review, 30 October 2011
Thank you for your feedback.
I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay.
I look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards,
Frederic Dumont
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2011

If you manage to secure a booking at an Etap for a budget price, then it stacks up as a good no-nonsense option for cheap, no-frills accommodation. If you have the family too, it is even cheaper.
The accommodation - single bunk over double bed suited us as a single child family, but would have given us a problem with 2 children. Do they do a 2+2?
The breakfast is passable, if a bit light on content.
The room was a little tired, the window restraint catch had twisted, leaving a stuck window ajar, which given the airport noise was a little annoying.
For anything other than a necessary stay at an airport before an early morning flight, i'd have been a bit miffed. As it was only a 7 hour stay in total, it was fine for what it was.
Do not expect to have much room in the room for lots of luggage, though! It's people or bags - not both!!
no idea if the tv worked - never tried it!

In short, this place could use a bit of maintenance and a spruce up, but it's passable.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doctorclifford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederic_Dumont, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport, responded to this review, 30 October 2011
Many thanks for your comments.
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and we have noted all your comments.
I’ll look into the points your raised personally.
If you have any issues during your stay, please contact our Reception which is open 24 hours. A Team Member will be more than happy to help you the best way possible in order to make your stay more enjoyable.
In the meantime, I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel soon.
Kind regards,
Frederic Dumont
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elgin, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

Myself son, daughter-in-law and two grandsons stayed for one night at the Etap Hotel, we arrived back from Lanzarote at 3am and were so pleased pleased we had booked into the Etap as it was just a minutes walk from Birmingham airport. There was someone on reception to welcolm us. The rooms are only basic but very clean and comfortable, we did not have breakfast as we had another 8 hour drive in front of us but from I saw it looked very good value and cheap too. Would definately stay at one of their Hotels again. GREAT VALUE AND A GOOD NIGHTS SLEEP.
Oldmills Garden in Elgin Scotland.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy292
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederic_Dumont, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport, responded to this review, 30 October 2011
Thanks for leaving some positive comments here.
I’m so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope to see you again in the very near future.
Kind regards,
Frederic Dumont
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

This was a more than adequate hotel for a brief overnight stop between a late flight and an early morning train. The room was small but clean and good use was made of the space in fitting the shower and toilet separately. Breakfast was very cheap and kept us going until lunch! It was in no way luxurious but what can you expect for £36 for a double room - bring a soft coat to use a pillow as the ones on the bed are practically non-existent!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Notsofrequentflyer96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederic_Dumont, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport, responded to this review, 30 October 2011
Thank you for posting your thoughts on here, we really value your feedback.
As per Etap standard, we only provide 2 pillows per room. Please note that extra linen (pillows, towels...) can be collected from Reception at any time.
I look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind regards,
Frederic Dumont
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
worcester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 October 2011

Stayed here many times and the staff are always brilliant, so friendly and helpful and very welcoming. It is in an excellent location both for travelling on from the airport or for visiting friends or family in the centre of birmingham as it is just a short train ride away. The hotel is always very clean and breakfast is of good quality.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bingo284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederic_Dumont, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport, responded to this review, 30 October 2011
Thank you for your very kind words.
I am delighted that you regularly enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Frederic Dumont
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birmingham
0.0 mi away
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
#24 of 117 in Birmingham
1,795 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Birmingham Airport
Novotel Birmingham Airport
#23 of 117 in Birmingham
2,362 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Birmingham Airport
Travelodge Birmingham Airport
#42 of 117 in Birmingham
1,040 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport
0.7 mi away
Arden Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport

Property: Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport
Address: Ambassador Road | Birmingham International Airport, Solihull, Birmingham B26 3AW, England (Formerly Etap Hotel Birmingham Airport)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Budget Birmingham Airport (soon ibis budget) is a low-cost hotel located at Birmingham International Airport. Book this hotel for a short walk from the hotel to the Airport, or easy access to the NEC or LG Arena. The hotel has 120 modern guest rooms, each with en-suite shower, air cooling and flat screen TV. Our Fraiche food outlet serves a good value all you can eat breakfast buffet every morning, and snacks and drinks are available 24 hours a day. 100% non-smoking hotel. Free Wi-Fi throughout hotel in guest bedrooms & public areas. Discounted NCP car park available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Etap Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing